We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay there again without hesitation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenbank House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jedburgh
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Lovely little hotel with a beautiful facade, which reminded me of a place I had stayed in in Tuscany. There is also a nice garden where one can have a drink and relax. We were very lucky with the weather!

This hotel is conveniently located and offers free parking spaces. It is quiet and cosy and the staff is very friendly.

We had a large room with comfortable beds overlooking the back garden. I slept like a log.

The food was excellent, so was the wine.

I would recommend this hotel and/or restaurant to anyone visiting this attractive little town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riboul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Glenbank House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

recently took my elderly mother back to Jedburgh for a walk down memory lane. This hotel was excellent. It has just been taken over by the lovely Alex and his wife and as they said it is a work in progress, however, the beds and ameneties were spotless and very comfortable. We felt very comfortable immediately with a lovely greeting at the door. Mine hosts couldnt have done enough for you and made my mum feel very special. Most recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 4 fist floor. overlooks the front
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m-young23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We rolled in to Jedburgh at 8pm with no booking and no idea. We'd been on the road all day having driven up from London and happened upon Glenbank.
We were welcomed in as only the third guests of the new owners and things could not have been better. Fantastic owners/staff, clean rooms, comfy beds... cold beer.
Alex and Julia stayed up taking care of us while we had a few beers to settle down after our long day. The ultimate hosts they were full of ideas, information and fantastic stories to keep us entertained.
We genuinely could not have asked for more and can't wait to return to Jedburgh (from Australia). When we make it back to Scotland we will without a doubt be heading to Jedburgh and staying at Glenbank!!!! Thanks Alex and Julia!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Threemules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My wife and I arrived on a Sunday afternoon without booking in advance. We were offered a choice of twin or double rooms, or a family room with shower and bath en-suite. We opted for the slightly more expensive family room as my wife wanted a bath, while I preferred a shower.
The hotel appears to have originally been built as a Georgian residence of some stature. Many original features remain such as a large brass bell pull by the front door and shuttered windows. The decor needs updating, but the new owners have big plans to lavish the hotel with the love it seems to have lacked under previous ownership.
Everything worked in our room, with plenty of hot water available for bath and shower.
The meals were substantial and of good standard. A very convivial evening was spent in the bar with Alex and Julia our hosts. We were given good advice about local attractions and shops to visit for souveniers to take home.
A good basic hotel, with excellent service. It will be interesting to see how the proposed improvements work out. We will definitely be booking a room here again when we return to Jedburgh.
May not suit people with disabilities due to steep hills in Jedburgh.

Room Tip: Book room 6, the family room if available.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Kaliski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Stayed overnight at this hotel. Owners and staff very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMTMM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We booked this hotel not knowing it was under new ownership until we arrived.
Wefound the new owner and his wife,and staff very welcoming,nothing was a problem.
The hotel is a little dated but the owners intend to revamp in near future ,its clean,great location in its own grounds with private parking and beer garden.The only downside being anybody with walking difficulties may find it to much as its on a hill.
The town is only afive minute walk away.
The menu is varied from bar meals to a la carte the choice is yours with an excellent breakfast to start your day.Cosy bar lounge area for that night cap or pre dinner drink.We will hope to return to Jedburgh in the future and will with out doubt be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Stayed in Room #2, which was decent but smallish. Charming exterior. We did not book ahead but had no probs getting room. Dinner was great, attached bar was small but decent whisky selection. Breakfast was adequate but offered the identical uninspired menu like virtually all other B&Bs in Scotland. But we all know you don't go to Scotland for the food. Plenty of free parking. There are other small hotels on the same street. I would go back to this hotel.

Reference: I'm a middle-class American and wife is upper class Indonesian, both in 30's and both well-traveled. This was our second 2-week vacation throughout Scotland. Firmly believe hotel/B&B prices in UK (including Scotland) are way overpriced for what you receive (= poor value), which is even worse when US Dollar is weak against Pound. As a result, my reviews and scores tend to be based on comparisons to hotels/B&Bs/restaurants worldwide, not just in the area we were vacationing in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jedburgh
0.0 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
202 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
7.9 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
The Spread Eagle Hotel
#2 of 5 in Jedburgh
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbank House Hotel

Address: Castlegate, Jedburgh TD8 6BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jedburgh
Price Range: $96 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenbank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenbank House Hotel Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing