We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
266
27
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
266
27
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle room queen mary porridge st cuthbert's way single room warm welcome nice lounge wee dram breakfast was excellent top quality log fire kitchen area long days lovely surprise full scottish breakfast comfortable bed good size
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with my mum during our walk of St Cuthbert’s way. We arrived after a very hot day of walking in the full sun and when we arrived, temporary hosts who had been looking after the B&B while the owners were away greeted us and whoa, they were the nicest people. So friendly and welcoming, couldn’t have done enough for us. Plus we had the most lovely ‘Abbey room’ and it was just beautiful. Was my favourite stay along the way and It was definitely s combination of the beautiful room, the beautiful town and the amazing hosts.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RJVan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm trying hard to think of something that wasn't five stars plus about our stay at Allerton House. I got nothing. From the minute we pulled up the drive until the minute we left five days later, we could not have asked for or imagined a better experience.

The house is stately, grand, meticulously kept inside and out. The room was generous in size, well-appointed, extremely comfortable. Breakfast included, in addition to the standard full Scottish breakfast, various juices, a different fruit concoction each day, porridge (which we now eat regularly) and the cheeriest service.

The day we arrived, John and Zoe were just gearing up to stand in for William and Nina for a couple weeks. If it's true that they had never hosted at a B&B before, then there are people who are naturally born to it. Every time we had the pleasure of their company, they made us feel that they were just waiting to talk to us, anticipating our needs and going the extra mile. We're now friends on Facebook, and we look forward to seeing them again when my wife and I travel to the Netherlands to track down her ancestors there.

On our two trips to Scotland, Barbara and I have stayed at 8 B&B's and one resort. As excellent as they all were, Allerton House is head and shoulders above the rest.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ScottishinSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I were on the St. Cuthbert’s Way walk. What awaited us after a pick up from Harestanes was this absolutely delightful and to our weary bodies and eyes sheer luxury.
The owners were away, however the most thoughtful and kind caretaking Dutch couple were so welcoming and kind. Lovely ground floor room. A walk of about 5 minutes into town.
Can’t recommend this beautiful B & B enough.
We met the owners next morning, and they were as kind as our previous days host.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank johannaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nina and William are consummate hosts. Beautiful decor, furnishings and garden.
Easy walking to town. Nice to relax in the lounge/dining room. Spacious bedroom with good beds and lovely linens. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious, made to order. The sack lunches were also tasty and filling.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wwglobetrotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

John and Zoe were the most friendly and gracious hosts! From the moment we walked in the door, the warmth which which they greeted us made us feel right at home. The room was beautiful and very well equipped with everything we could need. Zoe very kindly called for us to make reservations at a nearby restaurant for dinner and when we returned she very kindly offered to do a load of laundry for us. This is a wonderful B&B and it is only a short walk from the Centre of Jedburgh and the abbey. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatherkevinmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews