We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allerton House Jedburgh”
Review of Allerton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allerton House
Ranked #1 of 17 Jedburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Allerton House Jedburgh”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Faultless ! This was our second visit to the Allerton House and we were not disappointed. The rooms are spotless with lovely extra touches . After walking all day we came in to a lovely woodburning fire in the dining/sitting room. Breakfasts on both days perfect. Location is ideal for a walk into town for dinner booked both nights by Chris.Totally hassle free. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeandphi1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
122
25
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights whilst walking Borders Abbey Way.
Very attentive hosts, high standard of rooms, service and breakfast. Lovely sitting room with a log fire and 'refreshment' decanters awaited us on our return from walking both days....a most welcome sight!
I would highly recommend this lovely B&B and I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Donington, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the Castle room at Allerton House for 3 nights recently. As others have said, we were given a warm welcome by Chris and Carol and shown round the house. The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and everything was spotlessly clean. Chris' breakfasts were a highlight of the stay - the poached eggs were brilliant!
I would highly recommend Allerton to anyone wanting accommodation in Jedburgh. There is plenty to do and see in the area so you should also plan to stay longer than one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayCastleDonington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here on September 15th and booked a single and double room through the Tourist Information Centre in Jedburgh. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Chris and shown to our rooms. We made our way down to the lounge area where we were offered a wee dram or sherry ! great touch. The rooms were very nice and we all had a great sleep on the wonderful and comfortable beds. Breakfast was really good with fresh local produce. The view from the front of the builddding is quite breathtaking. Chris and Carol deserve praise for the clean and welcoming property. A wonderful stay !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveTracy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

On arrival greeted and given quick show round and was asked if neede any information about dining out or attractions.Room(the castle) was extremly nice and very clean,the bed was lovely and comfortable and i slept ok.Breakfast was nice and the choice good. All in all it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gj1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcq-en-Baroeul
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place deserves full marks. A friendly welcome from the owners to a very stylish large Georgian house that has been converted to a top-notch guesthouse. I stayed in the single room ('Jed'), which was spacious (the ensuite bathroom was even very large) and very tastefully decorated. There were many nice 'upmarket' touches such as Neutrogena toiletries, Egyptian Cotton towels and a mini- HiFi chain in the room.

In spite of being "chique", the place is definitely good for walkers: Coming in quite wet from a particularly muddy section of the St Cuthbert's Way, I was given a dry place to store my boots, old newspapers to stuff them with, tips on the next day's section, and they do offer a service to pick up walkers from the Harestane Visitor Centre -as Jedburgh is not directly on the Way.

As to the location, Allerton House is in a quiet residential street not more than five minutes' walk from the Abbey and some good pubs.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jargalant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leasky, Owner at Allerton House, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to note that you found our single room to be spacious and appreciated our facilities for muddy walkers, there have been quite a number this year! Yes we can collect and return walkers to St Cuthbert's way or look after cars for guests who set out from here on the Borders Abbeys Way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Allerton House for one night. I had been before with other relatives nearly three years ago. The standard continues to be high. The house and grounds are lovely, set off the road above the town. The facilities are great and it is very comfortable with very helpful and welcoming hosts. It is more like a hotel than a B&B as rooms are well furnished with plenty of additional equipment.It is only a short walk to the town and a couple of good restuarants recommended by the owners. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and good service. I would recommend and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jedburgh
0.3 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
197 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
913 reviews
12.8 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerton House

Property: Allerton House
Address: Oxnam Road, Jedburgh TD8 6QQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allerton House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerton Guest House and B&B in Jedburgh is a welcoming Georgian house set in a lovely, sizeable garden giving the impression that it’s in the middle of the country when, in fact, it’s just off the Main A68 trunk road and only 5 minutes’ walk from the centre of the attractive Borders town of Jedburgh. With just six rooms (one fully equipped for people with disabilities), the atmosphere is personal and informal whilst the standards come up to those required in these modern days for both business and leisure visitors.The spacious rooms are all en suite and are equipped with free wi-fi, digital television, an Ipod dock, iron, hairdryer and, of course, tea and coffee making facilities. Your hosts, Chris & Carol Longden, enjoy serving a really good breakfast (with healthy and vegetarian options) using locally-sourced ingredients such as St Boswell’s Black Pudding, Denholm sausages and free range eggs. There are some really good local restaurants and bistros and the fish and chip shop is excellent – and all just five minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Allerton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerton House Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing