We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B on the St Cuthberts Way - takes some beating”
Review of Meadhon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meadhon House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jedburgh
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best B&B on the St Cuthberts Way - takes some beating”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for one night in June whilst walking the St Cuthberts Way

This would be the most "spick" B&B you would find anywhere

It was also very well run, had warm & friendly atmosphere and reasonably priced - given the high standard of accommodation offered

A comfortable and generously sized twin room was made available for us

Breakfast was excellent - scrambled eggs and salmon recommended

For dinner - we walked about 50 meters down the road to a hotel recommended by our hosts - this was also very good and reasonably priced

This was an excellent place to stay for us

Mike & Jo ( NZ Walkers)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
71
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My partner and myself stayed here for a night a week or so ago. We can highly recommend this place to anyone. The cleanliness is second to none,en-suites were spotless! Our hosts made us feel very welcome,and the breakfast was really tasty too. If we find ourselves in Jedburgh again,we will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

A beautiful guest house with great hosts! The rooms were spotless, very well decorated and had everything we could possibly need. Allan and Joyce were extremely friendly and helpful in arranging a room for my mother who struggles with stairs. We were all very impressed and would certainly go there again. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeds02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our vacation in Jedburgh immensely. Alan and Joyce did a wonderful job of making us feel at home. We are from the United States, and they looked up information we were interested in and told us about the town and differences in customs between the UK and the US.
Alan and Joyce supplied menus for some of the restaurants in the town and made dinner reservations for us. Breakfast is home cooked and tasted great. We especially enjoyed Alan's french toast. They also accommodated special requests for breakfast foods that were not even on the menu.
The room was clean and had a wonderful view overlooking the garden. We stayed for six nights and the room was cleaned every day. Alan and Joyce went above and beyond what we expected, and we are glad to have stayed at the Meadhon House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReggieAndHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at Meadhon House en route further north. The room was spotlessly clean - bed really comfortable and really lovely house. Its in the middle of the town so no problem getting anywhere - parking right outside and free. Allan and Joyce the hosts were great - very helpful and the breakfast also great we got just what we wanted.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the lovely garden which
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howarth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We were extremely impressed by our stay at Meadhom House. Having been whisked away for a surprise romantic weekend, the accomodation was certainly one of the highlights. We were greeted by a genuine, friendly welcome. The room was of a good size, immaculately presented with attention to detail in the decoration - a real sense of luxury and well deserves its four stars! The building itself has a lot of character and I felt priviledge to call it home for the night. Location was second to none, for such convience to the town centre it was also in a pleasant and quite area. And lastly the breakfast was superb, again immaculately presented in the Cruickshanks Dining room, good quality food, attention to detail and excellent service from the hosts of Meadhon House. I woud most definitely recommend and hope to return myself sometime. Thank You!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gini81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The host greeted us warmly and showed us to our rooms which were elegant , spacious and wonderfully clean
He then offered advice re an evening meal location and once we had decided kindly booked it fr us...a short walk down into the Town.
We had a great meal followed by a good nights sleep in extremely comfortable beds.
In the morning we had a great breakfast...beautifully cooked and presented
Only slight downside they dont take credit cards and parking is on the street outside. Having said that we were able to park dirctly outside and we had been forewarned re no cards...so a trip to the cash dispenser was included in the stroll to dinner
Wonderful place and remarkably good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jedburgh
0.1 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
202 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
928 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
10.2 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawick
20 reviews
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadhon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadhon House

Property: Meadhon House
Address: 48 Castlegate, Jedburgh TD8 6BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadhon House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our unique, 17th-century townhouse. A warm Borders welcome awaits when you stay with us. Meadhon House is a luxuriously appointed B & B, all rooms are en-suite, with flat screen televisions, free wi-fi and complimentary tea and coffee. We are centrally located in Jedburgh for restaurants and bars, and local historical attractions, many of our rooms overlook the Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Meadhon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadhon Hotel Jedburgh
Meadhon House Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing