We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream Home Sweet Home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Violet Cottage

Welcome to Violet Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Violet Cottage
Something you will always be at Violet Cottage.... Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Welcome to Violet Cottage
Something you will always be at Violet Cottage....
Cottage Kitchen
Lounge
Woodburning stove and plenty of logs to burn......
Front Bedroom Violet Cottage
Quality bed linen
Violet Cottage large rear garden
Garden seating
Front of Cottage
4 star quality
Shaded seating in the garden
Ancrum Village green and pub from Violet Cottage
The Borders - Secret Scotland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GolfguyVi...
South Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dream Home Sweet Home”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed around 6 weeks in the beautiful Violet Cottage. It is a dream location for anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of a city, yet centrally located in the sleepy little village of Ancrum ideally located between Kelso and Jedburgh. Meg & Peter the owners kept us stocked with a ready supply of firewood to keep us warm on chilly fall evenings. The kitchen is to die for, especially the gas stove with 8 burners... again, that's EIGHT burners! I was in absolute heaven and hosted an American Thanksgiving dinner for a dozen people. I cannot say enough good things about the cottage. All told, we have stayed in 3 of the 4 properties they own and are never disappointed. We rent houses all over the world but rarely do we find such well fitted, good quality furnishings as those by Meg & Peter. Just note that all 3 bedrooms are upstairs so not ideal for anyone with mobility challenges.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen stove and the living room fireplace.
Liked least: Nothing...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2015
Thank you for a positive review. We hope to be able to welcome you to the borders sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MinLynSte...
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, cozy and relaxing!”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I booked the violet cottage for only two nights and wish we would have booked for longer. It was so cozy we had a hard time getting ready to go out, and it is very charming with a relaxing landscaped back yard. The kitchen is very well stocked with everything you could possibly need and all the rooms are very spacious. We are looking forward to coming back here one day to spend a week where we can spend more time enjoying the beautifully quaint towns of Ancrum and Jedburgh.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary H
1 review
“Delightful cottage in a lovely village setting.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our experience of Violet Cottage was very positive. The cottage was very clean and stylishly furnished.The garden was lovely and had plenty of garden furniture.There were nice welcoming touches such as fresh flowers and real coffee.Ancrum is a pretty village and we knew Jedburgh well. A downstairs toilet would be an asset.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianT422
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfort and old world charm”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This charming cottage dating back to 1741 has been sympathetically renovated to provide modern day comforts. We immediately felt at home on arrival, with flowers, wine and a warm well lit house to welcome us.
Everything in the house was squeaky clean, very comfortable beds with crisp white linen and fluffy white towels.
The garden was well maintained and a joy to be in.
The owners, Meg and Peter, are to be commended for preparing this property as a "home" rather than a simple "rental".
The village of Ancrum is very friendly and the village shop and pub/restaurant are a bonus.
The Border towns of Kelso, Jedburgh, Hawick Melrose etc are all easily reached from this central location.
The whole holiday process was easy and efficiently managed - we will certainly return

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete package
Liked least: Returning home again - back to reallity
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Violet Cottage”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was our third stay at Violet Cottage, which has all the comforts of home, including now a dog proof fence in the lovely garden. A great addition for us as we can now relax without worrying what pooch is up to! If you are looking for a comfortable and convenient base for a holiday in the Borders look no further. The village has a greatly improved pub serving real ales and decent food, a well stocked shop and post office, lovely local walks and easy access to many local attractions.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doobidoo6...
Co Durham
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A perfect "chill out" weekend”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Booked Violet Cottage for a long weekend after finding on the Internet. It was my husbands birthday and our daughters and their partners ( and the dog) met up for a lazy break. On arriving and seeing what Violet Cottage had to offer we were not disappointed, the fresh flowers and extra bits a lovely touch. It was spacious, immaculately clean and warm and proved throughout the weekend it had everything we required to make it "home from home". The cottage, which is deceptively spacious has been tastefully refurbished, whilst keeping original features and provides modern comfort for the six adults (three full size double rooms). The kitchen is well stocked with all the utensils you need to prepare and serve a full meal. All the bed linen and towels are excellent quality and the beds extremely comfortable ( a good nights sleep was had by all). Added bonus was the garden and although the weather did not allow us to spend much time out there it is spacious and welcoming ( especially for the dog) . The log burning stove, DVD, and docking station meant there was no need to venture out. The quiet but welcoming village has a small shop and pub ( although was being refurbished whilst we were there) provides all you need to add to the perfect "chill out" weekend.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming touches and attention to detail
Liked least: The poor water pressure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing