We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Jedburgh by far”
Review of Clock Tower Bistro - CLOSED

Clock Tower Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $64
Cuisines: British, Soups, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
138 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Jedburgh by far”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Went for evening meal twice during 4 night stay. Food and service excellent. Wine list limited. Biggest criticism is paper serviettes rather than linen napkins - really 'spoils the ship for a ha'porth of tar' - it's a quality thing and paper serviettes in a nice restaurant like that really lets the side down!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    47
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous steak meal”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited the Clock Tower on an over night stay in Jedburgh. The restaurant itself is very cosy with lovely decorations. The service was very good, even a jug of water on the table for our arrival which was nice. We only had room for a main course and we had the sirloin steak which was the best we've had in a long time. We will certainly go back . Great restaurant and friendly service!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunsoaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A local bar recommended this to my fiance and I over a weekend away for a friends wedding.And i must say how happy we were that we were led to this lovely eatery. I had the pork loin and my fiance had the chicken. We live close to newcastle and id travel the distance just for the food alone.loved every second of being in this restaurant. Cant say enough compliments for it. Superb superb superb. I want to be there every night. Waitresses and all staff were just lovely and cant do enough for you. A must place be. 11 out of 10 everytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hufc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visited here with parents who live locally and have been here quite a few times. Had a great meal with good service and was very happy. Good atmosphere, good ambient temperature and tasteful decor.
Lovely starter of chargrilled halloumi and fantastic steak main, lovely chargrilled flavour and very tender.
Son had sticky toffee pudding which was delicious as was father's creme brûlée. Didn't try coffee.
Lovely -go and try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Enthusiastic service of good Borders Food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Cosy little bistro with an imaginative menu. Our food was well-cooked and served joyfully by the waitress who worked the dining room alone…Well Done!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clock Tower Bistro also viewed

Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing