We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in a field!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Jedburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Diamond in a field!”
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We arrived at Hundalee house down a small farm track and the house is beautiful as well as the Peacocks!
Sheila definately takes alot of pride in her house. The room was beautifully decorated and the home touches made it special.
Breakfast was lovely and the homemade jams!
I would recommend anyone to stay here and enjoy the peaceful scenery. This was just a one night stop on the way to the highlands and i wish i had stayed here a lot longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmonytalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    30
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
91
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed three nights and would recommend the house and service. Sheila really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotty03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We couldn't have been happier with our 3 nights stay at this very comfortable and spacious 18th century mansion. Fantastic value. We have stayed at about 30 B&Bs in the last 12 months and this one is definitely 'top shelf'.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ascook47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier National Park, Montana
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2010

The stay at Hundalee House was very peaceful. The scenery was breathtaking. We were fortunate to be there during the lambing season. Accomodations were excellant as well as the breakfast. If ever in Scotland again, this would be a place that I would choose to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deweymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Qld
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Hundalee House was recommended to us by friends so we pre-booked, which was good as you don't see it from the road so we would not have ventured up there. It is a fantastic old house decorated with hunting and local themes. Baby lambs came up to greet us as we got out the car. We had a four-poster bed and an en-suite. Comfortable, very hospitable. Great brekky in a dining room reminiscent of the country lodge weekends you see on films from Edwardian days and the like. An absolute must, plus good things to see in Jedburgh such as the Abbey.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CairnsGirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed at this B&B for 3 nights over Easter,situated in acres of beautiful Scottish countryside complete with sheep and a peacock! We received a lovely warm welcome and were made to feel at home straight away. The room we stayed in had a 4 poster bed and had a lovely ensuite shower room. Sheila, the landlady was amazing and couldnt do enough, i complained that the room was a bit cold and she provided us with a little heater. The breakfst was great.
Plenty of restaurants nearby in Jedburgh, ranging from bistros to kebab shops and a couple of pubs, also a supermarket. We drove to Edinburgh and it took us less than hour. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotinCzech
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

A jewel luckily found whilst surfing for a borders B&B on the way home via Newcastle from a visit to the Highlands. The website of Hundalee house look promising, but they do not do justice to the real thing! It is breathtaking, with superb gardens, beautifully clean and furnished inside, a wonderful selection of animals that you will love, not forgetting the peacock and Beau, the crazy, loveable Springer Spaniel, and the Hostess, Sheila Whittaker. With her delightful Lancashire twang she is the perfect host. She made us feel really welcome and we soon felt at home. Nothing was too much trouble, even with our group consisting of three boisterous children, a teenager who could have eaten their sheep in one sitting, and a couple of complaints about it being cold from another couple. It is a very large house and must be very difficult to heat, but in April I found the temperature perfectly adequate. At times I had to open the bedroom window!
If you are reading this Sheila; Thank you for a wonderful stay, I hope our crowd didn't cause you too many problems and all I can say is that you should be proud of your home and we will certainly return very soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jedburgh
0.9 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
189 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
7.6 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
9.8 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hawick
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hundalee | Roxburghshire, Jedburgh TD8 6PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hundalee House is a Historic Manor House, sits in 15 acreas of woodland and gardens. We are 1 mile South of Jedburgh, a 5 minute drive to the centre of Town. This Bed & Breakfast dates from 1777, the kitchen actually displays a marriage stone from 100 years earlier with the initials of Robert Kerr the 4th Lord of Jedburgh entwined with those of his wife Dame Christian Hamilton, they were the first of many distinguished owners of Hundalee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundalee House Bed And Breakfast Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing