We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveler rating
223
119
45
32
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
223
119
45
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scampi quaint hotel antique furniture under new management chowder prawn cocktail lough view four poster bed open fire next morning sunday lunch lovely view member of staff few drinks tea coffee scones well worth a visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is the first thing you will see when coming off the ferry from the other side and although it's an old building, it's wonderful! The people are excellent and the food is also excellent (Scampi and Chips). Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

We popped into the hotel for a lunch and a drink. We had a table in the bar and table service provided which was very good. A nice range of pub food that was really well presented. We had the Scampi which was so fresh and plenty of it. Service came with a smile and good conversation. Definitely will be back.

Room tip: Book a four poster and ask for view of the loch.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 568steved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

I called in for an evening meal with my, prior to a concert in Portico. We were greeted at the entrance by the manager. A wedding was progressing. We told him we wanted a table and he politely directed us to the bar. When we got there, the bar seemed fully staffed but we were rudely told, "We're not serving food because of the wedding". Bizarrely, the recommended the Sailing club for food. I was quite cross as we had left the excellent Saltwater Brig a few miles north where the food and service is always excellent. We found a great wee place in the town called Captain Jack's, were the welcome and the food were spot on. So, if you want to eat in or around Portaferry, I recommend the Saltwater Brig, Captain Jack's or maybe even the Sailing Club. This hotel is not clearly not geared up to cater for diners on a Saturday evening

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank foxpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portaferrymanager, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Hi Pete
Thank for giving us the review
Were delighted that your an expert in all the local restaurants and you chose to come to the hotel over them.
I’m sorry that we were so busy and couldn’t accommodate you.
At least Captain Jacks chippy hit the spot for you.
Cahal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Stayed over the weekend, got room upgrade which was nice, but room was just ok. The view was lovely, only downside was you could hear all the people downstairs in the bar. And they stop serving food on Sunday from 8'o clock! Not good enough for a hotel!! The hotel needs a whole new refurb! The only thing which was good was the food apart from the sickly coloured mushy peas. Drink also over priced. Not sure if id return.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 361trudied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Went here today for afternoon sunday dinner they do 3 courses for £20 my little boy had a portion of mussels for his starters this wasnt part of the deal, he loved his mussels but wasnt fussed on his kids fish and chips as he prefers skinny fries so he didnt really eat his dinner, i had pate for starters then the lamb, my partner had the mussels in curry sauce followed by the beef, i cant fault any of the courses, the table we had was a lovely big round table, with a lovely view, the staff were amazing, overall a lovely enjoyable experience and with the gorgeous weather, a lovely easter sunday, great memories and would go back in a heartbeat, we did pre book our table and as you can imagine it was busy so im glad we did

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank juleslola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews