We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
225
120
46
33
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
225
120
46
33
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scampi quaint hotel antique furniture under new management chowder prawn cocktail lough view pint of guinness four poster bed open fire next morning sunday lunch lovely view member of staff few drinks tea coffee scones
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 448 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

I called in for an evening meal with my, prior to a concert in Portico. We were greeted at the entrance by the manager. A wedding was progressing. We told him we wanted a table and he politely directed us to the bar. When we got there, the bar seemed fully staffed but we were rudely told, "We're not serving food because of the wedding". Bizarrely, the recommended the Sailing club for food. I was quite cross as we had left the excellent Saltwater Brig a few miles north where the food and service is always excellent. We found a great wee place in the town called Captain Jack's, were the welcome and the food were spot on. So, if you want to eat in or around Portaferry, I recommend the Saltwater Brig, Captain Jack's or maybe even the Sailing Club. This hotel is not clearly not geared up to cater for diners on a Saturday evening

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank foxpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portaferrymanager, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Hi Pete
Thank for giving us the review
Were delighted that your an expert in all the local restaurants and you chose to come to the hotel over them.
I’m sorry that we were so busy and couldn’t accommodate you.
At least Captain Jacks chippy hit the spot for you.
Cahal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Stayed over the weekend, got room upgrade which was nice, but room was just ok. The view was lovely, only downside was you could hear all the people downstairs in the bar. And they stop serving food on Sunday from 8'o clock! Not good enough for a hotel!! The hotel needs a whole new refurb! The only thing which was good was the food apart from the sickly coloured mushy peas. Drink also over priced. Not sure if id return.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 361trudied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Went here today for afternoon sunday dinner they do 3 courses for £20 my little boy had a portion of mussels for his starters this wasnt part of the deal, he loved his mussels but wasnt fussed on his kids fish and chips as he prefers skinny fries so he didnt really eat his dinner, i had pate for starters then the lamb, my partner had the mussels in curry sauce followed by the beef, i cant fault any of the courses, the table we had was a lovely big round table, with a lovely view, the staff were amazing, overall a lovely enjoyable experience and with the gorgeous weather, a lovely easter sunday, great memories and would go back in a heartbeat, we did pre book our table and as you can imagine it was busy so im glad we did

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank juleslola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

Room was OK, but small, not much room in the shower and windows would not open, everything else about the room was fine, but what really up set me, my partner and I decided to eat in the restaurant down stairs, I got the battered cod and my partner got the salmon, what came out was 3 cod strips a boat of watered down mushy peas for 15 pound this is not worth the money it didn't say cod strips on the menu, the salmon was on with 4 different things sun-dried tomatos pesto and something else... What came out was 1 very small piece of salmon on a plate nothing else it looked sad and pathetic and this dish was 17 pound not including the 3 pound chip and 3 pound veg side order so it was 23 pound for all of this we where gob smacked, would be back to stay but will be staying well clear off the what's they call a restaurant

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank H9845QOandrewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Has the kitchen staff changed here?
Seafood chowder contained more bacon than fish, the service was a bit dull/unhappy to be at work.
Im not put off visiting again. I have had some amazing dishes here in the past.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Stewart_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews