We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!”
Review of Portaferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portaferry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2006

We had a great experience here. We were only here for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby the following day. We arrived about 1:30 after a journey that started more than 20 hours before (flying from Pittsburgh to Chicago, 8-hour layover, Chicago to Dublin and then driving from Dublin to Portaferry) and were immediately shown to our room, which was lovely. Room was spacious and had a beautiful view of the sea. Portaferry itself is a lovely little sea-side town. The proprietors were wonderful to us and very helpful. We made dinner reservations for the hotel and had drinks in the bar. Our server brought us our menus while we enjoyed our Guiness and took our orders right in the bar, which was perfect. We were shown to the dining area where we had an amazing dinner from beginning to end. The food was excellent, which is often not the case in some charming little UK hotels. They just did a superb job with everything. We slept beautifully and they brought us several things we needed while we were getting ready (iron, ironing board) to leave for the wedding. As we were leaving we realized we didn't have a card for the wedding and asked where we could buy one in the town. The owner promptly pulled out a beautiful and tasteful wedding card and gave it to us to use! Such a lovely touch to have things like this for your guests. We were totally impressed and will definitely be back to the Portaferry Hotel! Lovely!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 355 of 355 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2006

Upto 2004 I had stayed at this hotel about every two months since 1988. It was worth the 30 mile drive from Belfast to enjoy its excellent food, service, beautiful views across Strangford Lough and value for money.

I returned this month to find a rather different scene. The hotel had changed hands. The food is still good, the same team are still in the kitchen, but the menu whilst extensive is now rather costly. ( Possibly OOT) Room rates have been pushed up, and whilst they are very presentable and spotlessly clean they are cramped.(Over the years I have stayed in all of them) Similarly drink prices have been hiked.

Service in the restaurant was haphazard during my visit and I left with a feeling that the hotel desperately needed a good manager.

Regrettably I have to report that this hotel no longer represents good value for money. This comment is borne out by the fact that I was able to book a room at 6 hours notice and over half the rooms were empty at the height of the Season.

Bob Mullard 27.7.2006

Stayed: July 2006
8  Thank BobMullard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cincinnati, Ohio
18
Reviewed July 28, 2004

We stayed at the Portaferry hotel in 2001 and were very well accommodated. The food was excellent (especially the breakfasts). The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was courteous and helpful. The view and convenience can't be beat. I would recommend it to anyone.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rudi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
Thank valerio5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
7.7 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
111 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
280 reviews
18.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
130 reviews
16.2 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portaferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaferry Hotel

Address: The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Price Range: $104 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portaferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Portaferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaferry Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing