We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless”
Review of Portaferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portaferry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Portaferry Hotel for one night for our wedding anniversary. We last stayed there 14 years ago. God only knows why it has taken us so long to return. Our room was beautiful with a view overlooking the Lough. What stands out with this hotel is the outstanding food and service. Dinner was outstanding in a beautiful relaxing setting. This hotel brings you back to a different era.A small quaint establishment with only 15 bedrooms where the interests of the guest is number one priority. We will be back very soon. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNSBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portaferrymanager, General Manager at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience with other Customers. I am please we lived up to what I hope all customers experience, Great Customer Service & Food, from all our staff.

Marko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    88
    33
    23
    16
See reviews for
69
143
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed here before and were glad to see Marko has been made manager. He has a lovely way with him and always makes you feel welcome. Nothing is too much trouble and he really looked after us even putting a candle on my partners dessert for his birthday. Its little things like this that make you want to go back. All the staff are great and we will def be back thanks. We stayed mid week and had a lovely meal

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We dropped in for a bar meal on our way back to Millin Bay. Two of the party made the right choice of prawn mournay and fish pie which they said was delicious.

The third choice was the sauteed chicken - bad mistake. We thought the sauteed chicken would be pan fried served with a sauce. When it arrived it was very pale in colour and looked unappertising. When we cut into it we were shocked to find it was pink in the middle (raw). We were offered something else but declined. The waiter told us he had had a word with the chef who reported that it was cooked in a water bath so although pink would have been cooked!!! Why call it sauteed chicken!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

There are not many places in Northern Ireland which offer faultless service like this place. We were there over a busy weekend and granted a reduced menu was available due to large parties however after enquiring with the waiting staff the very swiftly offered us options from an additional menu which I’m glad they did as I then had the baked cod and it was beautiful!! We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and even though the place was packed we didn’t have to wait too long between courses! For anyone looking somewhere different with a bit of character, good food and good service this is the place for you!!

Room Tip: make sure you book a table!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed with my elderly parents for an overnight deal which was excellent value for money. The hotel itself is spotless and the rooms are quaint with up to date bathroom facilites. Staff were friendly and the whole experience was relaxing and enjoyable. I would highly recommend this little hotel if you are looking for a night away from the hustle and bustle. Will book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Didnt stay in the hotel but have visited before. We came for a nice bank holiday meal in the bar. The food was decent good chips and pie. The service was fine, we ordered a side which they forgot but we also forgot. Luckily the waiter remembered and brought us some free of charge! They were busy so the food was slow but we didnt mind.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a lovely room - unusually for us we didn't take the cheapest on offer because we wanted one with a view over the river. Very comfortable bed, plenty of space, bath a tad small but we forgave it. We could watch the river and ferry all evening! We also ate in the hotel and had delicious meals. Only stayed one night but would have liked longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
20.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
15.8 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
16.2 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
7.7 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portaferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaferry Hotel

Property: Portaferry Hotel
Address: The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portaferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Portaferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaferry Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing