We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea horror”
Review of Portaferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portaferry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Certificate of Excellence
ballymena
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“afternoon tea horror”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After reading about this great afternoon tea experience here we decided to travel here in July last year
What a wasted trip all the way from Ballymena,after entering hotel there was no one there to greet us place seemed deserted and we waited at reception for ten minutes before a waitress happened to walk by,and I had to stop her and enquire about afternoon tea,we we shown to a table and left for another 10 minutes before i went to public bar to ask how do we order it.after another 20/25 minute wait it was served and was the most disgusing,sorry excuse for afternoon tea ive ever had,and ive sampeled a few!The scones we tiny defrosted mass produced and in no way tasted like a northern ireland scone ,the cream was clotted but what looked and tasted like squirty cream,there was only two finger sandwices each ,two of which were egg so out of 4 sandwiches 2 egg,and every cloying cake tasted of packet cake mix!! No one came and asked if everything was ok?,or offered us more tea and we ended up leaving most of it and departing after serving some 20 minutes later.It was very very dissapointing and ive been in bespoke small cafes that have done a much much better job of this for alot less money
Seriously give it a miss

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    88
    33
    23
    16
See reviews for
69
143
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia Suburbs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed early October 2012 for one evening as we were working our way up the peninsula towards Belfast, we booked our room via their website just a few hours before. We found Portaferry Hotel to be a very nice experience from our lite meal & drinks in the bar for dinner, to our room & breakfast the next morning. It is a very small hotel & our desk clerk (Marco? Marko?) also worked tending the restaurant & bar area as well. He wore many hats & we gave him credit for his versatility. Yes, it was a little slow, but we were on vacation & not pressed for time. It just gave us more time to relax & have another beer. The location lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SM_O_Fretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Came here with my friend and both our young daughters. Food was standard. Found it to be very cramped in bar area. No atmosphere. Had to repeatedly ask for things that never came. Staff are extremely slow, one in particular being very rude, after 15mins of waiting for menus I ended up getting them myself. I could totally see past this if it was busy but it wasn't. Waited a further 15mins for someone to take our order. Will not be back here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJLG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

After a lovely Sunday spent walking for 10K round Castle Ward and a very picturesque ferry trip across Strangford Lough the warm pink outside decor of this hostelry grabbed our attention and beckoned us in! Once inside we were not to be disappointed. This hotel has is just packed full of traditional charm with fires crackling and lovely warm "Olde Worldy" feel.

We went through to the bar and ordered a couple of pints of the "Black stuff" which slipped down a treat and was an excellent example of this local drink. The Bar gives a great opportunity to look out on a stunning view of the Lough. Having walked up an appetite we decided to order some food which was delicious and I would describe as the best of traditional Irish cooking with local ingredients given a high priority on the menu.

After being automatically being served some lovely wheaten bread our choices were as follows:

Starters: Mussels with a white wine,cream sauce and finished with scallions which gave a lovely fresh local kick to this classic. This was accompanied with some devine rosemary bread. My friend had the chowder and immediately even the visual let us know that this was the real deal. Packed with great big chunks of fish it turned out to be as tasty as it looked.

Mains: Both went for the scampi as we knew that there is a lot of this fished locally - Portavogie. This was an excellent example of simple local ingredients cooked to perfection with the lightest of light batters and a homemade tartar sauce which was to die for ( No little square packets for this beauty!)- yum yujm and yum!! The whole thing left me wishing that I could stay there for a day or two just to enjoy the local scenery by day and experience more of the comfort and great cooking of this charming hotel. In fact it's on my bucket list for the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed recently for one night in The Portaferry Hotel. The staff are welcoming and the accommodation is beautiful. As you arrive in this small country hotel, an open fire and fresh flowers set the scene. Our room had a wonderful view of Strangford Lough and as the sun set on a cold February evening, the views were beautiful. The rooms are furnished with solid wood antique furniture (some with four poster beds) and there are lots of lovely little touches like tea/coffee and biscuits in your room. Fresh white bedding and towels complete the package and the hotel's wifi facility was another superb extra (at no extra cost). However, the food in this hotel is the real star! We had a superb evening meal, including excellent wine, chowder, goats cheese, pork and a delicious cheese board with port, for less than £80. The next morning breakfast is well presented and the fresh white table linens add to the sharpness of the experience. We are already planning our return to this little gem and added to this are the number of interesting places to visit in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room at the front of the hotel, as these rooms have views of Strangford Lough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brecht56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Spent valentines night here. Made to feel very welcome, staff couldn't be more attentive or friendly. Even got a fee napkin folding lesson. Food, service, staff brilliant. Would recommend this to all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joytjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Called at this establishment recently for High Tea. On entry it was not busy at all and we took a seat awaiting some service. It was at this point I found out how the Invisible Man must have felt. We waited and waited and waited for someone from the staff to even acknowledge the fact that we were there but to no avail. After 20 minutes I approached the guy behind the bar to see if someone could take our order. He stated that someone would be with us soon. At that point another couple entered for a meal and within 5 minutes their order was taken. A man who had been sitting at another table came over and told us he had been waiting for service before we even came in. By this time we had been in the premises almost 40 minutes with still no service.
At this point My wife and I decided enough was enough. I spoke to the batman and told him why we were leaving but all we got from him was a shrug of the shoulders and a grunt. We left and headed for another establishment in Portavogie where we received super service and a super meal. The moral of this story is if you decide to have a meal here perhaps a packed lunch would be handy to pass the time will you wait on your meal.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
262 reviews
7.7 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
104 reviews
17.9 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
15.8 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
20.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portaferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaferry Hotel

Property: Portaferry Hotel
Address: The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portaferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Portaferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaferry Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing