We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault!”
Review of Portaferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portaferry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had my birthday lunch here on Christmas Eve with family. Have to say could not fault the place! The staff were very friendly and the food was amazing as were the views out to Strangford Lough!! Considering it was Xmas eve we were all very impressed! Price also very reasonable. Will be back!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 366 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

A group of us stayed just before Xmas on a bed, breakfast dinner deal. Good value. Food of a high standard. We had to ask for the nice dining room to be opened for us because we did not want dinner in the annex to the bar. Since the room was set and heated didn't understand why we had to ask. That small niggle apart, have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Staff very helpful and welcoming. Portaferry is a charming destination and can have spectacular sunsets over Strangford Lough. Excellent walking and very engaging National Trust Castle Ward short distance away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMES A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum and dad.
Both our rooms were lovely, a bit cool as there was a problem with the heating, but the hotel was going to be refurbished we were told the following week.
We had a really great dinner, and the breakfast was really good, would stay here again, great views from our rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank replicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Portaferry Hotel for the first time this week as we took advantage of their £50 B&B offer. Our room had excellent views over Strangford Lough and was spacious and well finished with a lovely bathroom. Whilst staying we also had the Afternoon Tea which was great fun and an evening meal in the restaurant which was great value. The bar is also great for a relaxing drink with a big open fire adding to the homely feel. The staff were a credit to the hotel and special praise must go to Sandra at front desk and Marco who couldn't do enough for us. Christine, the manager, was also very friendly and certainly made you feel at home. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Im_a_happy_camper41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Ive always enjoyed going to the Portaferry Hotel, its in a lovely location facing onto Strangford Lough and has always had a good reputation for food. The current owners, however have taken the food to a different level. Two of us had dinner here recently and the food was simply delicious. We had starters of roast quail followed by mains of venison and beef. The presentation of the food was very nice and creative without being too clever. The venison had a deliciously delicate sweetness, was cooked perfectly and when combined with the red cabbage was just gorgeous. the daube of beef was just 'melt in the mouth' quality cooking. The sticky toffee pudding at the end was just right, not too sweet and sufficiently moist to be scrumptious. All of this was washed down by a glass or two of a very pleasant Bordeaux. The service was perfect and staff were very attentive, friendly and managed quite a busy service without any obvious issues. Looking forward to a return visit.

Highly recommended for outstanding quality, good service and great value (£50- £80 depending on choice of wine and/or desserts)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank trekfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at the Portaferry Hotel. My room was stunning and had a lovely view over the Lough which was enhanced by a stunning sunset. Dinner was part of the deal, and was absolutely delicious. The chowder is to die for. Breakfast was fantastic too. The only complaint I would have is that the toiletries aren't great - big containers of Dove. I'm looking for an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastAussie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just a month ago I read a review in Belfast Telegraph about a masterclass cookery course which was commencing at the Portaferry hotel. I phoned hotel to make a few more enquiries and was pleased with information. I phoned a friend who also loves cooking and we chose a date which suited us. Arrangements were made with hotel and we looked forward to this new experience.
The package consisted of ------Afternoon tea, masterclass cookery course for 2 hrs and in the evening a taster menu
dinner and bed and breakfast at the hotel.
We arrived at the hotel and met welcoming smiling staff at reception. Christine who is the manageress showed us to the comfortable lounge with a warm log fire burning brightly.We had a delicious afternoon coffee and scones with all the toppings.

The Executive head chef Gary Bell welcomed us and explained we would meet him with our Cooks jacket on and spend time in the professional kitchen with him, learning how it was managed. We were shown around the kitchen and met his assistant chefs, Andy and Paul.We spent over 2 hours observing Gary and the chefs and assisting occasionally when we could participate.. Several of the courses on the evening menu we had observed being prepared by the chefs. The chefs were so helpful and explained techniques to us making it a memorable experience for us.
Gary Bell is an excellent teacher and master of his art of cooking and his assistants share his attributes.
All too soon our course ended but it was so good and I would highly recommend this course to anyone who loves cooking and would like to brush up on a few extra details.

In the evening we had a most delicious Taster Menu and enjoyed several of the dishes we had seen being prepared in the kitchen. We finished the meal and felt we had really had such a good dining experience with added knowledge.
The bedrooms are beautifully furnished, comfortable and each has a very smart bathroom.
The next morning we had a full breakfast with all the trimmings. We met several of the staff from the evening before as well as the day staff. Reluctantly we had to leave for our homes but we left Portaferry Hotel having had a wonderful cookery experience and a delightful dining evening in a very welcoming hotel.

The complete package costs £95 each and there is also the possibility of a morning course in the kitchen with taster lunch menu costing £50.
My friend and I each enjoyed this package of cooking, dining and then the luxury of staying over in pleasant comfortable bedrooms with the additional super breakfast following.
A big thank you to Christine for her warm welcome when we arrived and to the other staff in the hotel for their kindness to us during our stay.
For Gary and his assistant chefs many thanks for being so helpful and understanding . We really loved the Masterclass course. Might even consider another next year.

Room Tip: If possible and rooms available overlooking the water would be a special treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
282 reviews
16.2 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
271 reviews
7.7 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.8 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 47 in Belfast
1,116 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portaferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaferry Hotel

Address: The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Price Range: $110 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portaferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portaferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaferry Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing