We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of Portaferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portaferry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had a FABULOUS weekend in the PORTAFERRY HOTEL - Beautiful room, Amazing FOOD, Fantastic Views and SUPER STAFF! Every detail was perfect - cant wait to go back! Nothing was too much trouble - we could not have been treated any better and as for the breakfast!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 352 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went in for dinner twice whilst on holiday in Portaferry and found the food to be superb on both occasions. The staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We would recommend this place to eat. Whilst we didn't stay at the hotel the decor downstairs was very easy on the eye with historic maps of the area to view and local paintings framed which were very interesting. The Hotel is set on the side of the Lough and offer superb views, stunning at sunset. Our young daughter was kept busy with colouring and drawing provided at the bar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveppearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just back from a lovely break at this hotel. Had a wonderful time. The room had a four poster bed and was beautifully decorated. It was very cosy. We had a beautiful meal both nights and we felt it was good value for money. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic weekend away from everything this is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is our third visit here,bit of a drive , but the food more than makes up for it,we just had lunch,in the bar area very good , and a nice touch of crispy fish poppadums,before starters arrived,delicious food in pleasant surroundings,definitely worth the journey,will have to make it for dinner some evening after reading good reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here in a front-facing room overlooking the lough. The hotel is old-fashioned, with some of the rooms having antique furnishings. However, Service is modern, the staff are friendly and the food is incredible.

We really enjoyed the 'tasting menu' which offered some amazing & creative dishes.
The ample breakfast set us up for a nice walk along the picturesque shorefront the next morning too.

Room Tip: ask for a shorefront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I booked online a trip for my husband and i one nights b&b and one evening meal at the delightful Portaferry Hotel. We were definitely not disappointed. On arrival we were upgraded from a standard room to a deluxe room due to the hotel not being buisy that particular night. Our room and bathroom were very clean there was tea and coffee making facilities along with some biscuits and bottles of water. The view over Strangford Lough was lovely and we enjoyed a brisk walk the next morning along the coastline. Our evening meal was fantastic and compliments to the chef Gary Bell, the waitor was very attentive and all the staff were friendly and very helpful and professional.

We can't wait to go back, well done.

Room Tip: A room with a view over Strangford Lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I didnt stay in the hotel but the friendly receptionist found me a table for 5 people for 9pm. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar/lounge . Relaxed atmosphere and the friendly bar man asked if we would like to eat in the bar or the restaurant we chose the restaurant. The room is nice and bright and tastfully presented. the waiters were quick and efficient. The menu was small but catered for all tastes. The best dishes were definitely the fish courses but the meat courses were also nice. Overall no complaints and we werent hurried out keeping it nice and relaxing. Great location and easy to find.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
280 reviews
7.7 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
109 reviews
16.2 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
17.9 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
129 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portaferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaferry Hotel

Address: The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Price Range: $103 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portaferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Portaferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaferry Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing