We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & food”
Review of Portaferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portaferry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I called into the Portaferry hotel with my elderly Mother 90years. I was greeted by a lovely lady on reception called Sandra. I explained that I would like to have afternoon tea for two but would not like to have it in the bar area. A table was set up for us by Sandra in the reception area,and she also served us the afternoon tea. The food was fabulous and @14.95 for two great value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samdoc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 352 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have stayed here before but unfortunately standard has deteriorated.Breakfast read well on the menu but the selection of breads turned out to be white pan bread unless you pressed for brown toast.The fruit salad was a tired affair ,bacon was poor quality and sausage had to be sent back uncooked!Staff in the restaurant poor service barman however a different story efficient and friendly.dinner again sounded good and looked forward to my cabbage with chicken managed to find two strands hiding under chicken one small side plate of veg for two,about 2 slices of carrot and one mange tout and small new potato each!counterpane stained on bed I believe it has been recently purchased by leading conpany lets hope a lot of retraining of staff wouldnt go amiss.We only had two courses we knew it was a set menu but no allowance was made

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebeccaStrabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Have not stayed here as a hotel but just visited for the day and thought where else to get a tasty seafood chowder but by the sea. Firstly the receptionist was unhelpful and rude I was shocked on a Easter Monday with tourism high how this lady stayed looking at her computer before finally asking what I wanted and then proceeded to unsmiling tell me who I needed to see about getting seated. Then we ordered the chowder on the menu outside it said £6.90 we ordered and received 2 large serving dishes with small quantities in side charged at £8.95. Tasty but disappointed with amounts and the receptionist first impressions last and we won't be back. If you want a tasty plentiful chowder visit mcCrackens bar Belfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexandJohn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have stayed there several times now, always friendly, fantastic locaiton, great food. For a small hotel we couldnt recomend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Facing the Lough all the front facing rooms are great (havent tried the back), end rooms with four p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dundee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Very comfortable stay. We had room number 5 which has great views if the lough.

Room was very nice with antique furniture, sash windows and modern bathroom. Very large comfortable bed. Room is at the front of hotel over restaurant but was quiet and there were no noise issues.

TV reception poor and this was being looked into by the hotel.

We were on an inclusive dinner bed and breakfast rate for £120 so had a residents menu to select from. The food was good but desserts were uninspiring. Not sure if the a la carte options were different.

Breakfast was cooked to order and was very good, although selection of yoghurts and fruit was limited and poorly presented. Breakfast served until 10am - a bit early in my view however still had time for a short walk before breakfast.

This was a hotel that we had wanted to stay at for some time and we enjoyed our night away. A nice break within easy reach of Belfast. Take some time out to chill by the water and enjoy the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

What a change to the Portaferry Hotel.
The presentation of lunch and service from the staff was great.
Compliments to the chef as lunch was as good as it looked.
Great atmosphere will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolly287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed over a weekend and had a wonderful time. If you want to stay somewhere with charm, character and personality you will love this hotel with its antique furniture, eclectic art, open fires and attentive staff. Our room was old-fashioned but spotlessly clean and completely charming.

We ate from the five course tasting menu in the restaurant, a treat not to be missed. This is food worth driving for. The staff were extremely professional and personable - we were really impressed.

This part of the Ards peninsula is distinctive and unspoilt - and coming back to this cosy, personal hotel each night was a delight.

Thank you so much to all the staff. If only there were more places like this in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOJO183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
280 reviews
7.7 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
109 reviews
16.2 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
17.9 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
129 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portaferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaferry Hotel

Address: The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Price Range: $103 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portaferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Portaferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaferry Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing