We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow a wee gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portaferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardbrae Country House
Ranked #3 of 8 Portaferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
1 review
“Wow a wee gem”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner a I have just returned from ardbrae wow what can I say!
What a stunning location.
We stayed in the larger room with our own en suite heavenly bliss is the best way to describe this little gem!
We were greeted on arrival by Carole, a lovely kind host always smiling and helpful!
For those of you who want a real hearty breakfast well ardbrae will not disappoint such a selection although I would definitely recommend the fry up.
The views from all around ardbrae are truly breath taking, as our title says a wee gem of a place that I will definitely retune to again and have not doubts in recommending to all my friends!
Lastly thank you to George and Carole for making our stay with you one that we will never forget!
Phil & jacqueline

Room Tip: The large family suite is the one to go for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacman3984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi just had to say thankyou both very much for your very kind comments they are very much appreciated really glad you are coming back and looking forward to seeing you both again, will get the hens to do some overtime.
see you soon
Love Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
30
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked last minute to stay at this B&B. Never bothered to write a TripAdvisor review till now, however the quality of the B&B has forced my hand. Myself, my wife and son (4) stayed here and I do not have a single bad word to say about it. We loved the room, the service, the breakfast ... simply all was perfect. Having stayed in places such as The Raffles in Singapore I would honestly say we enjoyed our night here more!

Carole and George make you part of their home and our son is already asking when we can go back to his new home :) The cleanliness was OUTSTANDING as was the breakfast... so I think you get the picture. We were very happy and would recommend in a heartbeat to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmond_Poynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello Esmond, many thanks for your very kind comments, really glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ardbrae, it was our pleasure having you all. You have a wonderful 4 year old son I just loved him he is a lovely little character. We hope you all enjoyed Exploris Aquarium and would be delighted to see you again in the future. Our very best wishes to you and your lovely family
kind regards Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Thank you Carole and George for a really luxurious two nights at Ardbrae Country House. This was so much more than just a bed and breakfast. We had the green room with stunning views towards the Irish Sea. Really, really comfortable, spacious and with everything any guest could need. The hospitality tray went further than the usual tea and coffee making facilities - fresh fruit, fresh milk, selection of biscuits and teas. Carole's breakfasts need to be seen to be believed. She offers every conceivable combination of continental and/or cooked breakfast and everything was absolutely delicious. Nothing is too much trouble for Carole and George. Fabulous accommodation, fabulous food, fabulous hosts!

Room Tip: I don't think it would be possible to pick a room that wasn't good. Everything about our st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeNora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi, just had to say a big thankyou for your lovely comments it really makes it all worth while we were really glad you enjoyed everything especially the readying material on Strangford Lough, look forward to seeing you again Kind regards Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A perfect place to relax in comfortable and luxurious surroundings, Ardbrae Country House is a warm, welcoming haven. We arrived late in the evening to stunning views across the lough and north towards Belfast, and were warmly welcomed by George and Carole who made sure that we had everything we needed. Beautiful rooms, from the family suite bedroom with luxury bathroom, to areas for guests to relax in comfort and plan your next day from the wealth of information and material provided. What a fantastic sunroom! We had great breakfast the ext morning after a very comfortable night. Sure to return! S,W & P

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Wendy & Stephen many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. It makes it all worthwhile to hear positive feedback. It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us here at Ardbrae and we do hope you will return sometime again. We hope you enjoyed your trips to Castleward and Mountstewart 2 beautiful places here on Strangford Lough. Look forward to seeing you again. Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The accomodation was excellent and the house is so tastefully decorated and furnished. The room we had was the large family suite and it was extremely comfortable with a delightful en-suite barhroom. Carole and George were first class hosts and we certainly enjoyed their "Ardbrae" hospitality. They are a very friendly couple and made us feel at home immediately. Carole's cooked breakfasts were wonderful and they set you up for the day!! A favourite of ours was the scrambled egg with the smoked salmon. We will certainly be back to Ardbrae Country House.

Room Tip: If available, choose the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Joyce & Ian Just wanted to say thankyou very much for your very positive kind comments. It was our pleasure to have you both stay with us here at Ardbrae House and we would love to have you back to stay with us again in the future. Please feel free to get in touch anytime if even just to call on your next visit. Kindest regards Carole & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great stay at Ardbrae. Carole and Geroge were extremely helpful telling us about local attractions in the area,and accessing opening times/prices and even the weather forecast etc for us. We really appreciated the homely touches on arrival with tea/coffee and nibbles and also within the rooms. Loved the log fire. Excellent hospitality throughout our stay. Rooms were as amazing as the photos. Breakfasts were second to none - you won't go hungry!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a wonderful visit with Carole and George. Felt really at home and the service was outstanding nothing was too much trouble. We had a beautiful suite - it was so comfortable we slept in the first morning of our stay. Would recommend this beautiful guest house as it is a home from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
14.4 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
244 reviews
14.9 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.5 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
81 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
32 reviews
2.9 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardbrae Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardbrae Country House

Property: Ardbrae Country House
Address: 7 Dunevly Road, Portaferry BT22 1NB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portaferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardbrae Country House is situated between Kircubbin and Portaferry on a 4 acre landscaped elevated site. This tranquil luxury B&B enjoys splendid panoramic views of the surrounding countryside including views of Strangford Lough and the Irish sea. Offering a central location for discovering County Down, Strangford Lough and beyond including sailing, golfing, cycling, hiking and motorsport .Come, relax and enjoy the generous hospitality in comfortable luxury surroundings. Savour an extensive breakfast with homemade breads, jams and local produce to set you up for the day's adventures. On arrival guests can enjoy complimentary tea/coffee with homemade scones fresh cream and homemade jam. Enjoy your stay at Ardbrae. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardbrae Country House Portaferry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing