We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice base for walking”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovely secluded position,200yards off the main road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely secluded position,200yards off the main road
King size bed Pets welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Lovely secluded position,200yards off the main road
King size bed
Pets welcome
Wood burning stove
Wooden floors & Beams
Red squirrels near the cottage
Ullswater Steamers
playing in the Lake !
Red Deer on Place Fell,The cottage is to the left in the Valley
The cottage with Ullswater in the background
Ullswater boathouse
Frosty morning at Keepers Cottage
Ullswater
The Cottage from Keldas
Keepers cottage from Glenridding
En Suite shower room
Keepers cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah W
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice base for walking”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cottage with bags of character. Communication with James both before and during our stay was second to non and he was accommodating of our 4 month old baby, offering to sort a cot for her. As a non 'doggie person' (sorry!!) I liked that I couldn't tell dogs had ever been there. I also really liked that the fire was set up ready to light. The kitchen is well stocked. The bed was comfy although I've never been anywhere with such a creaky floor - all adds to the character!!

The plumbing could do with some attention - it can't cope with doing more than one thing at once which was a problem on two occasions in our week only because of having a little one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

me and my husband stayed a week in keepers cottage with our 2 staffies we had excellent weather (even getting sunburnt) there are many walks direct from the door we never used car for first 4 days the places to eat are many in Glenridding the only thing was the Ratchers bar was still closed due to the horrible floods but we do recommend the pizzas when they are open,Patterdale has a couple of places to eat aswell I recommend a trip on the steamer to aira force it is beautiful and of course Keswick which is a favourite of myself and my husband

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location of this lovely cottage
Liked least: somewhere to to sit at front of cottage would be nice
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessL...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous quaint cottage”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Visited at the weekend and loved the place. It was the perfect size for 2 people and 2 dogs and absolutely loved the wood burner. The cottage had lots of nice touches such as teabags, wahsing up liquid, dishcloths etc - something that not all holiday lets do, and the wood burner had been made up ready to light. The surrounding area is beautiful and despite being hit by floods recently the area has been cleaned up and is open albeit for a few tell tale signs. We went to the White Lion pub in Patterdale which is a short walk for drinks both nights - we didn't eat but it got busy so booking advisable.
There are plenty of walks straight from the cottage and we were even lucky to see a herd of red deer (although it wasn't quite so great when you have lurchers).
Would definately visit again and many thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage, Lovely Area”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a thorughly lovely time at Jame's cottage. We were concerned after the recent dreadful weather the area had been dealt, but everything was up and running in the area just fine. We were happy to add our little bit to Glenridding.
The cottage was cosy, clean and well equipped. With the snow outside it was difficult to take a bad photograpgh. The views were stunning in every direction.
Ideally positioned with all your needs within easy walking distance, including shops, petrol station, pubs, restaurants, you name it you got it. You only need your car if you want to go on a day trip elsewhwere.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy wood fire
Liked least: No towells
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2016
Thank you very much.Come again soon,very welcome.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BullyBirm...
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best time”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fabulous stay at Keepers, the cottage was perfect in every way. The log burner made everything so cosy. The bed was incredibly comfortable.
The location was great and the pubs and restaurants were lovely considering the floods.
Would recommend this cottage to everyone
Thanks James we loved it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2016
Thank you very much,Please pass on the message Glenridding and Patterdale are needing visitors!
Glad you enjoyed Keepers cottage.
Thanks
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy Cosy Cosy!”
Reviewed December 31, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Yeah I know, Cosy sounds twee but what else can you say about a place that you love to come back to, light the fire, open a bottle of wine and put your feet up? Hot and cold running WiFi, log burning stove, comfortable king size bed with no foot board to cramp tall freaks, and an owner that doesn't get irritated by stupid text questions like "where's the instruction sheet?". All good big tick will come again for certian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2016
Thanks very much John,
Welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig c
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a beautiful cottage in a perfect location.It had everything we needed and more.We will certainly be back and will recommend it to everyone we know.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing