We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions shape the experience....luckily we soon met our hostess!”
Review of Grisedale Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grisedale Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“First impressions shape the experience....luckily we soon met our hostess!”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Night 4 on the C2C walk. It had been a long hard day, we were wet and tired and had turned up early to find no-one was at home. OK, that's fine, everyone has a life, so off we went to find a late lunch.

When we got back we rang the bell and John opened the door. Instead of a "hello, I'm John, welcome..." we got "we have a no shoe rule in this house, please take your boots off". I'm well house trained and would have done that anyway, and while I suppose some people do get careless in other people's houses, there have to be more hospitable ways of welcoming a new guest.

OK, we got past that, took off our boots and were shown upstairs to a nice, comfortable twin room with double glazed windows on two sides, so plenty of light, and a handbasin. The ensuite is tiny, literally a cupboard sized room with a small shower cubicle and toilet. It works, but my mate is 6 feet 4 inches, and it was a challenge for him! No real hanging space.

Luckily we next met Christine. She is naturally hospitable and soon had our wet gear drying in a hidden drying room. The next morning it was Christine who served breakfast, and this was excellent. We were off the full english breakfast by now and she was able to offer plenty of choices with fruits, cereals and yoghurt. She also provided us with slightly expensive but great big lunches, including some home made slice, as we left.

So, our first impression of Grisedale Lodge was spoiled by our rather unengaging welcome. It is a comfortable B&B with some very nice touches. Christine's hospitality tops it off. Pity she didn't open the door when we first arrived!

Room Tip: ask for the room that doesn't have the ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was our 2nd stay in the cottage and it did not disappoint. The cottage is very large with a lovely garden and conservatory. We are a family of 4 adults and 2 children and we had everything we could need.The cottage is very well appointed with lots of thoughtful extras and Christine and John are very welcoming and helpful. The location is great with many delightful walks for all abilities from the front door. Just perfect coming back to the cottage after a day walking to a log fire and a glass of wine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharyagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is an excellent B&B in every way: a comfortable bedroom with a view of the fells, a delicious breakfast including fresh fruit and a relaxing lounge. The hosts are welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable offerning everything from advice on a route to drying your clothes. They offer a packed lunch service with lots of choice of sandwich fillings.
This B&B is well placed for the Coast to Coast, and is midway between the villages of Patterdale and Glenridding, giving a good choice of pubs and shops and convenient for Hellvellyn and other walks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Lovely place to stop over after a hard days walking. The double room we were given was a little small and did not have an ensuite although the bathroom for our exclusive use down the stairs was very large and included for both a shower and bath. Breakfast was to a very high standard in the guest dining/lounge room.

The lady of the house was very warm, welcoming and helpful.
The man of the house was equally helpful but could be a little warmer and soften the military style of guest communication.
A TV and/or radio in the rooms would have been nice.

The packed lunch was to a high standard and included for some complimentary home made cake which was a lovely touch.

Overall a very pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suttontraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here on the coast to coast walk and would definitely return. Great welcome with home-made cake and tea. Good breakfast and packed lunch. Great value.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pusillanimous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Execellent B&B, Christine & John could not be friendlier, great breakfast, dried our wet clothes & shoes overnight, room & en suite shower could be bigger and we prefer to have a TV in our room. Highly recommended for coast to coasters

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We were attending a family wedding at a nearby hotel. We found Grisedale Lodge very cosy and clean, the owner was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. We saw loads of rabbits and woodpeckers in the garden. Ideal place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.5 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,644 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.7 mi away
Glenridding House
Glenridding House
#3 of 6 in Glenridding
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cherry Holme
Cherry Holme
#5 of 6 in Glenridding
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grisedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grisedale Lodge

Property: Grisedale Lodge
Address: Grisedale Bridge | Patterdale, Glenridding CA11 0PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grisedale Lodge is a friendly and comfortable Lake District B&B with gorgeous views of the Ullswater fells. We have three guest rooms on the first and second floor of our home and a lovely lounge which you are welcome to enjoy. We are located between the villages of Glenridding and Patterdale in a quiet location at Grisedale Bridge. There are numerous walks from the door and the lake is only a 10 minute walk away. We are directly on Wainwright's Coast to Coast walk and a 15 minute walk from the Inn on the Lake in Glenridding which is a superb wedding venue. There are some lovely pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Our B&B rooms are simply furnished and comfortable. We have three rooms : two twin or double rooms with en suite shower and one double room with separate, private bathroom. All rooms have good WiFi access and tea and coffee making facilities. There is private off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grisedale Lodge Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing