We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“tranquil setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Stybarrow Cottage : traditional fire, free WiFi, off road parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Stybarrow Cottage : traditional fire, free WiFi, off road parking
Stybarrow Cottage - a spacious and comfortable former miners' cottage Stybarrow Cottage - a delightful home from home in the Lake District National Park.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Welcome to Stybarrow Cottage : traditional fire, free WiFi, off road parking
Stybarrow Cottage - a spacious and comfortable former miners' cottage
Stybarrow Cottage - a delightful home from home in the Lake District National Park.
The open plan ground floor at Stybarrow Cottage .. warm, spacious and well equipped
The comfortable lounge where you can relax in front of the fire
Plenty of books and guides to help you plan your days out
Relaxed dining at home
The dining area and lounge
The lovely kitchen at Stybarrow Cottage with views of the Lakeland fells from the kitchen window
If it's your turn to cook, you can still join in the chat and make sure your wine is topped up!
The kitchen is well equipped and has most things you need for dining at home
The top floor double bedroom .... you can watch the stars from your bed
Your settee with a view .... in the top floor bedroom
The seating area in the top floor bedroom with views of Place Fell and Keldas
The first floor double bedroom
The first floor double bedroom has superb views of the Lakeland scenery
The twin bedroom which looks on to Glenridding Dodd and Sheffield Pike
The twin bedroom has plenty of storage for all those bits and bobs you bring on holiday
The modern bathroom at Stybarrow Cottage. There is a separate shower room and second toilet.
The view from the cottage door at the back of the cottage
The patio and barbecue at Stybarrow Cottage
The garden and surrounding scenery
The beauty of the Ullswater valley ... without moving your car
Bluebells near Lanty's Tarn - a short walk from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NikkySOwe...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“tranquil setting”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a lovely stay, in the quaint, well furnished cottage, Christine was most warm and friendly.
the cottage was clean and well equipped for our needs, and
not far to the lake front and café, shop etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: home from home experiance.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2015
It's lovely to hear from you and to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Stybarrow Cottage. We have aimed to make the cottage as comfortable as possible so it's good to know that you had everything you needed.

Hope to see again.

Christine and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-of-X...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only one word applies ... "perfect"”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Perfect location, perfect accommodation, perfect facilities, and the warmest and most helpful of receptions.

We had a wonderful stay — very fortunate with the weather too! — and are looking forward to another chance to stay in Stybarrow Cottage.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Stybarrow Cottage. We did enjoy meeting you and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again.

Christine and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenys15
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is one of the best cottages that we have ever stayed in It is in an excellent location to enjoy the surrounding countryside and also to sample the local hostelries. It was extremely clean and comfortable and had every piece of equipment that you would need if you wanted to self cater.
The list of equipment that Christine sent to us prior to our stay was useful along with the clear directions about where to pick up the key. The provision of a mobile 'phone that worked in the area was a thoughtful addition. The new off road parking was a particular bonus.
We were blessed with excellent weather so we spent a lot of time in the surrounding hills but there was plenty of books, games etc in the cottage if the weather had not been so kind.I would certainly recommend this cottage and hope to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole feel of the place
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2015
Hello. It was lovely to meet you both and are pleased that you were able to benefit from our new off road parking. Thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy on departure. Much appreciated. Hope to see you both again.

Christine and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happiestg...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Yet again, another relaxing trip to the Lakes”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have recently returned from another trip to Glenridding and this time a stay in a new (to us) cottage. Like the other cottages owned by Christine and John, it was well appointed, comfortable and clean. The downstairs being open plan made our holiday very sociable and two bathrooms were essential with teenagers.... We enjoyed being in the centre of the village, close to the shops and pub, but still with beautiful views - coming from Essex, that is much appreciated! We are regular visitors to Glenridding and would recommend any of Christine and John's cottages; in fact we are looking forwards to our trip up in July very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and cosy fire
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2015
Hello again. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Stybarrow Cottage. It was lovely to see you again. See you in July.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trave77in...
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage in a beautiful part of the UK”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our friend booked this cottage to stay here as a small group for a wedding at a nearby hotel in January. There were five of us in total and the cottage was perfect for our needs.

It's a cosy yet surprisingly roomy cottage situated in a good location - mere minutes walk away from the local amenities. The kitchen and living rooms were more then adequate and we would have made more use of the kitchen to self-cater if we hadn't have been at a wedding for most of the Saturday. The coal fire was particularly cosy on an evening - even with the nearby Traveller's Rest pub (which does great food & ales by the way) we were reluctant to head out into the chill of winter.

All of the bedrooms have amazing views of the fells and it was only fair that the head of our group who had found and booked the cottage had the excellent master bedroom on the second floor.

There's also good stable wifi, tv (though it seems rude to watch the TV is such a great part of the world), and plenty of books and games if you need them. Parking is on the road immediately outside the cottage.

When we next return to the Lakes, we'll most certainly be using this as our base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general 'cosiness' of the cottage!
Liked least: I imagine that parking could be an issue in the summer, though that's more down to the 'honeypot' status of Glenridding!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
It sounds like the wedding at the Inn on the Lake went very well and that you all enjoyed your stay at Stybarrow Cottage. We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again.

Christine and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen c
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful cottage in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful cottage which made our Christmas really special. This cottage is set in stunning scenery with amenities close by. The cottage was clean, spacious, very well equipped and cosy with the lovely log fire. We had to fight for the top bedroom which was amazing with a lovely balcony overlooking the mountains. The owner was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The fire was lit for us when we arrived and a lovely christmas tree lit up in the corner. The information provided before and during our stay was excellent. We look forward to returning shortly.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie E
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming cottage”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Fabulous cottage. Christine has thought of everything that might be needed. Excellant communication from booking through to the stay.
Welcomed by a roaring fire and home made cake - very thoughtful after a long journey.
The location is idea. 2 minutes from ammenities and the lake.
Would recommend the cottage highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellant location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing