We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Norton. Co. Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“very relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

We had a very enjoyable 4 days. The room had been refurbished and was very clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent. pleasant and very well trained and efficient. We enjoyed our food, although the cooked breakfast on two occasions did not appear to be freshly prepared.
However we (and other guests) found that our dining experience a.m and p.m. was spoilt by the choice of music being relayed. We felt it was totally inappropriate. We have extensive experience of hotels and usually find light orchestral arrangements far more suitable!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    315
    120
    48
    22
See reviews for
285
910
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
238 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2006

I made a reservation at the Inn on the Lake as part of a 50th birthday celebration, where there had to be a special location and memorable ambience. I took one of the larger old rooms, where was a special treat. The hotel is a large old hotel, well maintained, along the shore near Ullswater. The town is an easy drive towards the north end of the Lake District, and there are lots of opportunities for walks in the hills and along the water nearby.

The checkin was polite and efficient, and the room, was spectacular. It had a big bay window overlooking the lake and a large four-poster bed that was great. The bathroom was a bit cramped by comparison but complete, and the hotel was quiet even though there was a large wedding party staying throughout the hotel.

The restaurant in the hotel is really good: they have a big breakfast buffet and elegant dinners which were first-class. Coffee in the drawing room was a nice touch afterwards, and the hotel has a small fitness center to help you work things off.

Overall, the hotel is a fitting backdrop to celebrating the start of life's second half. I'd recommend embracing the best that it has to offer: the larger rooms and the dinners, and not to use it as a casual room to use as a base for exploring the region. (The B&B's in the vicinity are better for that)

  • Liked — Location, ambience
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2006

This is the first time we have been away for Christmas and WOW! What a fantastic hotel, not cheap but worth every penny. We have had the most fabulous time! The service, quality and food is second to none. We have stayed in some top hotels but this one will take some beating! Every little detail is catered for; just one example is that a group of us went out with the deputy manager for a walk on Boxing Day and were taken aback when half way through the walk we were greeted by hotel staff who had set up a table with sandwiches, hot chocolate, soup, cakes etc etc "just to keep us going"! You don't get this kind of service in some of the best 5* hotels. The staff are fantastic and very friendly, nothing is too much trouble; in fact, my partner started with a cold on christmas eve and the staff went to great lengths to get him cold remedies (and copious hot toddies!) to make sure his Christmas wasn't spoilt! If it wasn't for the fact that our holidays for christmas 2007 were already booked we would be returning to The Inn on The Lake. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will return in the very near future!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — No Trouser Press!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WarringtonJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2006

The location and public rooms are excellent, but forget dining there - as the food during our stay was awful. The evening dinner (costing around 32GBP each) went as follows:-
Starter > home made vegetable soup, this smelled and tasted of curry!
Main course > 2 meats steak, one steak was tiny and they had completely ignored how I asked for it to be cooked, the other was flakes of overcooked braised steak reconstituted into a wad that looked and probaby tasted like dog food.
Dessert > One of our party had what should have been a soft sponge cake, but it appeared to have been microwaved extensively and was like a fossil in the middle!

Breakfasts were not much better, with just one rasher of bacon the first day and 2 rashers the second, which were either over cooked or under cooked (depending on where on the pile they were when cooked). Breakfast also included a black badly cooked egg (probably cooked in with the mushrooms), so bad that it was inedible.

On our second night we eat out. When we were leaving the hotel I mentioned the quality of the food to the receptionist. She seemed incredulous that anyone had dared complain about the food because "The chef has just won a rosette for his food"

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat out of the hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Qashqai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Isles
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2006

Stayed two nights for a friend's wedding in November.

As stated in previous reviews the Hotel is in a great location, not just for the wedding photos but for walking in the Lakes. The Wedding was excellent, the wedding party seemed to be very well looked after and the Hotel looked great with all the Christmas decorations out.

We had a fell-view room at the front of the Hotel, the room was very large, clean and a delight to stay in.

On a negative side it is pricey, both to stay at and also at the bar - around £12 for two small glasses of wine and a G&T. It is annoying that you have to stay a minumum of 2 nights at the weekend and have no option other than Bed, Breakfast and Dinner but this seems fairly standard for Hotels in this area.

I did feel that at breakfast, as part of a large wedding group, you weren't given quite the same level of attention as other guests. This is because they sit all the wedding guests at two or three large tables so the staff are not aware of everyone arriving at the tables, on one day after waiting for 10 minutes we had to eventually approach a member of staff to ask for coffee, toast and clean cups.

To summarise if you don't mind paying extra then stay here but if you want a reasonably priced bed then go for a B&B.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the Ullswater steamer to Howtown and walk back around the lake
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2006

This hotel could be perfection. The hotels position at the base of Lake Ullswater is stunning. Beautifull gardens, great views and a host of activities. We had a top floor four poster room overlooking the lake, what can i say, the views are awesome. The room was very clean and a very good size. The food was good, there was loads of activities including golf, steamers, walks, leisure centre and kayaking. The hotels grounds and especially the views are amazing. BUT.... the only downside to our stay were the staff in both the Ramblers bar and the hotels main bar. They seemed so depressed and never smiled all the two days we were there. The service was good, but a freindly smile goes a long way.

  • Liked — Views
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JonH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

We spent two nights at the Hotel for our daughters wedding, everything was superb. I know we had a four poster bedroom but everywhere was spotless. The staff were all very polite, the food for breakfast, evening and the wedding reception was fantastic!!! I would recommend anyone who is thinking of getting married to go to the Hotel as its the best you could ever wish for.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vonny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing