We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,897)
Filter reviews
1,897 results
Traveler rating
1,290
377
151
52
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,290
377
151
52
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramblers barfell view roomwedding guestsstunning locationafternoon teasconeswedding breakfastwedding venuechristmas decorationsthe general managersteamersfeature roomevery member of stafffantastic hotelmain restaurantstandard roomhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 1,897 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2017

Had a fantastic 5 night stay in a lake view room. We were in Room 11 which had huge bay windows. The height of the windows did present a bit of a problem as the only way to reach the opening at the top was to stand on a chair - not ideal. The views were wonderful and the room was very comfortable with good quality bedding and towels. The dressing gowns provided were of particularly high quality. The bathroom was quite small but was nicely fitted out. Evening meals were very good and the dining room was nicely set out. Breakfasts were excellent - the scrambled egg and salmon were superb.

The hotel has a wonderful feel to it and every member of staff we encountered was friendly, efficient and helpful. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the housekeeping staff should be congratulated. There are lots of areas to sit and appreciate the views and the Ramblers Bar is a nice alternative for a drink or light meal.

The recently completed Ullswater Way provides lots of opportunities for walks directly from the hotel and the jetty for the steamer is a 5 minute stroll away. We hope to make a return visit.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms worth the extra
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gill345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Dear Gill345

Thank you for your very kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are thinking about a return visit. I will pass on your comments to my team who enjoy reading the feedback.
Let us wish you well in your future travels
Kind regards
Gary and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017

My husband and I have just returned from one nights stay at this beautiful hotel. Our room number 17 was lovely and had a balcony that overlooked the gardens and the lake. The food was excellent and the staff could not do enough for us extremely pleasant and very helpful. It was very relaxing sitting in the lounge having a glass of wine in front of the warm gas fire. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 17 has fantastic views and a balcony
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Dear Joan G

Thank you for your very kind comments, we are so pleased you had a great stay with us. I do hope you choose to visit us again in the not too distant future but until then let us wish you all the best.
Kind regards
Gary and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017

We stayed at this hotel last week in room 50. We booked it through Secret Escapes. What a lovely,relaxing time we had. The hotel is beautifully situated by Ullswater Lake and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was delicious and the restaurant staff were excellent. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and hopefully we will return in the near future.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room with a view of the lake although our view of the snow capped fells was fine.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Dear CandGEngland

Thank you for taking time to review your stay on Trip advisor, we really appreciate your lovely comments. I will let all the departments know of your review as they enjoy reading the feedback.
I do hope you choose to visit the hotel again in the future but until then let us wish you well and safe travels.
Kind regards
Gary and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017

I've stayed at this wonderful hotel a few times but having just spent the weekend in a 'Lake View Room', well it was simply stunning! Even the weather couldn't take away from the perfect view. The food as always was excellent and the staff most helpful. I adore this hotel and highly recommend staying in a Lake View Room!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BaldGrylls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Dear BaldGrylls

Thank you for reviewing the Inn On The Lake on trip advisor, we really appreciate your very kind words. Its lovely when repeat guests come back and we manage to fulfill expectations. We do hope to see you very soon but I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff.
Take care, see you soon
Kind regards
Gary and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile

We visited the inn on the lake and was more than pleased with the hotel. We,upgraded to the quiet side of the hotel which over looked the lake, for an extra £10 which was still good value,
As there was a busy road outside the front entrance,it was a good choice.
Our room was really lovely, with quality bedding and comfortable large beds.
We ate a beautiful meal in the evening and even with a group of 30 French students and teacher they coped really well. There was a good and varied menu to choose from.
The meal was hot and served in good time.
The breakfast was good with plenty of choice, cereals including porridge, yoghurts,various fruit juices an a hot choice too. Bread was plentiful both white and brown for self service toast.
Both shower and bath available and towels and various toiletries for your convenience
We had a lovely walk by the lake before we left.
It rounded off our visit to kent

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2017

Dear Margaret H

Thank you for your very kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you choose to revisit us at some point in the near future.

Let us wish you well

Kind regards

Gary and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews