We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Crosby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

Went to the Inn On The Lake for a family celebration. The hotel is situated on the shores of Ullswater and the views are lovely. The public areas are very nicely decorated, with a lounge. separate bar and dining room. Our room was standard fare (clean, just a bit dated) for a three star hotel, however other members of our party did have refurbished rooms that had quality fabrics and fittings and looked more contemporary. The staff were all very friendly and the service excellent with the expection of one receptionist who was less than helpful when dealing with a room service query!. The food in the dining room was of a good quality and we enjoyed our meal on the Saturday night, breakfast too was good.
The only downside is the cost, it is very expensive, as the previous reviewer states. We could have stayed for a week in a deluxe self catering cottage for the same price as the total cost for our party. That said it was for a special celebration and everyone enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrosbyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    315
    120
    48
    22
See reviews for
285
910
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

We has a superior lake view room for dinner bed and breakfast. The room was comfortable and had sufficient room but was not spacious, everything was clean and tidy; our bathroom was large. The dining room was spacious with plenty of room between the tables and there was a nice lounge with an adjoining but separate bar area. There were few other people in the lounge in the afternoon or evening on this November week day.

The garden went down to Ullswater lake and was delightful. Dinner was nouvelle cuisine which was excellent and suited us fine but may not suit fat people who like to stuff their faces. Staff were pleasant and helpful. There was a small exercise room with machines and complementary wireless internet in the lounge areas. Dinner is significantly cheaper if ordered before arrival, I did this on the online booking form but it was not acknowledged so I sent an email which received no response so I phoned 2 days before so we did receive the discounted rate. Those booking via a third party will not know of this offer.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at the Inn on the Lake as a planned stop over on our drive north to Glasgow. However having stayed there once we will not do so again as dinner bed and breakfast for one night was the same as the cost of renting a 2 bed room apartment in Keswick for a week in low season.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank sadandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

I've spent many nights in this hotel in recent years. Fantastic location, nice hotel, a pub next door... great staff. What more do you want?

I would avoid the standard single rooms though - way too small.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

This 2 day treat was a gift for my husband and I,the hotel on first impressions seemed very nice but when we arrived at our room it had not been cleaned adequately! there was alot of dust and grime around the tray that the cups and saucers and kettle were on! The net curtains had brown splodges on them and the carpet had stains on! The bed and bathroom however were fine.We reported this and 15mins later a young man arrived to reclean the room,something that should have been done properly 1st time round!! SHAME because it does have the potential to be a good hotel,maybe with its 64 rooms its just too big to keep a check on its staff and whether they are doing their jobs correctly.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank bubblesyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

The location of this hotel is fantastic as it's right on the edge of the lake with great views. There's a large lawned area with a pitch & putt golf course, croquet lawn, etc. The inside is also really well maintained and clean.

The only downside was the slow service and the fact that they kept forgetting or running out of things. They were always most helpful and happy to sort things out but you shouldn't have to keep asking for basic things to be provided (cereal bowls at breakfast, toilet roll in the pub). No individual thing was a big problem (and it didn't really bother us too much as we saw the funny side) but it did let the place down, especially considering the price. We were there with a number of friends who all said the same.

Examples are a long wait for food at the adjoining pub and at breakfast (the couple on the table next to us gave up after they were told there order had been misplaced). No brown bread left, no J2o's left, certain beers ran out, etc, etc.

Overall ok and we still had a good time, but they do need to step up on the service as it really would make us think twice about staying again and is so easy to resolve.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sulley92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

Recently stayed here for two nights and would highly recommend it. As it was a short honeymoon break, we booked one of the rooms with a four poster bed and incredible views of the lake. Really spectacular.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very good and the dining room also had lovely views of the lake.
Excellent place to totally chill out!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — having to leave it!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank premierlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

I have just returned from a two night stay here. I spent two nights at the Inn on the Lake last February. I thought that it couldn't be better but it was.
The rooms are well appointed with lovely furnishings, toiletries and bathrobes. It is an old building, a few of the bedroom floors slope a little, so it's got lots of character! I would certainly recommend a superior lake view, it is a wonderful sight when you open the curtains in the morning!
The food is excellent and the service just right.
The staff are very professional, I found Sheena in the office and an American waitress, Natasha, to be particularly kind and helpful as was Bryan behid the bar. Nothing was too much trouble.
My companion, who is in poor health, found it to be a wonderful, relaxing and peaceful break. It was just what she needed and I think I will probably be asked to take her there again.
There is an old fashioned pub next door, the Ramblers Bar, which was unfortunately not serving food at the moment. The kitchen is being refurbished. That was lovely last year, with excellent bar meals.
The hotel also allows dogs at £10 per night in the Fell view rooms. It's also about twenty minutes away from the Alpaca Centre at Penrith - a trip not to be missed if you want knitwear that is far superior to cashmere.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Helpful?
3 Thank Rowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing