We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class !”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
stafford england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First class !”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We visited for a two night break in March after reading reviews.From the first greeting at Reception to service at breakfast and dinner we were not disappointed.
The scones on arrival (gluten free for me ) was a lovely touch .
Our room no 47 had a great view of the lake.
A few hiccups at dinner on first night as I am Gluten and dairy free but this was soon sorted with a dessert cooked just for me.
To us the sign of a quality hotel is how they deal with problems and they did so in a first class manner.
The staff in the dining room were excellent.
We feel we have found a place we will be returning to in the not to distant future.
Yes the setting is beautiful but the hotel has got to equal this and in our opinion it certainly does!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank member from salt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    327
    129
    49
    23
See reviews for
301
953
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had afternoon tea at this hotel made very welcome by staff had afternoon tea in the orangery when it arrived could not believe the selection of sandwiches and cakes . Struggled to eat it all so staff put what we left in a doggy bag to take home with us can recommend this hotel for tea and the views are spectacular

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilbermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Having returned to this gorgeous hotel after a significant refurbishment and added Orangery we were not disappointed. The views from the hotel are spectacular and unrivalled. Staff are helpful and the rooms airy, spacious, well equipped with great attention to detail to ensure guests are well catered for.
We did request a window seat in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner which was duly accommodated ... Do ask otherwise seating is given as available. The window views are totally fabulous over Ullswater lake and surrounding Fells, they will restore any life displeasure ..... Go visit for sure.
Non residents can call in for a drink and relax in the splendid orangery, beautifully decorated with views abundant.

Room Tip: Request a window seat in the restaurant to ensure the maximum lakeside indulgent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elanios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our first time visit to Ullswater and to the the Inn on the Lake. We booked this through a travelzoo special offer of £298 dinner bed and breakfast for 2. Although we didn't pay extra for a fell view room we still had a nice view from our room no.26. The hotel is in a beautiful location right on the lake and the views from the restaurant and hotel lounges are stunning. The food and service in the restaurant and bars was very good and the hotel is spacious and very relaxing despite being full and there was also a wedding taking place. Would I stay again, a definite yes and we are already looking forward to our next visit. Unfortunately during our stay the weather was very windy, which meant that we couldn't use the steamer boats to get across the lake as they were not running. We did manage to walk half way around the lake which was still enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 26 which although on the corner of the hotel still had a nice view of the hills an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegirlswarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This was our 7th visit to the Inn on the lake and there will most definitely be an 8th!

We loved this place so much on our 1st visit in 2012 we ended up revisiting a number of times then got married at the hotel in June 2013.

The staff, rooms, ambience and views make this place what it is. We have stayed in every type of room and all offer different experiences. We highly recommend the lake view room but our dog Keegan loves the fell view rooms so try both!

Special mention to Jonathan and Darren who recognised us and made us feel special and valued customers.

Can't wait for our 8th visit to the gem on the lake!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wayiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Spent last weekend here for our nephew's wedding. Hotel was absolutely brilliant. Room spotless, food excellent and wedding meal was outstanding. Would recommend this to anyone wishing a beautiful setting for a wedding.

Brian & Sandra N.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Always wanted to stay in this hotel as the location must be one of the best in the Lake District. The hotel is first-class the decor,food, service, best of all the attention to detail by the staff all exceedingly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,050 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
379 reviews
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.4 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing