We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed at this family run hotel, and we had high expectations..... we were not disappointed.
It has been over 10 years since our last visit, and we have spent our holiday time travelling the world. However sitting on the edge of Ullswater, the scenery here is simply stunning and many world wide locations just don't compete.
The hotel itself has been well maintained and improved over the last 10 years. The new Orangery is lovely, I had never tried hot pimms before, it's delicious and tastes even better when it's complimentary.
We had a lakeside view room, a must if you can afford it. Even at dusk, it was lovely to look out over the grounds and see the beautifully lit pagoda. The room was very hot at first, but the heating can quickly be adjusted.
The room had a large flat screen TV, that could be easily turned to watch from either the seating area or the bed. However we preferred just looking at the views from our floor to ceiling windows.
The bathroom had the thickest fluffiest towels you could want.
All the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the reception team gave an excellent first impression, and we relaxed as soon as we had arrived. The waiting staff were brilliant and we would like to give a special thank you to Nina and Paul who both seem to genuinely care that you are not just enjoying your meal but your whole stay. (There is a very nice man in charge of service, who also deserves a mention but he does not wear a name badge)
Whilst we were there, there was a wedding going on, but it did not effect our stay at all.
Finally, the food.... We cannot believe that any of the negative comments we have previously read have been correct. The meals we ate were all so delicious, and the menus quite exciting with every course featuring a list of mouthwatering items. If you cannot manage to stay here, it would still be worth visiting just for the food.
We certainly won't leave it 10 years until our next visit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HollyDayYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    315
    120
    49
    22
See reviews for
285
913
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just returned from a two night valentines stay . A truly lovely place , full of class , charm and warmth . Very relaxing from the minute you walk in . After chatting the the manager Gary, it's very clear his focus is on making sure all guests have the best experience . He is passionate about the hotel and this runs through the rest of the staff . The decor has no expense spared and the owners taste is to the highest standards , absolute class down to every detail . The staff are lovely and we were well looked after by Paul and Mona in the restaurant . Even though the weather was bad , it was a pleasure spending time in the lounges reading the paper . Can recommend the steamboat trip and the Ramblers pub attached is very friendly too . Could not fault the food in anyway . Will definitely return at anytime of the year . Amazing setting and grounds .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

My family and I visited this hotel for a birthday lunch treat. The hotel is beautiful - tasteful and clean surroundings and lovely lake views. However, we found that to our great surprise the food was awful. Even a humble pot of tea was undrinkable (I think that the water was too cold). I brought this to the attention of a waiter who (ungraciously) replaced it - with another equally undrinkable cup! No-one asked me if I was now happy with the tea.

I didn't want to spoil my daughters birthday treat by complaining too loudly but when I paid the bill away from my family I made the member of staff aware of my dissatisfaction. She didn't even offer to take the cost of the tea off the bill let alone adjust the bill for all the food left uneaten.

Our main problem was the food was tasteless and not hot. You can get a better quality lunch at a service station for a fraction of the price.

I did speak to the manager about the problem we had and he said he will look into it. He offered a voucher but no partial refund which I would have been happier with. He did not offer to come back to me with an explanation/reason why things had gone so badly wrong. Such a pity because when we arrived we were so impressed with the hotel we planned to come back for a short stay a.s.a.p

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Angela

Let me reply to your review and I will be honest and balanced. Its very difficult when managers reply on trip advisor as it can come across as defensive and often we are accused of not taking constructive criticism .
I didn't see the food go out so I can only take the word of you, my bar manager and the chefs but what I can comment on is the phone call I took later that afternoon .The comments you make in your review contradicts what was actually said. You told me that the bar man was very professional and you even remembered his name and he in fact replaced the tea and offered you a different blend which was Twinning s English breakfast which you thought was tasteless but you say in your review that he was incredulous. He actually asked you twice if everything was ok and on both occasions you said things were fine.During our conversation you said that your daughter really enjoyed her meal and that your complaint was that the gammon wasn't well done as you like it very well cooked. I offered you a voucher as a goodwill gesture, you said that you didn't want compensation and that wasn't the purpose of your call but that in fact you had a cafe and as a business owner that it was only fair that you let me know but in your rather unbalanced review say they didn't offer me any money back or that I hadn't offered you a partial refund which you say is what you would of wanted There are so many contradictions and then write a malicious review.
I can tell you that we did 80 covers at lunch and over 170 pots of tea through out the whole of Saturday and not one complaint , no one saying the tea is cold of which I'm sure the staff who have been with the hotel for many years would of picked up on.
We finished our conversation and I thanked you for calling at no point did we discuss that I would call you back as you were giving me your opinion of what you say had happened.. I did check the boilers in the lounge bar and they were all working fine.
I think I will leave it at that and wish you well

Regards

G Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

What a stunning hotel. We had a lake view room, which although a little on the small side, was very comfortable, clean and had the most amazing view made better by the floor to ceiling window. The staff are very attentive, friendly and cannot do enough. The only fault I could find was in the restaurant. We opted for 5 courses on our first night and were in and out in an hour! Although rushed the food was nice.I ordered poached eggs for breakfast, which were not cooked - the white was raw. On the second night it was a complete reverse having to wait 30 minutes at the table for our starters to arrive, even though they had been ordered before we were taken into the restaurant. Enough to put us off? No, as other aspects made up for it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Well what can we say about this hotel ? nothing negative i,m afraid, everything was spot on , what a great management team, everyone was very pleasent , we did have a little trouble with the heating and hot water in our room on the first day but that was due to all the bad weather they were experiencing, this was soon put right by a transfer to a lakeside room with absolutley stunning views ,from booking in at reception to the good value lunches ,which turned out to be cheaper than the local pub :O the ala carte evening meals were glorious and art on a plate, which we really enjoyed, it is a beautiful hotel and was undergoing refurbishment in some rooms while we were there but didn,t affect our stay in any way we got a great deal and will surley go back again .

Room Tip: As we did get to stay on both sides in our opinion all the views were stunning both the fell view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveandliz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel is in a most wonderful setting right on lake Ullswater. The view of the lake from the dining room is breathtaking. I cannot praise the staff enough, from the front desk through to the restaurant they were all very helpful. My two day break in February was a fantastic deal and an upgrade to the 'A la carte' menu added to the special feel of staying in an amazing spot. Thank you to all staff for making my stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysonthemoveEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Took my children to a wedding here on the 1st Feb. What a great hotel, very welcoming staff and a lovely lovely place. Suite with lake view was perfect and we will be back soon!! Clearly this place is run with great pride and it shows in everything they do.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Superwolf70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
13.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing