We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhh! And Relax”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ahhhh! And Relax”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Took my children to a wedding here on the 1st Feb. What a great hotel, very welcoming staff and a lovely lovely place. Suite with lake view was perfect and we will be back soon!! Clearly this place is run with great pride and it shows in everything they do.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Superwolf70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    332
    130
    49
    25
See reviews for
309
966
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at this beautiful hotel. The staff are a real asset to the hotel, all friendly, helpful and chatty. A welcome change compared to some hotels. The food was amazing, the setting even on a wet day was gorgeous, the orangery is beautiful. Cannot find one fault. We will be back. To anyone thinking of going, book a lake view room if you can x

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ggdcumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

On the two occasions I have been invited for Afternoon Tea at this beautiful hotel I have come away hugely disappointed by the service. Following my most recent visit I gave the hotel opportunity to explain why our party had to speak to their staff several times to get served, tables cleared and drinks brought to our table. The reply I have just received is unsatisfactory; 'On this particular Sunday,out of season, it appeared everybody wanted to visit the hotel'. At no time did we feel that staff were apologetic or even cared about their customers, or indeed, that there had been an unexpected influx of visitors! Tea fine but inappropriately presented. Don't choose a busy Sunday, as despite its stunning location, this cannot make up for lack of staff and poor service!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. You wrote to me, I replied and obviously you weren't satisfied with my response thus posting your negative review on trip ad visor. I said to you in my response that we were very busy on that particular day and although that wasn't an excuse it was a reason for the delay. Everything is made fresh to order so a wait on busy days is inevitable. You were all offered drinks and accepted as a way of an apology but again obviously this wasn't enough. I have to say the other 60 people we served afternoon tea on that particular day left very positive feedback on there forms and very generous gratuities.But again let me apologise if you feel we fell short of your expectations.

Kind regards

Gary Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We are usually regulars at Lodore Falls, but after hearing some fantastic reviews of this sister hotel we decided to give it a try......and are we glad we did.
I was initially a little worried as our 12 week old son was with us, we would be allocated a room in the quietest depths of the hotel for fear that our baby would upset other guests. I couldn't have been more wrong. We were greeted with the most luxurious room overlooking the lake and snow capped mountains, with ample space for the travel cot and all the other paraphernalia that accompanies a young baby.
I had emailed ahead to ask about dining options (we were on dbb) as knowing the standard of the restaurant at Lodore I didn't want to impose my chorus of baa baa black sheep on any of the other guests should my son require some dinner time entertainment. They promptly emailed back with the option to eat in the orangery, should we wish. We enjoyed two lovely meals in the orangery which is absolutely stunning, and felt extremely comfortable and not an imposition to anyone. It was lovely to see other couples dining with their dogs too. Just because people have babies or pets that they enjoy spending time with doesn't means we should have to compromise on quality. The Inn on the Lake makes this possible.
My son was adored by all the staff who were as expected, extremely friendly and helpful.
This chain of hotels in my opinion has got it spot on, and I can see why as we do many guests return again and again for an unforgettable break in an unforgettable location.
Many thanks to all the staff who made out first family holiday truly wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 19 has stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Inn on the Lake on the 31st January 2014 after selecting a winter package deal, which included dinner, bed and breakfast, winter Pimms and crumpets.
The hotel is beautiful, with magnificent views of Lake Ullswater. Although we had booked a standard room, we were delighted to have been given a complimentary upgrade to a lake view room with fabulous views over the manicured gardens, lake and fells.
The weather was dreadful, but our room was lovely and warm, decorated beautifully and very, very comfortable.
I have to commend all the staff we encountered at the Inn on the Lake. Their attentive service was appreciated and we were made to feel special, relaxed and valued.
We highly recommend this hotel and would return in a heartbeat. Thank you to everyone who made our short stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmies_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at Inn On The Lake between the19th and 21st January 2014 after selecting a winter deal package which included dinner, bed and breakfast and winter Pimms.

The hotel is in fantastic condition and in a lovely location with superb views over Ullswater. The food was superb however we were disappointed that the Ramblers bar was not open each day.

Staff were friendly and helpful and it was great that we could take the dog too. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and well decorated with all we needed for our stay. The Orangery was lovely and so relaxing sat next to the fire.

We would not hesitate to re-visit and would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having married at the inn on the lake in 2010 both myself and my husband were lucky enough to spend christmas 2013 at this stunning hotel on their xmas package. From the moment we arrived until the time came for us to head back home the level of service we received from every member of staff was excellent. Food was plentiful and delicious with a very extensive menu choice every evening alongside a varied wine list. We thought the mulled wine and marshmallows served in the beautifully lit gazebo on both xmas eve and Xmas day was a lovely touch and we thoroughly enjoyed the casino evening on Boxing Day. Lunch in the orangery is defiantly not to be missed either
A big thank you to Gary and the team for a wonderful christmas and we hope to stay with you again very soon

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
402 reviews
14.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing