We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,913)
Filter reviews
1,909 results
Traveler rating
1,298
380
152
52
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,298
380
152
52
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ramblers bar fell view room wedding guests stunning location afternoon tea scones wedding breakfast wedding venue christmas decorations the general manager steamers feature room every member of staff fantastic hotel main restaurant standard room high standard
Filter
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 1,909 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights this week on a Travelzoo deal which included 3 course dinner. We paid extra for a lake view room. We're glad we did because the view to the lake and gardens was wonderful. The setting for the hotel is what makes this hotel however we felt the overall location, though peaceful, was a bit isolated from the other lakes. The staff were all so polite and nothing was too much trouble. Our criticism is about the food served in the restaurant. On our first evening we both ordered lamb for our main course and mine was so undercooked that blood was pouring from it and my husband's was very pink. I tried to eat some of it but couldn't so we returned it to be cooked further. This was dealt with very well by replacing both meals and new vegetables. On the second evening my husband's steak, although he asked for medium, came back as rare. We appreciate that chefs believe meat should be "cooked" like this but they she respect the guests requests. For these reasons we would not return to this hotel which is a shame because we did love the view, room and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Pauline

Thank you for your review and I’m so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the service you received. Glenridding is a small village in Ullswater but is set in the most beautiful Lakeland scenery, people tend to love the tranquillity but I certainly understand if it was a little quite for you. .
I'm sorry our food in the restaurant wasn't to your liking, we serve all our prime cuts of lamb and beef pink as is stated on the menu unless the guest orders it otherwise but was very pleased to hear that the waiter took both plates away and replaced them with freshly prepared well done meals. Everyone has different tastes and we are only too happy to oblige if guests want something different.
Once again Pauline thank you for taking time to place your comments and we wish you well in the future.
Kind regards
G Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a large group to celebrate a ruby wedding. The service was excellent. The rooms were lovely with very comfortable beds. The cleanliness is of a very high standard. Views of the lake were wonderful. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorkin2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked this hotel and payed for in January , for our visit in July . When we arrived with our friends we had travelled overnight and drove from London that day . We arrived at the inn at 6 pm to be told that we had the last 2 rooms , and the receptionist was very cool towards us . When we got to our rooms they were very small and the window was blocked you couldn't see out . The description of the rooms did not match what we got , when we complained we were told the hotel was fully booked and maybe we could be moved tomorrow . The rooms we were moved the next day but really not much better . When booking this hotel make sure you read the description well . When we went down to eat we were told that they were full and couldn't find us a spot to eat even though we where staying there , adventually found us a table . We stayed in this hotel 5 nights the breakfast and some service was good but certainly not a good start to a 3 week hoilday in Britain . The location of hotel was wonderful but the hotel is more interested in weddings than individual visitors . The hotel was expensive and I felt we didn't get value for the money we spent !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Moira B
Thank you for posting your review.
If you don’t mind I would like to try and balance out your points which are slightly missed cons crewed. You as you say arrived and told us about the journey and asked if the hotel was busy to which the receptionist replied that you were the last two rooms to check in and not as you imply (you got the last 2 rooms). You booked the standard rooms of which we have 4 and they are described as no view, hence they are the least expensive in the house. You did complain and the receptionist very kindly gave you a free upgrade.
You were asked about dinner reservation on check in but you wanted to get to your room. When you approached the dining room without having made a booking unfortunately at that particular time of the evening the restaurant was busy , we have to pace the service to ensure quality which I'm sure you understand, this is the case in any restaurant anywhere. You were taken to lounge bar given menus and seated 15 minutes later.
Your comment about the weddings couldn't be more untrue and is quite unfair. We are experiencing a very hot summer and like everywhere in the Lakes have been so busy but the comment cards we read every day have been so positive and complementary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel has a great position overlooking the lake and our initial impression was great. The girl on reception was very friendly. We booked a fell view room and although quite small , it was very tastefully decorated with a double window aspect. The menu was reasonably priced although all the fillets of beef on our table were overcooked. We asked for more bread which we received and then we were offered some more which we agreed to as we were hungry and then a waiter appeared and said he was sorry but it had gone!!! And promptly left! The main problem is that the staff were very young and inexperienced. There were also not enough staff on duty. This meant we had to queue at a non staffed bar to wait for the bartender to show up! We didn't sleep very well because of the adjoining pub. It was noisy till 2am and then we could still here voices and dogs barking!! Breakfast was not good. There were 6 of us in our party and initially we were told we would have to be seated separately on 3 tables for 2 dotted about the dining room. As we entered we all walked upon a table for 6 which the waiter then decided we could have .It was set for 5 so we needed another place setting which took for ever to arrive. It was very busy to give them their due, however more staff should have been employed. Waiting for toast and more butter took ages. There were no bowls on the self service buffet and we had to ask and wait again. The cooked breakfast took ages to arrive. Food was good but the timings and service let it down. We decided to go and sit in the lovely orangerie and read the papers but we weren't allowed as there was a wedding expected. I think it is the place to stay in the quiet season when service levels would be better and the pub next door quieter. I didn't formally complain as we had booked on a special offer although we heard other one other person complaining. There is absolutely no way I would pay their normal tariff. I would probably return on another special offer sometime out of season.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My new wife and I stumbled across this hotel 6 weeks ago, when we were looking for a one night break in the lakes. We then saw that they did weddings, so decided to go and take a look. The pictures looked nice, but we were not prepared for the stunning location, views, hotel, friendly staff and welcoming manager, which we found when we got there. We've stayed in a number of hotels in the Lakes and most are very nice, but there's always something that looked a bit tired or needs refurbishing. NOT in the Inn on the Lake. Superb, Superb, Superb !!! And as I've read on here before, the gardens are the gardens God would have, so beautiful ... After a chat with Gary (the hotel manager) we booked our wedding (at 5 weeks notice!). The hotel helped, advised, offered ideas, they were just brilliant. On our wedding weekend, we were welcomed by reception, made to feel that our wedding was the most important thing for the staff, which made us feel very special. In particular, Paul, in the restaurant, was amazing. he chatted, joked, welcomed, looked after us all, young and old, he is a real character. He should get a raise!! And made our stay that much more in so many ways. In fact the service was fantastic in the bar, the restaurant, reception, the manager, Tim the wedding organiser.
Take the opportunity to use the Golf course (more than a pitch and putt), the kayaks on the lake, the steamer round the lake, lots of walks to do.
To end this review I would just like to offer our heart felt thanks to Gary, Paul, Tim and the whole Team for making our wedding on 15th July 2013, absolutely memorable, emotional, comical, VERY SPECIAL! THANK YOU ... :-)) We can't wait to come back and stay again, we loved it ...

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the the 4 Poster Rooms, as we were getting married, but also had family in other lake view rooms, which were fantastic and even one of our party stayed in a single room, which was perfectly adequate. For me the views from the Lake view rooms were simply STUNNING!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews