We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,893)
Filter reviews
1,893 results
Traveler rating
1,287
377
150
52
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,287
377
150
52
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramblers barfell view roomwedding guestsstunning locationafternoon teasconeswedding breakfastwedding venuechristmas decorationsthe general managersteamersfeature roomevery member of stafffantastic hotelmain restaurantstandard roomhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
1,367 - 1,372 of 1,893 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Located centrally for the Lake District, on the shores of Ullswater and at the foot of Hellvellyn it could not have been better for my first visit. The style of the hotel is slightly dated with an interesting mix of pictures and photographs on the walls. However don't let this fool you, the service is attentive and could not be more helpful; the menu and wine list are extensive and the quality of food, its presentation and table service are matchless. What says it all is the recent addition of a modern Orangery; the peace of the existing sitting rooms is amplified here with a pot of tea. Excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake with a bay window or balcony have a stunning view and are large and airy.. look out for 3 for 2 deals.on dinner, bed and breakfast.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We love this place, its our favourite hotel in the Lake District. This was our 5th stay and it was a good as ever.

Our previous stay was just 2 days before Christmas 2012 and the decorations were magical, you would have expected the staff to be stressed but they were as accommodating as ever.

We upgraded to a Lake view room this time as the trip was to celebrate my Mothers 88th birthday, it was well worth the extra and she was made to feel very special.

The food as always was delightful and the service first class, nothing is too much trouble. Thank you so much we will most defiantly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillyWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights (Monday and Tuesday) for a short break after our wedding. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The communal areas were modern, spacious and spotless, really couldn't fault them.

Our room was a little on the small side, we upgraded to a fell view room, which did have a nice view, but it was a little on the small side for what we paid (I looked on the floor plan and it did look like the smallest room though). The room was very warm, but a fan was provided which made it bearable. Unfortunately the towel radiator couldn't be switched off either which was annoying. The room however was comfortable, had everything we needed and would be comfortable 99.9% of the time.

The food was very good, we both really enjoyed our evening meals and breakfast. Some of the staff could do with a lesson on topping up pints when the top 1/3 is head mind, but that's easily sorted.

I'm not sure I would pay the full advertised price for the hotel, but if you can get a deal then its worth it.

We had a good, relaxing break and if we were in the area again, would certainly look at staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Travelled over to England on a short break last week. Arranged in a hurry so hoping to get accommodation on arrival. Arrived at Inn on the Lake really just for lunch in the adjoining Rambler's Inn. (This was excellent). After lunch we wandered around the grounds and fell in love with the general ambience and the views. The receptionist quoted the walk in rate and was able to sort out some extra beds so that my family group of six were accommodated in two rooms. (Lots of hotels would go for the three options to squeeze a bit more money out of you!). We stayed in Rooms 16 and 19. The views sold the rooms themselves.One problem with the lovely views from the rooms was that in the morning , which was beautifully sunny the rooms became a little warm . They were well finished and of 5 Star standard. Tina, on reception was more than helpful and was able to suggest walks in the area. Night manager (From South Africa) was happy to serve a few drinks after hours and in no way made you feel rushed. A very pleasant approach all round. The breakfast in the morning was good. Nice selection although the pancakes my wife had were a little chewy and one would think they came from a packet and heated in microwave.Sorry we were only staying for one night. One small, but important to some , problem was the poor Wi Fi service. It was difficult to get logged on and signal strength was poor and kept dropping out. If you need to do some internet checking etc maybe do it before you arrive or in the public areas downstairs were it appeared to work better but was still inconsistent.

Room Tip: We got the "walk in " rate and all rooms are the same price. I would definitely suggest a lake view room. I liked the view so much i left the curtains open so i could enjoy it from wakening!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisburnGael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a meal in the Orangery with some of my family, what a great place it was. We sat outside having a drink before we ate, where the views are stunning over the lake, you could be anywhere in the world, the sun was shining it was so relaxing. There was a wedding at the hotel as well but because the Orangery is no where near this you don't even know it is on.
The food was great, really good portions, tasty and well presented.

The staff were very helpful and attentive, I have dietary requirements and this was not a problem.

Certainly recommend everyone to go.

The Orangery has a wow factor when you walk in with the imposing light fitting and fire place.
Spacious seating all around.

Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Noddy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews