We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rest and relaxation”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rest and relaxation”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

just returned from a 2 night break and it should have been 2 weeks. Wonderful 4 poster room with amazing views . Refurb did not bother us as was being done very discreetly and to a very high standard. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    330
    130
    49
    25
See reviews for
306
961
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from a short 3 day break and once again it was amazing. We have been staying at the Inn On The Lake since our son and daughter in law were married there 9 years ago (how special) The Hotel is nestled in amongst the most beautiful scenery with panoramic views.The Manager Gary and his team are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.The Hotel is immaculate and the food amazing. If you want a break away where you can chill out then this is for you

Room Tip: I recommend a Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Again another lovely stay at this hotel. We've always stayed in a lake view room, after all it's all about the location. As said by others, staff, food and our room superb. We've seen some changes over the years and at this moment in time the tranquility is somewhat broken with the refurb that's going on. The Orangery build can be a little noisy but our double aspect room did overlook this so probably only a concern for a few rooms. The clutter of building equipment in the loby and especially outside the lift on our floor was a concern but not a deal breaker. We had no hot water on one night and two of our windows did rackle with the wind but just teething problems i'm sure. Even though it could of been better we look forward to returning. Room 49 was magic, massive, bathroom great, double aspect views so kirkstone pass was in sight, four poster that you needed steps to get onto and the table/chairs at the lake view bay spot on, we did a few bottles of red whilst we enjoyed the mountain/lake views from here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wonderful hotel, lovely rooms, fabulous location, food excellent but best thing about this hotel is the staff who are so friendly, courteous & professional. Have stayed in lots of hotels in the lakes & this is one of the best - have no worries about booking here you will be delighted.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have spent a second year celebrating our wedding anniversary at the Inn On the Lake
Hotel and i cannot express the pure satisfaction. We are always soo well looked after, all the staff are so helpful and above all else friendly. It has all be refurbished with exquisite taste.
We will be up their again within 6 months as we cannot stay away. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: lakes views are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairebaitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in March. The hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the lake at the head of Ullswater (one of Wainwright's favourite places). To take afternoon tea in one of the comfortable lounges and enjoy the view across the lake to the snow capped Place Fell is a truly life affirming experience.
The food was high quality too. The Table d'Hote menu was extensive and very reasonable (£32 for 3 courses).We enjoyed particularly scallops and the trio of lamb. The wine list was also reasonably extensive and fairly priced (e.g. Beaujolais Villages for £24).
The staff were helpful and friendly all contributing to a memorable experience in this beautiful corner of England. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelunsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just back from a couple of days stay at this hotel. Most of the hotel has been refurbished and is still being refurbished. The hotel is comfortable and relaxing,
The hotel staff were good and especially James, the barman,who kept us entertained.
The meals were excellent. We didn't manage to get in the pub next door as this was closed (I think also for refurbishment). However, we did have comfortable seats in the bay window overlooking the lake.
The room had a very comfortable bed and lovely pillows, everything was in the room that was required. Lovely bathroom with great shower.
The hotel is used by walkers and people celebrating or just wanting a relaxing weekend, exceptional service.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would hope to get back to this hotel at some time in the future.

Room Tip: If you can manage it upgrade to a lake view, although the fell view rooms are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolAnneCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,077 reviews
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
14.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing