We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing!”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

You will not be disappointed! The hotel has a wonderful location on the lake with fantastic views.
The atmopshere is friendly and relaxing but very professional too.
We booked a standard room with no view but it was spacious and comfortable - the pillow and duvet were fabulous!
The staff were all welcoming and happy to serve- always with a smile.
The food in the restaurant was delicious - coffee served in the lounge was most pleasant.
Enjoyed a relax in the jacuzzi and sauna after a long walk.
Couldn't fault it - good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 20 had no view but was spacious and comforable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    333
    130
    49
    25
See reviews for
309
968
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Egremont, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

outstanding views and staff could not do enough to help,exstensive building work going on at the moment this did not cause us any problems though,we had room 33 which is about due a make over but still livable, the food is excellent but be wary to make the right choice (i did not) would recommend to any one.

Room Tip: try to book a lake view ,this would be difficult at the moment as they are being modernised
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had booked an standard single room, on arrival I asked if I could up grade to a bigger room with the lake view. The pleasant lady at the reception check and informed me that there was no empty rooms on the first night but she can up grade the room for the second night. I was very happy with that and I asked for the upgrade price and I was told its free up grade which made the stay even more pleasant. The rooms were very clean and quiet. the bath and shower were clean but the water pressure was not that good. First night I stayed in and eat in the restaurant, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. The next day move to the room with the view was very smooth and I had a very enjoyable stay there. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms with the Lake view are worth every penny. Early morning cup of tea in the balcony looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed a lovely stay at this hotel. Our room was one of the recently refurbished ones and was decorated very tastefully with a stylish and modern ensuite bathroom. Room 45 had beautiful views over the lake and a decent sized balcony which would be a wonderful bonus in the warmer months. There is work going on both outside the hotel and in some of the bedrooms but this did not interfere with our enjoyment.
The food in the dining room was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection and every member of the hotel staff friendly and helpful. The view from the dining room is stunning. The pub within the grounds had a warm atmosphere and the food there was very tasty too with large portions. The prawn sandwiches deserve a special mention!
One small niggle was that there was not enough drawer space in the room for our four night stay but that would certainly not stop us from recommending this hotel and from returning again ourselves. A trip to remember.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room as the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyprusColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Brilliant.We went with friends for a 2 night stay on a special offer which was fantastic value for money. The hotel has been refurbished to the highest standard and looks very comfortable and plush throughout. The location is perfect, parking ample, rooms a decent size and clean. The staff are absolutely delightful and very friendly. Food was delicious and service very good. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: Lake View Rooms are obviously the best, but a fell view room which was what we had was lovely (and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda2236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience, in every way! The staff were very professional, but also warm and welcoming. It really was service with a smile. We asked to change rooms as the one we were given initially was a bit small, but had a balcony. This would have been great in the summer, but not so desirable in the winter. We were moved a lovely spacious room, with spectacular views of the gardens, Ullswater and the mountains beyond.

The meals were delicious, with plenty of choice. I was pleased to see that the menu, which was varied, changed daily.

The hotel is in a wonderful location, with lots of inspiring, stimulating and challenging walks.

I can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: We had room 17, and that was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Beautiful location, made even more enjoyable by lovely weather for February.
Staff very welcoming and polite and not too busy to chat and assist with any queries/questions.
Everything about this hotel was fabulous - rooms, food, service etc. No pool, but apparently one is on the way! Have stayed in many Lakes hotels over the last few years, and this has to be one of the best. Not the cheapest, but the quality justifies the higher than average prices & it is a 4 star. There are offers available which is what we used, and we would not hesitate to return. We loved it!
(We didn't use the leisure facilities so have not commented on them)

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,103 reviews
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
402 reviews
14.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing