We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Anniversary Stay”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Upon arriving, the staff were helpful happy efficient ( and mainly S.African )The hotel looks grand and its position is unrivaled. Our room a 4 poster was huge, bay windows overlooking Ullswater and the manicured lawns, which were about to be covered with snow.
The Room was comfortable and had a 3 piece suit in the bay area, the bathroom had a corner bath but did feel somewhat cramped for space considering the size of the bedroom.
The staff made up for any minor criticism about the decor being slightly in need finishing off at times, but it does have a lovely old English feel to it all.
There is a gym and sauna with a hot tub but no steam room as advertised and a pool would be welcome in a 4 star hotel, There is a pool in the best western 100m away.
As this was booked as part of a T Zoo deal it was worth the £350 we paid for DBB over 2 nights but I would struggle to justify double this price on standard rates.
You can be assured that all your requirements will be catered for by the staff here and We can say that should we see a similar deal we will be back, perhaps for our second anniversary.

Room Tip: All rooms have views, either fells or lake, down to personal preference. No noises around the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joncar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    332
    130
    49
    25
See reviews for
309
967
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in January on a 2 night Travelzoo deal but paid a little extra to upgrade to a lake view room with a 4 poster bed. What a fabulous hotel, very quiet for the time of year and the snow didn't help, nevertheless the staff treated us like royalty. Fab location, fab food, fab service, couldn't fault anything. Will definitly be returning . Some lovely walks straight from the hotel, no need to use the car once there .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

One night stay fortunately just before the snow started! Friendly welcoming and courteous staff.
Helpful Bar and restaurant service.Evening meal was excellent though the vegetarian choice was poor. Breakfast was good.overall we had an enjoyable comfotable stay looked after by courteous staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepam100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from a three day break at this lovely hotel. The staff are wonderful and very attentive. The food magnificent. We were upgraded to a four poster bedroom, thank you for that. The room was delightful with fantastic views over Ullswater, although my only criticism is that the decor in this particular room was a little drab and could probably do with a little upgrading. The hotel and our room was spotless. There did seem to be a little confusion with the staff about which menu we were meant to be choosing our dinner from, as we were told different thing on the three nights we were there, although this didn't detract from the love cuisine. All in all a fantastic break in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardeningstitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night DBB stay and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The views from our Lake View Superior room were spectacular and exceeded our expectations. The room had been refurbished and was typical of the photos shown on the website. Tea and scones on arrival were a nice touch. We found the staff to be very pleasant indeed and would say that the service is the best we have ever received in a hotel stay. Dinner and breakfast were excellent, with plenty of choice. The dining room, bar and lounge were very smart but welcoming, also with great views. I think they host a lot of weddings so worth checking beforehand if this would influence when you prefer to stay.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for a lake view. Also suggest requesting a refurbished room not adjacent to the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful four night stay at the Inn on the Lake. Having stayed at this hotel a few times previously and being used the the high level of service, the staff are still able to exceed our expectations. They are all very friendly, courteous and helpful, from reception to house keeping, nothing is too much trouble. House keeping even left the things to replenish our room, water, coffee etc, outside our door when we were unable to make it out of the room on one of the mornings....too much partying the night before!! When we arrived quite late on Friday due to the adverse weather, reception offered to have a sandwich made for us as we were too late for dinner...little touches that all add up to a fantastic hotel experience. Can i just say to Gary, the General Manager, keep doing what you are doing, you have a marvelous team, who enjoy their jobs and respect you, and it shines through in their work. Looking forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a fell view room, which was super, but pay to upgrade to a lake view room for an extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hi All
We booked in for New years day lunch,what a great place and fantastic food.
We started with full English and morning tea,then after afew hours we started on full lunch, I had the beef roast very nicely cooked and massive Yorkshire puddings with gravy.
We then had a nice walk around the grounds and like side,great views.
Then back in for puddings I had a really nice rice pudding,then we moved to the lounge for teas and coffee's.
We stayed that night at Greenbank farm B&B in Patterdale its a working farm so lots going on and nice place to stay great breakfast and great rooms, lovely views over valley.
If you fancy a boat trip check out Ullswaters steamers great old steam boats,we have done a round trip afew times

Room Tip: All nice,we stayed at Greenbank Farm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
402 reviews
14.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing