We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel! Can't wait to go back.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Lake

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel! Can't wait to go back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here just after New Year for 1 night.
We have a Labrador and wanted to do some walking but have a nice hotel to go back to afterwards to relax in after a day on the fells.
The hotel is a little pricey but you certainly get what you pay for. We had a dog friendly Fell View room, absolutely spotless, no trace of previous doggies at all, fantastic.
Room was on the small side, I would upgrade to a superior if staying more than the one night, the bathroom however was massive.
The pub attached to the hotel is dog friendly and served great food (again, spotless for all you non-dog lovers).
The best bit for me was the relaxing lounge that we went in for the evening, it all looks brand new and had a roaring fire going, so cosy and beautiful after a freezing day out walking.
Well behaved dogs are allowed in the lounge too, so it was great to take our Lab in there and relax without having to put her in the car.
The staff were fantastic, printed off some walks for us that went straight from the hotel (everything from 2 miles up to 15 miles) and when in the lounge later on, a fantastic barman brought us our drinks and made a fuss of our dog and then came back with some doggy treats for her.
We stay in a lot of luxury hotels, (mainly without our dog as they are not ususally allowed!) and I can assure you that this hotel will not dissapoint.
We also have a lot of non-dog lovers in our family and I know that they would have loved it here too as it was spotless and no traces of hairy doggies to be found, perfect!!

Room Tip: Upgrade for a little more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    315
    120
    49
    22
See reviews for
285
913
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

A truly magnificent 4 night New Year break was had by my mum and I at this beautiful hotel this year, returning yet again after spending the last 7 consecutive years here for our New Year.

The Inn on the Lake has always been so comfortable, clean, warm and friendly with a wonderful homely atmosphere where the Manager's motto is ' Nothing is too much trouble'. I can honestly vouch for this too. In all of the 8 years of returning, Gary the Manager and his staff have done their utmost to ensure we have been well looked after in every aspect from the moment of arrival all the way through to departure and any minor concern we might have had was immediately rectified, although I must add this has never been anything serious. Even the night porter has happily helped when needed in the small hours of the morning.

The chefs and restaurant staff have always gone out of their way to ensure we are happy with the meals we are served, more than willing to cook something different if need be, although the menus are fantastic offering a wide range of delicious food with very tasty vegetarian choices and a good selection of vegetables with every meal. Excellent wine list too. I do have to say the standard of the food has definitely improved from previous years, although there was never any problem with it before... Clear to see why they have now been awarded 2 Rosettes. One evening they even literally moved tables across the room so we could sit by the window resulting in much laughter and clapping! Just an example of their friendliness and their 'aim to please' approach, whilst still keeping a very professional manner, and not 'stuffy' like some other hotels I've stayed in. The brunch on New Year's Day was as excellent as ever offering more than you could ever eat - from a variety of juices, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, porridge, muffins, cakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, hash brown, tomatoes etc,.. to salmon, beef and vegetables... and more. You could just go and help yourself to whatever you wanted. In addition to this, food could be made to order such as omelettes, kippers, veggie sausages. How another reviewer noted that this was all a disappointment, I really don't know. It is true that the food was relocated to a different area this year, but does that really matter? The standard of it all was excellent with a superb ice sculpture on show and none of it could be faulted in any way.

With the recent refurbishment, the décor and furnishings are fresh and clean throughout and with a lovely homely feel to it. In fact I do now think of it as my second home! What a transformation from how it used to be, but even then it was lovely. The en-suite bedrooms are luxurious with good heating and the beds are so comfortable with clean and fresh bedding, which of course you would expect, but I've found not always to be the case in other hotels. The bathroom is modern with good lighting, is exceptionally clean and has a shaver point. Again, the housekeepers do a magnificent job, topping up complimentary supplies every day from the refreshments' tray to toiletries and of course fresh towels if required. They too are very friendly, ready with a smile and a chat. Room also included hair dryer, bathrobe, trouser press, iron and ironing board, TV and remote... all the extras you would expect from a very respectable and modern hotel. A lovely box of Belgian chocolates, other sweets and champagne were also presented beautifully in the room.

The lounge area has a lovely welcoming fire, plenty of seating and a variety of reading material and board games - for those rainy days and for those who are so inclined... myself included. Off this is a lovely conservatory with extra seating. The bar also has a good sized seating area and serves a wide range of gorgeous non-alcoholic and alcoholic cocktails as well as the usual drinks of course. There is a lounge menu offering a good range of teas, coffees, snacks and sandwiches throughout the day and more to the point - always a friendly member of staff available behind the bar to serve - a real gripe for me in other places I've stayed where I've often had to wait up to 5 or even 10 minutes to even be noticed. All these areas have a magnificent outlook over the very pretty gardens, patio, lake and mountains. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel is a plus too as well as a large (free!) easily accessible car park situated literally next to the hotel, so it's so easy to park right outside the main doors to drop off luggage etc. and with no awkward steps to negotiate round. The hotel was adorned inside and out with festive decorations and lights adding to the atmosphere.

The New Year break itself was so relaxing with teas, coffees, cakes and scones, soup and sandwiches served in the afternoons in the lounge area. Unfortunately the steamer trip had to be cancelled, but indoor entertainment was laid on with the mulled wine and mince pies still being served as they would have been on the steamer. The toasted marshmallows by the lake also had to be cancelled, but all these changes were totally out of management's control with the poor weather conditions and a very flooded lake! This seems to come across as a negative by the other reviewer, but surely sense and logic have to come into play. Whilst on the subject of the other review, during the course of the 8 years we have visited, the magician and caricaturist have been to our table just twice. With so many guests it is impossible to get round to see everyone, but this or the other last minute change of plans certainly didn't detract from our enjoyment of the break. The New Year's Eve disco was brilliant. A good range of music, mostly upbeat to dance to as you would expect of a New Year's Eve 'do', but also some slow music as well as some real classics. The piper played as he walked through the restaurant, entertaining the diners and everyone loved it. The tables were aptly adorned with balloons, crackers and streamers to get all in the holiday mood, with the staff having a laugh and a joke through it all. The organised walk on New Year's Day went ahead as planned and is always very enjoyable - not only do you get fantastic views of the area, but it's also an opportunity to mix with other guests and just chat as you go along. Snacks and drinks welcome you on the return part of the walk which is always very welcoming! There was a quiz for all guests after dinner and during the course of the stay, there are fun competitions for children and adults alike.

It would be interesting to hear what the other reviewer would suggest to rectify these disappointments of theirs. We certainly didn't go to the Lake District to see a magician or have our picture drawn; we went to be pampered, eat some good food, have some friendly company and just be able to relax and to soak up the atmosphere of the Lakes, fresh air and tranquillity the Inn on the Lake and its surroundings provide. And this we certainly did!

To Gary and all the staff at the Inn on the Lake - thank you so much for everything. Another brilliant New Year break was had by all.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms have balconies... lovely in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveholidaysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have just came back from our second stay at this wonderfull hotel.we stayed the same time last year on a two night superior room deal with evening meals and breakfast included and felt for a 1st time review we had to share our joy and tell others how great this hotel and staff are.
The food is plentifull with a superb choice and the breakfast also .all rooms are very nice although we have only stayed in the bigger superior lake view rooms which are well worth the extra cost especially if you require a bigger bed ( i am 6ft 2" ) .
The staff are by far the best and friendliest we have come across and we have stayed in quite a few hotels throughout the country a massive thankyou to the reception staff michelle ( great room ) and to paul.james.darren and the princess haha and everyone whos name we couldnt remember you are a real asset the the company look fward to our next stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thestavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent New Year at Inn on the Lake in 2009 and as we have had a pretty traumatic year (two close family members diagnosed with cancer) we decided to pamper ourselves by returning to this fine hotel.

The hotel appears to have had a complete refurbishment with new decor, carpets, furnishings, and even new beds. On arrival,we were met at the door by a porter offering to carry our luggage and the reception staff were efficient and polite.

Our room overlooked the car park but had a side view of the lake and some wonderful snow capped fells. There was chocolates and champagne in the room plus a personalised booklet detailing the programme for the three day New Year celebrations. Bottles of water were also provided as were a full range of toiletries.

Key members of staff were introduced by the Manager, Garry, while we sat and drank the cocktail and canapes provided at a welcome meeting. During the three days there were numerous occasions when christmas fare was available in the lounge - christmas cake, mince pies, hot drinks and even soup and sandwiches.

The menus were varied and offered a great choice of meat and vegetarian meals. The food was well presented. There was plenty of vegetables and a good selection of wines.

The four hour brunch on New Years Day was a disappointment - in 2009 the brunch was laid out in the large dining room and you could wander around the many tables savouring the look and smell of the food. This year the food was squashed into a much smaller space and therefore did not have the same impact on the senses.

The entertainment programme noted that a magician and a caricaturist would be in attendance at evening meals. We saw them but we had no contact with them! Very disappointed. The walk to the lake on the first night was all but abandoned because of the weather and the planned cruise on the lake on New Years Eve was cancelled. Not sure that playing bingo was a good replacement activity!!

We had our photographs taken on the way to the restaurant on New Years Eve and we are still waiting for these to arrive by email.

The disco played a range of music but the DJ seemed to know one of the groups sitting close to him and most of his remarks and banter were aimed at this group. A piper in full regalia played the bagpipes as the night apporached midnight (well 10pm anyway).

New Years Day was a quiet affair with many guests going on the organised walk, while others sat in the lounge. There was a singer in the lounge at night but he finished by half nine as there was a quiz compered by Jonathon, a senior member of staff.

Despite the misgivings listed above, we really enjoyed our few days break at the Inn on the Lake It was just what we needed to get ourselves ready for 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 258Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
‘New Year 2012’

Thank you for your review and the high four star rating you gave for your New Year period for 2012, we are so pleased you enjoyed your break.. We pride ourselves on offering a full inclusive package over Christmas and New Year period and testament to this is the repeat business, we already have 31 rooms booked for next year festivities.

As regards to the jazz brunch it was much larger this year as we included a full hog roast aswell as all the items from previous years and it took up half the Glenridding room compared to the bay in the restaurant where it was positioned in the past.The steamer was cancelled last minute due to public saftey and we had various activities and games as well has giving every one tea coffee soup and sandwhiches.

It is a shame that you never spoke to myself or a member of my team with regards to the minor misgivings listed in your review, we would have done our up most to ensure you had no disappointment in your stay with us.

Wishing you all the very best for 2013 and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently stayed at inn on the lake for a family wedding. We are a family with two children aged 13 and 9, and therefore we booked a family room, however the room could only be described as a large double room with two folding beds squeezed in for the children. We had to shift furniture around to gain access to the wardrobe or the drawers. When your paying the rate they ask per night I expect to get a room appropriate for us all. My suggestion for any family travelling with children is to ask for two rooms or book elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
No family rooms’

Further to your review, we have a number of rooms that we allocate to families all different size but we always stress that your child would be on z-bed, hence why we only charge £15.00 per child, per night to include full Cumbrian breakfast.

I hope you enjoyed your family wedding and wish you well for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Great stay at the Inn on Lake. The team ensured we were all looked after, the food was fantastic and private dining room really added to our stay. Great break for 15 of us between Christmas and New Year, Thank You.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding at the Inn on the Lake between Christmas and New Year. Everything was brilliantly organised, the hotel dealt with the whole event smoothly, accommodated our special requests and our guests all had the most fantastic time. The food was good, the service friendly and both Gary the manager and Jonathan who coordinated the wedding arrangements were really first class. The Inn has just gained four star status and for the setting, service and public facilities this is richly deserved. One or two of the guest rooms are maybe a little tired and the bathrooms couldn't be described quite as 'luxury', but this is a small niggle only; if you want a Lake District wedding in the most beautiful setting and with great service guaranteed then you couldn't ask for more. We will be back for a romantic visit soon. Thank you all.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerTVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
13.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing