We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary!”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I loved the Inn on the Lake Hotel, Ullswater in Glenridding. Set to a backdrop of breathtaking mountains and a glorious lake, I felt utterly at peace. Though the hotel is usually above the standard we could normally afford, I would love to be able to come back here. The staff are friendly (sometimes irritatingly so in respects of a certain waiter) but the rooms are light and comfortable. We had fell-side room, the bed was one of the comfiest I have experienced and windows on two different walls to get a lot of sunlight - I felt spoilt. Would definitely go back here, please, someone pay for me to go back.??

Room Tip: Fell side room facing the car park very comfortable and mostly quiet - Lake view rooms looked massiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,332 - 1,338 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in Glenridding last year and fell in love with it. The Inn on the Lake was the hotel next door to our holiday cottage. We visited briefly for drinks and found a lovely hotel with a really relaxed atmosphere. Last week we returned for a family wedding.
I have nothing but praise for the hotel, the food and the staff. All wonderful especially James who works in the bar.
The rooms have fabulous views over the lake and of course the beautiful weather helped. A number of helicopters landed on the Sunday afternoon to drop in for lunch.
Really cannot wait to go back and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 10 was very light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoCMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We first stayed here in June 2012, and found our stay to be excellent. We returned for a visit 3rd to 7th October 2012 accompanied by our daughter and grandson. We were surprised that the previous high standard had been excelled in both the quality of the meals and in the quality of the service. Staff assisted with the care of our grandson at meal times and the baby listening service was much appreciated. We have now booked to spend the Christmas break at the Inn On The Lake. And have no hesitation in saying that a stay here is well worth the expense. Congratulations to the whole staff and the management.
David and Ann Burrows. Motherwell.

Room Tip: Fell view or Lake view rooms are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The first time we visited this hotel we were absolutely blown away with the room, scenery and ambience of the place. The second time we visited we stayed in a different room (more expensive) with a balcony. We were sadly dissapointed that we were kept up most the night with a leaking gutter which we were assured had been previously fixed. If you have ever visited the lakes you know that rain is expected but it does not affect your time there at all only if your in a room with a leaking gutter ! The staff contacted us immediately regarding our complaint but there was little it seemed that they could do at the time. We previously stayed in a superior room with bay which we would highly recommend because of size and views to the Lakes. The staff at the Inn are absolutely superb and a credit to the company taking care of your every need. The food is delicious and the breakfast that caters to every need will leave you full all day! The decor and surroundings are very tasteful and calming with a elegant feel thoughout the Hotel. We go away to relax take in amazing views and be pampered and this hotel certainly delivers. If you prefer walking, charging up hills and water sports its all there to experience and then there's luxury to come back to!

Room Tip: A room with Lake views and Bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YorkshireJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We live locally and had been meaning to try the Inn on the Lake for some time...we regularly dine out and are often spoiled for choice so tend to eat at places we know are going to live up to their reputation, so it was with some trepidation that we booked to eat here....service was very good and the staff very friendly and courteous, however, the food was very average...my starter was non existent, literally three cubes of feta cheese with small slices of cherry tomatoes on top of each cube which was very, very cheeky and way above being pretentious , main course was medallions of beef which was very bland...in fact the only course worthy of praise was my cheese...we were seriously considering going to the chippy in Angel lane in Penrith on the way home such was the minuscule portions of food offered.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Griffin303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Further to your comments I am very surprised by your review, we have just received the 2nd AA Rosette for the standard of food in the fine dining Lake View Restaurant and on the evening you dined we received so many compliments, that not to say we didn’t meet your standards but once again if you had informed us at any time during your meal or afterwards I would of gladly tried to rectify your problem. As for the portion size I’m afraid I can’t agree. You had the three courses with cheese, biscuits and bread followed by coffee and fudge. The hotel offers a number of areas to dine from the Lake View Lounge offering lunches and afternoon teas to the Ramblers bar which offers traditional pub food.

Wishing you well

G Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

At the end of a remarkable afternoon, we stopped by this lovely lakeside Inn for a drink before heading home to fix dinner, and sitting in the bay window in the bar, sipping lovely drinks and chatting with hikers turned out to be the highlight of the day. Drinks or dinner or an overnight, this is truly a place to be savoured....

Room Tip: The valley is beautiful, and while we didn't stay there as friends live in the area, a lakeside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnclaire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The setting is just stunning (even in the seemingly incessant rain), the public rooms impressive and the restaurant has just received another well deserved star. Yet the decor is sooooo beige (well, so many different beige patterns to be exact), and the bar needs the same sort of inspirational staff as the restaurant.

Very good value though with 'Secret Escapes'.

Room Tip: Fell view rooms at the front of the hotel No road noise); spectacular lake views at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,148 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
14.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
718 reviews
10.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range: $176 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing