We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,894)
Filter reviews
1,894 results
Traveler rating
1,288
377
150
52
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,288
377
150
52
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramblers barfell view roomwedding guestsstunning locationafternoon teasconeswedding breakfastwedding venuechristmas decorationsthe general managersteamersfeature roomevery member of stafffantastic hotelmain restaurantstandard roomhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
1,526 - 1,531 of 1,894 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The first time we visited this hotel we were absolutely blown away with the room, scenery and ambience of the place. The second time we visited we stayed in a different room (more expensive) with a balcony. We were sadly dissapointed that we were kept up most the night with a leaking gutter which we were assured had been previously fixed. If you have ever visited the lakes you know that rain is expected but it does not affect your time there at all only if your in a room with a leaking gutter ! The staff contacted us immediately regarding our complaint but there was little it seemed that they could do at the time. We previously stayed in a superior room with bay which we would highly recommend because of size and views to the Lakes. The staff at the Inn are absolutely superb and a credit to the company taking care of your every need. The food is delicious and the breakfast that caters to every need will leave you full all day! The decor and surroundings are very tasteful and calming with a elegant feel thoughout the Hotel. We go away to relax take in amazing views and be pampered and this hotel certainly delivers. If you prefer walking, charging up hills and water sports its all there to experience and then there's luxury to come back to!

Room Tip: A room with Lake views and Bay window
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YorkshireJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We live locally and had been meaning to try the Inn on the Lake for some time...we regularly dine out and are often spoiled for choice so tend to eat at places we know are going to live up to their reputation, so it was with some trepidation that we booked to eat here....service was very good and the staff very friendly and courteous, however, the food was very average...my starter was non existent, literally three cubes of feta cheese with small slices of cherry tomatoes on top of each cube which was very, very cheeky and way above being pretentious , main course was medallions of beef which was very bland...in fact the only course worthy of praise was my cheese...we were seriously considering going to the chippy in Angel lane in Penrith on the way home such was the minuscule portions of food offered.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Griffin303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Further to your comments I am very surprised by your review, we have just received the 2nd AA Rosette for the standard of food in the fine dining Lake View Restaurant and on the evening you dined we received so many compliments, that not to say we didn’t meet your standards but once again if you had informed us at any time during your meal or afterwards I would of gladly tried to rectify your problem. As for the portion size I’m afraid I can’t agree. You had the three courses with cheese, biscuits and bread followed by coffee and fudge. The hotel offers a number of areas to dine from the Lake View Lounge offering lunches and afternoon teas to the Ramblers bar which offers traditional pub food.

Wishing you well

G Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

At the end of a remarkable afternoon, we stopped by this lovely lakeside Inn for a drink before heading home to fix dinner, and sitting in the bay window in the bar, sipping lovely drinks and chatting with hikers turned out to be the highlight of the day. Drinks or dinner or an overnight, this is truly a place to be savoured....

Room Tip: The valley is beautiful, and while we didn't stay there as friends live in the area, a lakeside view would definitely be the way to go!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnclaire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The setting is just stunning (even in the seemingly incessant rain), the public rooms impressive and the restaurant has just received another well deserved star. Yet the decor is sooooo beige (well, so many different beige patterns to be exact), and the bar needs the same sort of inspirational staff as the restaurant.

Very good value though with 'Secret Escapes'.

Room Tip: Fell view rooms at the front of the hotel No road noise); spectacular lake views at the back.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Me and my now husband got married here in May this year and have to say, the views are absolutely stunning, the newly refurbished rooms are lovely, the food is gorgeous and the staff are fantastic. Our wedding planner Jonathon was great, from the day we looked round the hotel to the wedding day itself, nothing was too much trouble and he was calm and professional throughout. Bev was always on hand to answer queries and sort the small details out by email in the run up to the big day and we can honestly say we can't imagine a more perfect venue, we love love love it here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews