We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed 1 night whilst attending a wedding hosted here. I found the staff very helpful, polite and attentive without standing over you. The beds and rooms are very comfortable with good facilities - very nice power shower. The views are amazing and a fantastic location, although the weather was cold it was nice to walk to the end of the garden and be standing on the lake shore. The wedding was seamlessly organised, food was of a high standard and again the staff could not do enough for you. Would love to return for a weekend break and would recommend to anyone - I would also recommend as an excellent wedding venue the atmosphere was relaxed and the bride and groom were very complimentary of the wedding planning service they received. All in all I can not fault it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly_b80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    323
    124
    49
    22
See reviews for
292
933
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Booked the Bank Holiday weekend at the In on the Lake, Glenridding which was sold to us as a package. This included the room breakfast, evening meal and a champagne tea.
The hotel is traditional, clean and tidy and our bedroom which overlooked the lake was ideal. Service overal was good but the one factor that spoilt our stay was the inclusion of a champagne tea in the afternoon. As part of the not inexpensive package, none of the staff seemed to know what we were talkng about when we asked for the champagne tea, I was then told that I needed a voucher for this? No mention was made of needing a voucher when I booked up or when checking in. Instead of enjoying the two afternoon tea's we had paid for as part of the package, we only managed to get a glass of champagne on the second day. (Apparently we were to late for the food that should have been included and the staff were, in any event, engulfed in wedding guests at the time and to busy to pay much attention to our request).
An enjoyable trip but let down by this issue. I would not book again if forced into having to purchase a package like this, as it is not good value.

Room Tip: A lake view is essential if you are making the effort to go to the Lake District
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Inn on the Lake is one of the best 3 star hotels we have ever stayed in. It's situation at Glenridding on the southern end of Ullswater Lake is simply wonderful and if you are contemplating doing some serious walking in the Lake District you are simply spoilt for choice with walks starting from the hotel and others accessed by taking the traditional steamer boat as far up the lake as you wish to go and walking back. Easy walks graded through to hard ones, (full details provided by the hotel), and they all take you into classic wonderful Lake District countryside.

Alternatively, if you fancy doing some sailing/windsurfing, there is a RYA Sailing School just five minutes walk down the shore of the lake.

The hotel restaurant was another highlight. Overlooking the lake, the staff provided a high level of service and the choice, quality of food and it's presentation was excellent.

The hotel has been recently refurbished to a good standard. We opted for a room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the lake which had the most beautiful view, as indeed did all rooms on the 'lakeside'.

It wasn't a cheap experience however. We opted for a "Daffodil Break" which gave us two nights dinner,bed & breakfast with a free third night bed & breakfast, but we chose to eat in the restaurant again the third night. The total bill for dinner, bed & breakfast for three nights came to £750 for the two of us. Was it worth it? You bet. We shall be going back as soon as possible..

Room Tip: Choose a " lakeside facing' room for the most marvellous romantic views but be aware that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernonpopperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We are a little late with writing this review due to a skiing accident on our honeymoon which made me forget a few things!

I remember enquiring about having a wedding at Christmas time on the phone to Gary the manager. He sold the idea to me in the first 5 minutes of speaking to him on the telephone! he made it sound perfect and explained every detail so I hardly had any questions to ask.

All the wedding arrangements were organised over email which was very convenient and all my questions were answered really quickly and I had built up a good relationship with my wedding coordinator.

On arrival at the hotel the night before the wedding, we were all tired and a bit irritated as we spent over 8 hours driving up from London - we approached the hotel and were quite taken back how beautiful it looked with all the lights - we soon felt awake and better from warm welcome. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, Gary organised a quick meeting which was productive and he made me feel calm and reassured that everything was taken care of - what a difference that made!

All our rooms were perfect in every way and the food was exceptional. The staff were so helpful and friendly and attended to all our needs.

Gary and team arranged everything as we asked on the day and I can't thank them enough for making our day perfect. An extra bonus was that my Husband's parent's who were in Spain at the time were able to see us on the outside webcam as Skype had let us down that day.

We didn't hire out the Ramblers bar for exclusive use and the staff were right, we didn't need to.It was great that the staff who had been helping during the day were able to join us for a drink and a dance.

Our only disappointment was that we didn't stay for the Christmas break!

Emily and Matthew Knight

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyK112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were married at this hotel three years ago (which was perfect in every way) & have visited a number of times since. We returned this week on our third anniversary & everything was to the usual high standards. The recent refurbishment is very stylish but traditional, everything was immacualate & the staff could not be better. Garry, the Manager, & his team always make us feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. If you are looking for a stunning wedding venue or a relaxing weekend walking this seriously is the only Hotel to choose.

Room Tip: Paying a little extra for a lake view is definatly worth doing. If you can run to the extra go for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at the Inn on the Lake overnight on the 6th May to attend our nephews wedding.
The scenary was wonderful and the wedding took place in the gardens. The staff were very attentive and the wedding went without a hitch. The food was lovely. The evening reception was held in another part of the hotel and once again the food was plentiful with a wide verity of different dishes. If you live in the area around Ullswater it would be an ideal place to have your wedding.
The room we stayed in was very spacious however, some of the guest complained about the heat in the bedrooms even when the heating was turned off and one couple had to phone reception at 4am to ask for a fan.
Breakfast was served between 8 and 10 and once again there was a good verity of food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyvan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were recently married at this hotel and it was truely wonderful. The service and attention to detail was fantastic and helped to make our day one which we will always treasure. The recent refurbishment and quality of the surroundings is second to none, with the food being out of this world. The hotel is set in stunning surroundings with amazing views of the lake and mountains, but would advise that you stipulate you would prefer a lake view room when booking (this may cost you a little extra, but it is well worth the additional cost). The hotel manager Gary and Jonathan Wild the Wedding Co-ordinator, went out of their way to ensure that ourselves and our guests had a perfect stay. We will be returning to this hotel in the near future, to relax and enjoy the wonderful setting. If you are considering getting married in the Lakes, please do not over look this hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
13.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing