We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,894)
Filter reviews
1,894 results
Traveler rating
1,288
377
150
52
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,288
377
150
52
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramblers barfell view roomwedding guestsstunning locationafternoon teasconeswedding breakfastwedding venuechristmas decorationsthe general managersteamersfeature roomevery member of stafffantastic hotelmain restaurantstandard roomhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
1,613 - 1,618 of 1,894 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Booked the Bank Holiday weekend at the In on the Lake, Glenridding which was sold to us as a package. This included the room breakfast, evening meal and a champagne tea.
The hotel is traditional, clean and tidy and our bedroom which overlooked the lake was ideal. Service overal was good but the one factor that spoilt our stay was the inclusion of a champagne tea in the afternoon. As part of the not inexpensive package, none of the staff seemed to know what we were talkng about when we asked for the champagne tea, I was then told that I needed a voucher for this? No mention was made of needing a voucher when I booked up or when checking in. Instead of enjoying the two afternoon tea's we had paid for as part of the package, we only managed to get a glass of champagne on the second day. (Apparently we were to late for the food that should have been included and the staff were, in any event, engulfed in wedding guests at the time and to busy to pay much attention to our request).
An enjoyable trip but let down by this issue. I would not book again if forced into having to purchase a package like this, as it is not good value.

Room Tip: A lake view is essential if you are making the effort to go to the Lake District
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Inn on the Lake is one of the best 3 star hotels we have ever stayed in. It's situation at Glenridding on the southern end of Ullswater Lake is simply wonderful and if you are contemplating doing some serious walking in the Lake District you are simply spoilt for choice with walks starting from the hotel and others accessed by taking the traditional steamer boat as far up the lake as you wish to go and walking back. Easy walks graded through to hard ones, (full details provided by the hotel), and they all take you into classic wonderful Lake District countryside.

Alternatively, if you fancy doing some sailing/windsurfing, there is a RYA Sailing School just five minutes walk down the shore of the lake.

The hotel restaurant was another highlight. Overlooking the lake, the staff provided a high level of service and the choice, quality of food and it's presentation was excellent.

The hotel has been recently refurbished to a good standard. We opted for a room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the lake which had the most beautiful view, as indeed did all rooms on the 'lakeside'.

It wasn't a cheap experience however. We opted for a "Daffodil Break" which gave us two nights dinner,bed & breakfast with a free third night bed & breakfast, but we chose to eat in the restaurant again the third night. The total bill for dinner, bed & breakfast for three nights came to £750 for the two of us. Was it worth it? You bet. We shall be going back as soon as possible..

Room Tip: Choose a " lakeside facing' room for the most marvellous romantic views but be aware that the rooms with the newly added balconies are of an absolutely minimum size for 3 star standard, but they are extremely well appointed. Perhaps we will try a lake-side four-poster room next time!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernonpopperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We are a little late with writing this review due to a skiing accident on our honeymoon which made me forget a few things!

I remember enquiring about having a wedding at Christmas time on the phone to Gary the manager. He sold the idea to me in the first 5 minutes of speaking to him on the telephone! he made it sound perfect and explained every detail so I hardly had any questions to ask.

All the wedding arrangements were organised over email which was very convenient and all my questions were answered really quickly and I had built up a good relationship with my wedding coordinator.

On arrival at the hotel the night before the wedding, we were all tired and a bit irritated as we spent over 8 hours driving up from London - we approached the hotel and were quite taken back how beautiful it looked with all the lights - we soon felt awake and better from warm welcome. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, Gary organised a quick meeting which was productive and he made me feel calm and reassured that everything was taken care of - what a difference that made!

All our rooms were perfect in every way and the food was exceptional. The staff were so helpful and friendly and attended to all our needs.

Gary and team arranged everything as we asked on the day and I can't thank them enough for making our day perfect. An extra bonus was that my Husband's parent's who were in Spain at the time were able to see us on the outside webcam as Skype had let us down that day.

We didn't hire out the Ramblers bar for exclusive use and the staff were right, we didn't need to.It was great that the staff who had been helping during the day were able to join us for a drink and a dance.

Our only disappointment was that we didn't stay for the Christmas break!

Emily and Matthew Knight

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyK112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were married at this hotel three years ago (which was perfect in every way) & have visited a number of times since. We returned this week on our third anniversary & everything was to the usual high standards. The recent refurbishment is very stylish but traditional, everything was immacualate & the staff could not be better. Garry, the Manager, & his team always make us feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. If you are looking for a stunning wedding venue or a relaxing weekend walking this seriously is the only Hotel to choose.

Room Tip: Paying a little extra for a lake view is definatly worth doing. If you can run to the extra go for a four poster room. (Room43 is great)
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at the Inn on the Lake overnight on the 6th May to attend our nephews wedding.
The scenary was wonderful and the wedding took place in the gardens. The staff were very attentive and the wedding went without a hitch. The food was lovely. The evening reception was held in another part of the hotel and once again the food was plentiful with a wide verity of different dishes. If you live in the area around Ullswater it would be an ideal place to have your wedding.
The room we stayed in was very spacious however, some of the guest complained about the heat in the bedrooms even when the heating was turned off and one couple had to phone reception at 4am to ask for a fan.
Breakfast was served between 8 and 10 and once again there was a good verity of food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyvan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews