We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice at a price”

The Travellers Rest
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Glenridding
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice at a price”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is very friendly and well located. There's a reasonable choice of meal but it is pricey. There's a great outdoor seating area. Staff are very good at managing expectations and let people know how long the wait might be at the point that they order. They were also happy to allow our friend;s dog to come and sit very quietly under the table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    128
    63
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional Lake District public house at the foot of Helvellyn”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Walked up to the Travellers rest for early tea with my girlfriend and children - Good selection of local real ales for me and Rose wines for my partner with a couple of pleasant lads on duty (from Wigan and Australia) sat out on the terrace looking over Place Fell and ordered our food - Children went for burgers and sausage which arrived plentiful and hot which the children enjoyed followed by a punky penquin ice cream and generous portion of chocky cake - I had the specials board chicken curry which was fab served half chips half rice and all the trimmings whilst my partner had the chicken burger which again well presented and plenty of it. Just what we needed after a walk over Lantys tarn with the dog and definitely return again when visiting!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderer1958Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Daniels birthday weekend to the Lakes 10/11th August 2013”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Arrived on Saturday, pub was very busy but we managed to find a space outside, the staff were very friendly. Food was fantastic, massive meal portions, you may have to wait a little while as everything is cooked fresh from time of placing order.

We enjoyed it that much, we came back on the Sunday for Daniels birthday meal and sat inside, still had the same warm welcome and excellent quality in food. They even gave us ice to take back to the cottage! Dogs are welcome too so we didnt have to leave anyone at home. We will most definately be visiting again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mookie Moo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the beer!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Has to be my favourite Lakeland pub... just the place to come for a pint after a day in the hills. We visited this time with our daughter but have been here as a couple several times in the past few years, even walking out of our way on some occasions! Good selection of real ale and a friendly atmosphere. Nice view from outside tables.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy16411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stainley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super walkers lunch”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Fantastic food, quick service and situated within the walk we were doing, shame its a bit tucked out of the way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Travellers Rest also viewed

 
Glenridding, Lake District
Patterdale, Lake District
 
Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 

Been to The Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing