We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Glenridding Sailing Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glenridding Sailing Centre, is a small sailing and activity centre based at the stunning southern end of Ullswater, in the Lake District. We provide a wide range of high quality, fun-filled outdoor activities, from sailing tuition, to team building activities, to canoe and kayak hire.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good value”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We rented a canoe, only £15 ph..may sound like quite a lot but it seems cheap once you're out there on the lake...so beautiful and so much fun!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenridding S, Public Relations Manager at Glenridding Sailing Centre, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you Naomi we're glad you had such a good time, and thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly sailing centre”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our kids did a two day beginners sailing course during half term. All the guys at Genridding Sailing Centre were friendly, helpful and very approachable. In particular their instructor, Lee was brilliant with the kids, a great teacher, fun and very patient. We also hired a dinghy, which was easy to do and good quality kit. Thank you all for a great couple of days. We hope to be back next year!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank martinandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Half Term Kid's Week - May 2014”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were staying close to Ullswater and decided to pop into the sailing centre just to enquire about hiring a canoe for later on that week. The centre was running a week of activities for children, since it was the school half term week. It's a relaxed sailing centre with all the staff being helpful and friendly. Saying that, everyone was thoroughly professional with safety being a number 1 priority. Wetsuits, buoyancy aids and helmets were all provided and had to be worn. Over the two days, our son did sailing (never done it before, but now loves it!), kayaking, canoeing and lots of other fun activities, team and individual games. Along with the rest of the children, he had a fabulous time, be it using team work to manoeuvre their sailing boat to pick up rubber ducks in the lake or heading up to a nearby island by kayak to explore it and play games. Any time they were on the lake, there was a dedicated safety boat with them. Nothing went wrong, but it was reassuring nevertheless. I can't rate the whole experience highly enough. All the kids loved it. At the end of each day my son had a huge smile on his face. Absolutely loved it. Oh, got to mention Steve. He's great with all the children, encouraging them, telling them jokes and stories, but also keeping a watchful eye. Thumbs up Steve. You made our son's holiday even more memorable. Hope you've got your big tractor back now! :-) Already planning to go back to Ullswater for our next holiday. Give it a go!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank albin0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sailing lessons”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We arranged for the centre to run a half day lesson for a group of 14 Scouts and Explorer Scouts. From start to finish the whole experience was just top quality, really friendly welcome, great kit and boats provided and most importantly really knowledgeable and engaging instructors ("the Steve's!!).

The kids loved it! Will definitely be back next year! Thanks so much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Brilliant day!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been to Glenridding Sailing Centre twice now, and both times had a fantastic afternoon. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly, the centre is clean and organised, and we have felt safe using the equipment provided.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenridding Sailing Centre also viewed

Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Lake District, Cumbria
 

Been to Glenridding Sailing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing