We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helvellyn Youth Hostel May 2014”
Review of YHA Helvellyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Helvellyn
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Helvellyn Youth Hostel May 2014”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Superb location next to a babbling brook good value & good quality food, excellent choice of ales. Great base for the Helvellyn walk as it cuts off over a mile from starting in the village. Only a 15 min walk to the nearest pub. My only gripe is the state of the toilets in that one cubicle had a broken toilet roll dispenser and for the first day there were no paper towels. Other than that the hostel, including the toilets, was clean and tidy.

The staff were friendly, chatty and helpful.

The hostel is very old with a great history of the local area explained. Ample parking available. Overall this is a beautiful hostel in a fantastic location and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
22
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you have an image of a youth hostel in your mind then this is the one for you. Although the reception and dining area look like they have been modernised the rest of the hostel has a way to go. The self catering kitchen was very small, there was a lack of kitchen equipment and overall it was not very clean. Fridge was dirty inside and windows covered in dead flies. Not the hostels fault but the other people using the kitchen obviously missed the point of self catering kitchen and expected somebody else to clear there pots away. Beds were comfy and clean, plenty of hot water for the showers however, there are no plug sockets in any of the bedrooms due to age of the building. So make sure you have everything charged before you stay.
On the plus side excellent locations for walking the Helvellyn range. Having walked this area now wouldn't stay at this hostel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellyfishjo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

After looking around for several days, finally we found YHA Helvellyn to stay for our short Easter Break. I have read all previous reviews and was not very sure whether it was the right decision we made. However, now I can say that it was the best choice we made!! The staff was brilliant, environment was very friendly. We went for catered kitchen, which was a bit packed but it was great chatting and meeting new people whilst cooking. The path to Helvellyn mountain is right next to the hostel and has amazing scenic view. We had a private room for 6 and it had 3 bunk beds in it. The room was neat and clean. The building overall was in very good shape especially for the price we paid. Well done YHA and We look forward to stay in your other hostels soon.

Room Tip: We really liked the Room number 16 which is just above the front entrance to the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

As always with the YHA teams these guys were friendly, helpful and provided a great service. Thanks to a fairly new team ( Aaron Sarah and ? from Bury St Edmunds) that are committed to improving this hostel - so ignore the poor reviews. Whilst it is a mile or so up a rough track from Glenridding it is a great jump off point for the Helvellyn range, The Dodds and other Eastern Fells. Have a walk down to the Travellers Rest pub for a change of scene (20 mins down and 25 back and you need a torch). Comfy beds masses of hot water and a really hot drying room for those wet clothes. Overall well up with the standard of other YHAs we have stayed in - excellent value and service.

Room Tip: Pick a private room if you are a small group
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

the welcome and the food at helvellyn was better than at the hotel we stayed in the night before which cost 3 times the amounT. fish , chips and mushy peas in homemade beer batter cooked fresh was great after a day out in the snow, washed down by good beer in the cosy bar area,perfect!

Room Tip: Some have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, Manager at YHA Helvellyn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
thaks for the nice review, we are adding some more home cooked classics to the menu for the summer hope you come back and try them out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Nice hostel, good location for Helvellyn and for other mountains in the area. Bit of a drive from the road I guess. Very warm, beds comfy enough for me, very good drying room and a good selection of food if you wanted to eat there. Great for a mountaineer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenOwl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, Manager at YHA Helvellyn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
thanks for a nice revew. im glad you noticed we have the best drying room in the lakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I visited Helvellyn Youth Hostel with Morley Walking Club in January, 2014. I loved the peaceful location, the 2 friendly lads who are running it and that the place had history. It is situated next to a river and at the foot of the ascent to Helvellyn and other walks. The bedrooms were clean and warm, with new bedding, comfortable mattresses, quilts and pillows. The showers had hot water at all times. The kitchen facilities were quite basic, but well looked after. Although I self-catered, the rest of the party enjoyed their meals, which looked tasty and plentiful. I would definitely visit again, as the manager is dedicated to improving the Hostel for the summer. In fact they were throwing the old mattresses into a skip as we left.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, Manager at YHA Helvellyn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
thanks for a nice review. we have got rid of the old matresses now and re decorated the bar! hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
1.7 mi away
YHA Patterdale
YHA Patterdale
#1 of 3 in Patterdale
159 reviews
7.7 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
210 reviews
8.8 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
7.8 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
119 reviews
12.8 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Helvellyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Helvellyn

Property: YHA Helvellyn
Address: Greenside Mines, Glenridding CA11 0QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Helvellyn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Helvellyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Helvellyn Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing