We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YHA as you would expect!”
Review of YHA Helvellyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Helvellyn
Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you have an image of a youth hostel in your mind then this is the one for you. Although the reception and dining area look like they have been modernised the rest of the hostel has a way to go. The self catering kitchen was very small, there was a lack of kitchen equipment and overall it was not very clean. Fridge was dirty inside and windows covered in dead flies. Not the hostels fault but the other people using the kitchen obviously missed the point of self catering kitchen and expected somebody else to clear there pots away. Beds were comfy and clean, plenty of hot water for the showers however, there are no plug sockets in any of the bedrooms due to age of the building. So make sure you have everything charged before you stay.
On the plus side excellent locations for walking the Helvellyn range. Having walked this area now wouldn't stay at this hostel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jellyfishjo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for YHA Helvellyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

After looking around for several days, finally we found YHA Helvellyn to stay for our short Easter Break. I have read all previous reviews and was not very sure whether it was the right decision we made. However, now I can say that it was the best choice we made!! The staff was brilliant, environment was very friendly. We went for catered kitchen, which was a bit packed but it was great chatting and meeting new people whilst cooking. The path to Helvellyn mountain is right next to the hostel and has amazing scenic view. We had a private room for 6 and it had 3 bunk beds in it. The room was neat and clean. The building overall was in very good shape especially for the price we paid. Well done YHA and We look forward to stay in your other hostels soon.

Room Tip: We really liked the Room number 16 which is just above the front entrance to the hostel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

As always with the YHA teams these guys were friendly, helpful and provided a great service. Thanks to a fairly new team ( Aaron Sarah and ? from Bury St Edmunds) that are committed to improving this hostel - so ignore the poor reviews. Whilst it is a mile or so up a rough track from Glenridding it is a great jump off point for the Helvellyn range, The Dodds and other Eastern Fells. Have a walk down to the Travellers Rest pub for a change of scene (20 mins down and 25 back and you need a torch). Comfy beds masses of hot water and a really hot drying room for those wet clothes. Overall well up with the standard of other YHAs we have stayed in - excellent value and service.

Room Tip: Pick a private room if you are a small group
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

the welcome and the food at helvellyn was better than at the hotel we stayed in the night before which cost 3 times the amounT. fish , chips and mushy peas in homemade beer batter cooked fresh was great after a day out in the snow, washed down by good beer in the cosy bar area,perfect!

Room Tip: Some have great views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, Manager at YHA Helvellyn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

thaks for the nice review, we are adding some more home cooked classics to the menu for the summer hope you come back and try them out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Nice hostel, good location for Helvellyn and for other mountains in the area. Bit of a drive from the road I guess. Very warm, beds comfy enough for me, very good drying room and a good selection of food if you wanted to eat there. Great for a mountaineer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenOwl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, Manager at YHA Helvellyn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

thanks for a nice revew. im glad you noticed we have the best drying room in the lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I visited Helvellyn Youth Hostel with Morley Walking Club in January, 2014. I loved the peaceful location, the 2 friendly lads who are running it and that the place had history. It is situated next to a river and at the foot of the ascent to Helvellyn and other walks. The bedrooms were clean and warm, with new bedding, comfortable mattresses, quilts and pillows. The showers had hot water at all times. The kitchen facilities were quite basic, but well looked after. Although I self-catered, the rest of the party enjoyed their meals, which looked tasty and plentiful. I would definitely visit again, as the manager is dedicated to improving the Hostel for the summer. In fact they were throwing the old mattresses into a skip as we left.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, Manager at YHA Helvellyn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

thanks for a nice review. we have got rid of the old matresses now and re decorated the bar! hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I found this hostel one of the least appealing I've ever stayed in. The building was very tired and desperately in need of some TLC. For the price, you would be better off spending a little bit more and finding a nice B&B or maybe even a pub.
Redeeming features are the remote, quiet and pretty location and the pleasant staff. Breakfast was very basic and very ordinary. We did buy dessert one night and it was delicious. But the plusses weren't enough to outweigh the negatives.
Overall I find that YHA is no longer value for money for couples wanting a private room and this hostel reinforced that impression. Thank goodness for the other travellers - still the best part of any hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
1.7 mi away
YHA Patterdale
YHA Patterdale
#1 of 3 in Patterdale
161 reviews
7.7 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
214 reviews
8.8 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
7.8 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
122 reviews
10.1 mi away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#4 of 10 in Windermere
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Helvellyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Helvellyn

Address: Greenside Mines, Glenridding CA11 0QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glenridding
Price Range: $31 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Helvellyn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Helvellyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Helvellyn Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing