We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend a little bit more and find a comfortable B&B”
Review of YHA Helvellyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Helvellyn
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I found this hostel one of the least appealing I've ever stayed in. The building was very tired and desperately in need of some TLC. For the price, you would be better off spending a little bit more and finding a nice B&B or maybe even a pub.
Redeeming features are the remote, quiet and pretty location and the pleasant staff. Breakfast was very basic and very ordinary. We did buy dessert one night and it was delicious. But the plusses weren't enough to outweigh the negatives.
Overall I find that YHA is no longer value for money for couples wanting a private room and this hostel reinforced that impression. Thank goodness for the other travellers - still the best part of any hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for YHA Helvellyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 108 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Helvellyn Youth Hostel is certainly not amongst the poshest YHAs but it is in a great location, has wonderful, really helpful staff, great food on offer if you don't want to be self-catering (great value for money) and because of its size, it is very homely as well. The common room (there are two) is warm and has a lot of room on the sofas, ok, the TV will only play VHS, no TV programmes, but isn't staying at a hostel about meeting other people, more than watching Strictly?
The showers are very hot with better pressure than most hotels.
When I was there, all was clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Chose this hostel for its appeal, fancied staying in a historic place, but, seriously, accommodation quality hasn't changed much since they had mine workers living there! The only good thing about it was the courtyard that appears on the pictures and a member of staff who tried to be helpful. Everything else was horrific: windows didn't close properly and it was freezing cold, even in summer; mould all over the window pane and the curtains; old terrible beds; little light; damp; toilets alright, showers didn't even use. Everything dirty, old and poorly presented; a pile of dirty bedsheets in the lounge (looks like it's been there forever). But the best part of it was the kitchen: rotten food in the '70s firdge, dead insects, dirty, smelly, small, probably they never bothered to wipe the windows, kettle has residue in it from the lead mines, hope it's not lethal, but looks black and you can actually feel it on your finger. Decided not to cook in order to stay alive.

Other than that, very difficult to find as it's not signposted in any way, there is a gravel road full of huge potholes and it's quite tricky to get there after dark like we did. Parking is not a problem, but beware of all those puncture hazards.

The place itself is ok, it's quite a walk down to the village but good for hiking I guess. I don't mind the location at all and I'm fond of staying in such places, but this one just didn't work for any of us. Avoid until they change management!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are cold, damp and dark
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hostel if perfectly located for the popular climb up helvellyn. There is a handy carpark wich is a short drvie up a track from the village of glenridding. The services are fairly basic, but good value for money. The place could do with a bit of slight updating. Nevertheless, YHA helvellyn is welcoming, and the good food and friendly atmosphere associated with YHAs makes this a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dasal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, a bit of a treck from the village, car parking available, the ideal place if you are planning a walk up Helvellyn (almost a third of the way up)
The place is a bit dated, but clean. friendly helpful staff, either self catering or food available and a bar.
Who needs hotel leisure facilities, free swimming in the beautiful Ulswater or Red Tarn, plenty of exhilarating walks available.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hostel is in serious need of a refurb. The super friendly staff stand no chance of making this old and shabby place look clean. In wonderful irony I couldn't get hot water out of the shower (I picked one too far away from the boiler for the water to make it there) nor cold water out of the tap in the kitchen (I simply couldn't bear to waste enough water to get it to the point where it was running cold).

Great dining room, reasonable choice of meals, amazing drying room.

If you value the remote location of this hostel vote with your feet, if you want clean and modern then do likewise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hostel is a mile and a half from Glenridding up a good track. Perfectly OK to drive, but Glenridding village is on a bus route so we left the car at home, which made the walk a bit long with our stuff. But what a gorgeous place - as peaceful as it gets, and up into the hills to give a good start for lots of lovely walks as well as Helvellyn itself. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hostel clean, the food good and the bathrooms and self-catering kitchen kept clean despite heavy use. There are private rooms and small dormitories. Handpumped beer was due to be installed in the bar the day we left! One of the wines is the same as that on sale at a local restaurant but two thirds the price. The food is of a similar standard to the nearest pub, but again a lot cheaper. There is a fascinating roomful of information about the lead mine.
The hostel could do with better mattresses, and sockets in the bedrooms, but the situation and friendliness more than make up for this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
1.7 mi away
YHA Patterdale
YHA Patterdale
#1 of 3 in Patterdale
161 reviews
7.7 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
214 reviews
8.8 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
7.8 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
122 reviews
10.1 mi away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#4 of 10 in Windermere
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Helvellyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Helvellyn

Address: Greenside Mines, Glenridding CA11 0QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glenridding
Price Range: $31 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Helvellyn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your YHA Helvellyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Helvellyn Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing