We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

From the minute we set foot inside the glenridding we were happy to be there, the staff were very friendly and helpful. our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. We used the Ratchers bar for an early evening drink, where again the staff were excellent, there was a good selection of food and drink. The ribeye steak i would highly recommend, as the brother of a top chef my expectations of food can be high, my girlfriend and I were not dissapointed. the location is fantastic with mountain views from all windows. we did not use the pool but it looked like it was to the same clean standards as the rest of the hotel. The breakfast menu is fabulous, great choice and any variation is met with no problems by the staff, however there was one incident where a resident was turned away for being far too late for breakfast service, John the restaurant manager was very professional in handling it even though it did not meet with the residents expectaions of re opening the kitchen just for them at such a late hour they were still provided food and drinks, which we both found professional in light of the customers poor attitude towards john, who i may at is a very friendly and attentive gentleman (well done). The cost of the stay may well not be as cheap as other hotels, but we would highly recommend it to anyone and we will definitely stay again....

Room Tip: we stayed in a superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    119
    49
    24
    19
See reviews for
62
227
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location and seems to sit on its laurels, the rooms facing the road were hot, so windows needed opening and a bit noisy. Staff were friendly, especially John who was covering Breakfasts which were excellent. However rooms tired, needs some money spent on them. The expense of the hotel should mean they have plenty to spend.
All in all a okay hotel, a great location, but too expensive for everything.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rdajackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good points: Great location (where isn't in Glenridding?!), friendly staff and comfortable beds
Bad points: Room on the small size, shower barely worked, dated decor throughout, pricey for the money, food from the bar was very poor.
If I had more money I would have stayed at the Inn on The Lake just up the road! I think at £50.00 a night I wouldn't have minded but when a stay comes in at £100 inc evening meal I expect a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalesandlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just stayed here for a few days. The Hotel is in a very nice setting alongside the lake Ullswater and near to the steam ferry cruises. The hotel has many amenities including several lounges, games room and swimming pool. The staff were very pleasant. John who served breakfast was very good. The restaurant in the evening was quiet. We went in one night and there was only about 8 people in there, although the food was good and the view from the restaurant across the mountains and lake is exceptional. The hotel has a decent sized car park (although we had some specialist trim pinched one night while the car was on the car park - not the sort of place you expect motoring crime!). Overall we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PM-and-ZKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Food and service excellent, room spacious, view fab (room 50), reception/lounge lovely. We expected slightly better room furnishings and décor for the price (about £270 for 2 nights B & B on a bank holiday weekend) but it is after all a spa hotel and we chose not to use the spa facilities. Location wonderful.

Room Tip: We had room 50 which had a view of Place Fell and we could just about see bit of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Le Street
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Glenridding Hotel some years ago and were not impressed however on wanting to revisit the area we decided that we did not want to pay the prices that we recently paid at The Inn on the Lake and decided to give the Glenridding Hotel another try. We were very pleased with our decision.

Our superior room had a lovely view of the lake, was comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed a swim in the pool which was fairly quiet and nice and relaxing after a day on the fells.

We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be of a good standard. The service was excellent and the head waiter was particularly friendly and efficient.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ok, so where to start.
Reception
Arrived about 2.00pm only one parking space left (we will come back to that) Receptionist was really nice and helpful (knew her stuff)
Room
Went up to our so called "superior" room. Nothing wrong with the size of it, the furniture however was dated and ugly. For the money we paid I would have expected better. The bed was massive and comfortable (yes it was two single beds fastened together) The bathroom was nice and large. Overall everything was clean.
Pool
The swimming pool was small (to be expected) a little on the cold side (I am not one for saunas but it looked good enough) I have to say though, I enjoyed the pool.
Evening Meal
After our swim we booked an evening meal MISTAKE!!! We booked for 8.30pm. When we arrived there was a sign asking us to wait to be seated (should have also read “and be ignored by the staff”) Finally! we did get seated and given menus. Again after quite a wait we gave our order, which included a bottle of wine, this came about ten minutes later (I should say at this point that the restaurant was quiet, about quarter full) The staff were really nice but seemed disorganised, they kept asking people if they had given their orders yet (shouldn’t they have known?) Starters came after about 20 minutes; they were nice, a bit small. Then the big wait…. Main meal arrived 40 minutes later after we asked how long we were going to have to wait for. The staff did apologise and seemed embarrassed by the whole thing. The meal was ok, again a bit on the small side, nothing to write home about. Now we would normally have a pudding and coffee, but really couldn’t be bothered to wait. The atmosphere was depressing I think all the guests were giving off bad vibes as they were also experiencing the same as ourselves.
Packed lunch
If you want a packed lunch you need to order one the night before. We did this and the lady who took our order was lovely. The sandwiches were nice, but it turned out they would have been cheaper in the little shop across the road, whether they would have been as nice is another matter.
Breakfast
Now I really enjoyed this, good choice, veggie option. Service better than the night before. Plenty of toast (extras if you want)
Car park
Not bad if you can find somewhere to park. We went out for the day and the only spot we found was tiny. Just managed to squeeze in.
Overall
Our stay was enjoyable but I am afraid to say that it was not good value for money. Everything just fell a little short of the mark and needed a little more attention. We complained regarding the evening meal at reception as we were checking out. The receptionist was sympathetic and said that quite a few people had also been unhappy about things. Would I stay there again? No Would I recommend others stay? Not really

Room Tip: Don't have the evening meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrsWinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
11.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penrith
Penrith Best Western
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing