We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have just had a lovely three night stay in this hotel. The hotel itself is currently undergoing some renovations - hence scaffolding at the front. However this did not detract from our quiet and peaceful stay. We stayed in a standard double room on the first floor with a beautiful view of Ullswater. The room was spotlessly clean and the ensuite looked brand new. There werent many guests in the hotel and it was so quiet and very easy to get a good nights sleep. The breakfasts were really good and well the service was first class. The adjoining pub Ratchers Bar was lovely and cosy and the log fire very welcoming at this time of year. The only downside for me was the large television in the bar played sky sports news continuously and after two hours of listening to it I was ready to move on .. but thats just my own personal preference. I would definately recommend this hotel .. its lovely and is in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Choose one with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    119
    49
    24
    19
See reviews for
62
227
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendly staff, clean hotel, good food. Overall very good and recommended.

Niggles: Serving the bread and butter pudding on cold plates, which made it all cold, and a Spaghetti veggie option came as Spaghetti Bolognese - they changed this for Spaghetti with tomato sauce rather than the original from the menu but in general the food was good.

The dining room was a bit cold though - apparently the heating was on 'full blast' and it was chilly outside but you shouldn't really have to wear a bodywarmer to eat your evening meal! (January, snowy outside). The central heating was definitely on though - it made a racket through the radiators in the room (water being pumped through) so if you like to sleep in silence go in summer or look elsewhere!

These are niggles and in general it was a good place to stay.

We chose the hotel because they allow dogs and we got a dinner bed and breakfast for £50pppn, which seemed ok for what you got.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThebassmanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Glenridding Hotel is situated a short distance from Ullswater. The five minute walk leads to the lake and the steamer boat.

Service in the hotel is good. You will also find wholesome food in the bar downstairs, though this can become very busy in an evening so you are advised to get there in the first half of the evening.

A great place to base yourself for exploring the northern lakes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azurar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had a great stay here in 2012 for 3 nights food was good, staff friendly & helpful. The location was good for local facilities inc Steamer, water sports, lots of walks,shops & pubs. We found plenty to do for teenagers inc a trip to Windermere, walking, kayaking etc. the hotel is in a good location although sited close to the road may be bait tricky with smaller children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gussygeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Me and my boyfriend visited this hotel early this month, we normally pay around £80-100 a night in the lakes and came across this hotel at £100 which was in a great spot right next to the lake so we booked it.
We arrived and went straight to the reception where we we greeted by a very pleasant young girl, who told us that unfortunately we had to pay up front as we didn't have a credit card, which was a bit of a pain as not everyone has one! Also breakfast was an extra £10 each (bit pricey) we thought it would have been included but never mind we paid it took are key and went to our room...
Room was freezing cold and a little dated and bed seemed to be small for a double but on the plus side the view was fantastic.
Also we didn't seem to have a very good nights sleep with the bed being a little uncomfortable and the fact we had very noisey neighbours slamming doors late at night and early in the morning!!!
Breakfast was great we had the full English and tea. The girl that served us was very attentive.
We were a little disappointed in our stay as we thought 1 nights stay and breakfast was pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracey92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

As a number of other reviewers have said we had a 2 night bed, breakfast and evening meal deal in a Lake view room looking across Ullswater to Place Fell. The room was large, very clean and was well equiped including a two seater sofa which was most useful. Plenty of towels and bedding were in the room and tea making kit was provided.
The public rooms were comfortable,roomy and the staff exceptional, especially Barbara on reception who was warm, friendly and helpful.
The dinner menu was restricted presumably because of the deal but this was not a problem for us. Everything was piping hot, well cooked and presented, and full of flavour. Again excellent service throughout.
The area of Glenridding is beautiful and very peaceful at this time of year (early November) and we were blessed with clear weather which allowed us to get onto the higher fells. Having had sleepless nights in Keswick at a hotel with a disco next door and the headache of parking this hotel was heaven.
We will certainly return again

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fellwalkermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great value stay. You get a lot for your money.
Clean comfortable room with all the usual amenities.
Hearty breakfast with a good choice of buffet and cooked.
Evening meals are pretty standard but not exceptional.
Everywhere in the hotel is smart and clean
There's a pool, with jacuzzi and sauna and there's even a games room.
The staff are helpful and friendly.
There's plenty of parking.
Overall a good allrounder for its class.
Highly recommended - would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2HappyTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
11.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penrith
Penrith Best Western
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing