We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, good service”

Fellbites Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fellbites cafe restaurant is situated in the centre of Glenridding serving hot and cold snacks, yummy cakes, scones, tea and coffee throughout the day. From Friday to Tuesday an evening menu is available serving locally sourced produce.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled up this place after trying to get into several other local places who couldn't accommodate us (7 in total on a Saturday night!) So pleased we went here, food was superb, lovely friendly staff and reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jidsprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    110
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unfriendly reception and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were the only people at the counter and when no smile or eye contact or pleasantries were forthcoming, I asked if everything was alright and told that it was, they were just busy! It was a very unpleasant experience despite lovely coffee and cakes! Why, oh why in a beautiful tourist area of The Lake District (where we live) do people work in places they clearly don't like working? Visitors to this lovely cafe deserve better service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basil1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Front of house staff poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just wanting a snack and not at a busy time, we visited, as part of a larger group. The person taking the order was, well should I just say not very talkative, so there was no friendly welcome. On ordering, I took my change, walked outside and realised that I had been short changed by 50p. Oh well that will teach me to check my change as I get it.

Whilst sat at our outside table I saw food being delivered to another outside table and the person delivering the food spat something out on the floor as they passed our table. I could not believe it!

On the plus side, the food we did get was served fairly quickly and was of reasonable quality, but I will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prestonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good find off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great menu, friendly staff and very well-cooked food. Not expensive. Steps from the Helvellyn trail. We visited several times during two stays over the past year.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AVen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Market
Level Contributor
368 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Tasty bites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great bacon but ties, and really good value with the token in the steamer leaflet. Apparently all the sailors use this cafe regularly!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank drpetembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fellbites Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Patterdale, Lake District
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 

Been to Fellbites Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing