We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ramblers bar great food !”

Ramblers Bar & Candleroom
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Glenridding
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Candleroom is a brand new addition to Rambler's Bar. This bright and lofty, oak beamed room features a stunning glass frontage offering views to the fells and beyond. With an eclectic mix of modern and traditional furnishing, upholstered in beautifully co-ordinated fabrics, large custom made pendants and church candle lights hanging from the rafters giving this room a fantastic atmosphere. In Ramblers, sit by the log burner with a pint of real ale and enjoy hearty food; the perfect combination after a day on the fells or a drive out in the car. Ramblers Bar & Candleroom, situated in the grounds of the Inn on the Lake, offers a relaxed and cosy atmosphere in which to enjoy all this as well as great hospitality and friendly conversation. This typical Lakeland pub loved by locals and visitors alike, is an ideal spot to stop in the summer months when you can enjoy al fresco dining on the terrace. Or in winter sit by the log burner and devour a hearty meal such as the full flavour of the hiker’s chicken & mushroom pie, fell bred lamb rack, delicious beef casserole and dumplings or the Jennings Beer Battered fish. Throughout the year there are a variety of theme nights including live music and summer BBQ’s, festive lunches and more.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ramblers bar great food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We called in here after a walk and the staff were all very friendly and attentive , the food was great we had the tapas sharing platter which we thought was good value for money .
The location is just stunning and if you go round the back of the hotel the lake is very close and the views are amazing .
The ramblers bar is dog friendly outside not sure if you can take them in ,
Would visit again .

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b8suu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    79
    46
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Closed most evenings for weddings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Clean and tidy, modern bar with friendly staff and outside space if it's fine.

We popped in a few times over the week had an evening meal which was nice, but not amazing for the cover price. We had intended a mid walk lunch too, but stopped short of £8 for a sandwich. I think we were a bit put off by the menu claiming 'hand cut' chips which were obviously machine prepared. Personally, I don't think a pub needs to offer hand cut chips - an honest menu is for me though an absolute must, serving something different to the menu implies you think your customers won't notice which is a bit insulting.

The pub is used as a wedding venue 3 to 5 evenings a week until mid-November according to a member of staff; this does mean that it is a bit random when it is open and when not and if you are still sitting in there at 1645 you will find the staff moving tables around you ready for close at 5pm!

We didn't find the drinks expensive, and there was a good choice.

I'd happily go back for a drink if passing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lqts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unexcitingly average and pricey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went there for an evening meal because the menu looked slightly more interesting than that at the Glenridding Hotel where we were staying. The staff were courteous and helpful enough. We both settled for the chicken and leek pie which took its time to arrive but we weren't in a hurry so it didn't matter. It was OK but we've had better elsewhere, although nothing specific to complain about. What really rankled was £18.50 for a bottle of the house Merlot. A dog-free room would be nice for those of us who do nor want barking as an accompaniment to eating.
Overall, average and a bit pricey. Would we go again? Not as a first choice - but then there's not a lot of choice in the area without driving somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, General Manager at Ramblers Bar & Candleroom, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Good Afternoon
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent meal at Ramblers. I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied. Due to its idyllic setting in the heart of the Lake District and at the base of Helvellyn Ramblers Bar, as the name suggests, is a perfect stop for walkers in the area.

With regards to the price of the wine, this is in keeping with other establishments in the area. I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy, although as you cannot determine what aspect of the meal you were unhappy with it is difficult for me to pass constructive feedback to the chef on this occasion.

Kind regards
Gary Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very disappointing meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have visited the Ramblers bar previously but have only had the Ploughmans. On this occasion, a cold day - we decided to have a cooked meal. Big mistake - my chicken burger and chips was cold and the presentation was terrible. My husbands fish and chips was much the same. Recommend that if you visit this bar choose a dish that is supposed to be cold!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 655SusanChambers655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageriotl, Manager at Ramblers Bar & Candleroom, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Susan- Thank you for visiting us again and I am delighted you enjoyed your previous meal. Further to your recent visit I am so very surprised that you did not mention on the day that you were unhappy with your meal as we would have happily replaced it. Unfortunately now that you have left and are only notify me of your disappointment through trip advisor all that I can do to rectify the problem now is to offer our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely meal in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped here for lunch yesterday and it was absolutely gorgeous. Two of us ordered the fish and chips (having seen it delivered to the next table and getting a serious case of food envy!) and it tasted every bit as good as it looked - the batter on the fish was light and crispy and the chips and mushy peas were also excellent. My husband ordered the smoked meat platter which was beautifully presented and very tasty. Our 4 year old told us he wasn't hungry so we didn't order anything for him but when the food arrived the staff were happy to bring an extra plate for him to share some of ours (which he did, and also enjoyed the lovely fish!).
The staff were lovely and friendly (particularly the woman who served us our drinks) and we had a lovely meal sat outside in the pretty beer garden. Would definitely recommend a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramblers Bar & Candleroom also viewed

Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Patterdale, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 

Been to Ramblers Bar & Candleroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing