We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly hosts and quiet location”
Review of Cherry Holme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherry Holme
Ranked #5 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2013

enjoyed a 2 night stay in room 2. Found room very comfortable and clean. Good choice of tea and coffee in room. Hosts were very helpful with local advice on places to visit with a great selection for breakfast to start the day
Hope to return in the not too distant future but for a longer stay next time

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joto41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 130 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

On arrival, we received a warm welcome from Michael.

The B&B is in a great location in the heart of the village with a comfortable bed and good quality linen. The room had a clean, modern feel and there was plenty of hot water in the shower for 2 weary walkers who had ascended the ridge over Grizedale Tarn from Grasmere to Glenridding on a rain swept day.

However, we must question the value for money as we stayed in comparable places in the Lake District with more luxurious bedrooms and extras (e.g. homemade cakes on arrival, homemade chocolates by bedside, locally sourced condiments) for considerably less.

On the morning of our departure, we let ourselves out and missed the personal farewell that we had received elsewhere. It should however be noted that since staying we have been received an email thanking us for our stay and a 20% discount on our next stay. Even with the discount, this B&B would be more expensive than anywhere else we stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8Br10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a 4 night stay whilst on honeymoon in the Lakes. We had room 4 with a great view on to Ullswater. Our room was well kitted out with a particularly comfy bed and the en-suite had a great power shower! The room and communal areas are well furnished and kept to a high standard. Breakfast was great too and really set you up for the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have visited Cherry Holme twice over the last year, with and without our children, and had an excellent experience each time. The location is truly outstanding - perfectly positioned for the trails that lead to Helvellyn and other peaks in the ridge, and also convenient for climbs from Grisedale, Deepdale and fells on the southeastern end of Ullswater. Mike and Kathy are welcoming and friendly hosts, and being local to the area, offered much helpful advice. The rooms are a cut above what one expects to find in a typical BB - clean and well-equipped with comfortable beds. Excellent, hearty breakfasts. Several options for dinner within walking distance, and many more within an easy drive. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just a two night stay early September 2012; excellent accommodation, perfect location near the lake and the town and pubs/restaurants. Hosts couldn't have been more welcoming but there was plenty of privacy too. Breakfast top class. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view face the road through the village; if you are alight sleeper the forest view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at Cherry Holme with my husband for two nights during the august bank holiday and although most of the time during our stay we spent walking and exploring the area, the remaining time spent at Cherry Holme was great. The room was well equiped, in everything you may need, we even found needle, thread,safety pin and a little nail file! In the bathroom theres hand wash, shampoo, washing lotion and even moisturizing body lotion!! Theres a little fridge, kettle, tea, coffee, sugar, hot chocolade in the room which was very usfull for us because as we didnt book breakfast we could prepare our own plus packed luches for the walks.
We were welcomed by Michael very warm on the arrival, he gave us some advices about the area and what is worth seeing. If we ever go back to Glenridding we will definitelly stay at Cherry Holme and we can highly recommend it to others.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here whilst attending a friends wedding at a very near by hotel - we were greeted with a warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very nice and clean with lovely decor and comfortable beds. Breakfast was most enjoyable with stunning views. Would definitely recommend staying here rather than an over priced hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heres_trubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.2 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,731 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
426 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,258 reviews
1 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Holme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Holme

Address: The Square | Ullswater Lake, Glenridding CA11 0PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Price Range: $157 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Holme Bed & Breakfast The perfect choice for luxury accommodation on UllswaterEngland ’s most beautiful lake.Cherry Holme Bed & Breakfast is in the village of Glenridding, which lies at the southern tip of Lake Ullswater in the Lake District. Renowned for it's stunning scenery, it quite simply is the archetypical lakeland get away.Cherry Holme, named after the second largest island on the Lake, lies to the North of the village, just one minute from the Lake shore. Built on an elevated position, Cherry Holme offers it's guests magnificent views of Lake Ullswater and the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cherry Holme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Holme Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing