We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cast Off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ullswater Steamers

Ullswater Steamers
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.03*
and up
Ullswater Lake Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The lake runs a serpentine course in three reaches with Helvellyn crowning the plateau at the head of the lake; at 3117 ft it is England’s third highest mountain. Ullswater ‘Steamers’ create the perfect opportunity to combine a cruise with some of the most famous and spectacular walks in the Lake District. With miles of bridleways linked by ‘Steamer’ routes there are so many opportunities for exploring the area. Free commentary app download for apple and android users.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cast Off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just spent a couple of days in the lake district, Stayed in Ullswater using this as our base, We stayed at the Inn On The Lake, Not the cheapest hotel in the area but certainly one of the best, We booked a One way ticket on the Ullswater Steamer the trip was very good the scenery was spectacular, An ideal opportunity to take all your photo's we got off the steamer at Howtown, We then walked back on the seven mile trail, Back to Patterdale we were told it was a nice easy walk, The truth is it is very challenging in certain parts so make sure you are well kitted out, The weather can change very quick and without warning, Recommend you take a small packed lunch and stop off to take in the breath taking scenery "Enjoy"

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    256
    46
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“'Steaming' in the rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

A very pleasant way to spend a couple of hours even in the rain, with an inside cabin to shelter and keep warm and have a hot drink - alcoholic drinks are also available, hot and cold! Plenty of space to move around even in the cold and wet. The route takes you all the way from the bottom of the lake, Glenridding to the top, Pooley Bridge via Howtown for the walkers or vice versa and return if you wish. A nice few hours even on a wet day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank robinsnesting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Neuk of Fife
Level Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wonderful relaxing cruise with an interesting commentary and good places to disembark. Would be happy to do it again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deejaypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful idyllic route on ullswater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

my wife and i really enjoyed the trip on the steamer. the weather was not ideal but we cannot believe how beautiful the lakes are. the trip was lovely to enjoy about a hour and half in all on the steamer. the pace of the trip was slow and relaxing. good facilities on the steamer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank damianschofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
198 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“great views from the Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

One way trips possible with a 4m walk back from Howtown along the side of the Lake. If the boat isn't running due to weather conditions they send out the minivan to collect or drop visitors off.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write such a great review of The 'Steamers', we are all delighted that you enjoyed your time on Ullswater with us.
I must however point out for the benefit of other site users that the walk to which you refer is actually 7miles/11kilometers and takes around 3 hours to complete.
We always recommend that walkers use The 'Steamer' to get to Howtown and then walk back, especially in winter time - This is to avoid having passengers stranded in Howtown on the rare occasions when we have to cancel our sailings because of the weather deteriorating during the day.
Walkers are advised to take weather advice and wear adequate boots and clothing when attempting this walk, and please do not rely on replacement minibuses provided by us as it is an outdoor environment where people are expected to take responsibility for their own actions, safety and wellbeing.
Many thanks once again for your kind comments, we hope that you will sail with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ullswater Steamers also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Ullswater Steamers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing