We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Days!”
Review of Mosscrag B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mosscrag B&B
Ranked #4 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy Days!”
Reviewed February 10, 2011

What a lovely trip to the lakes (apart from Rain). Mark and April were great hosts and Marks local knowledge knows no boundaries! We set our seven year old on him to ask as many questions as he could and Mark came out on top.

Mosscrag is a great B&B and Aprils full English is the best to pass my lips for many a year, prepare yourself for unbelievable local bacon and sausages.

We will certainly be visiting again, kids and dog in tow.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxyBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    32
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Just an all round lovely bed and breakfast, a warm family feel to it, run by a lovely, friendly couple. couldn't ask for more. Planning to return already and look forward to it!! thanks for making a special trip even more special!! x

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniewheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

A small B&B next to the river ideally situated for exploring Ullswater and Helvellyn. The beds were clean and comfortable but some of the crockery needed a wash. We shared a bathroom but it was with the rest of our party so there really was no problem. Décor was starting to show its age.
The owners were welcoming and happy to talk about walking in the local area, and the breakfast was good with a decent choice. There was an option to eat an evening meal at Moss Crag but there are also a couple of pubs in the village.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlsnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Good reception. Is not a real B & B - rather commercial mood of the managers.
Six rooms. Noisy in corridors.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandelaar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We recently returned to stay in Glenridding following our wedding at the Inn on the Lake in 2009.
We stayed at Mosscrag, an excellent location at the foot of Hellvellyn and a short walk away from Lake Ullswater. The rooms were beautifully decorated and beautifully clean.
The breakfasts were well cooked with a good choice and the local knowledge from the owners was a real help.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepyrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

For a double room charges £80 for two, I would expect more then average B&B, but this one certainly does't meet the standard. The room is bit small, and with basic simple decoration.
The bed is terrible with sound.
Move to another B&B which only costs £70 for double room, and the condition is much better than Mosscrag.
Would suggest the owner either low the rate to £50, or improve the condition for money charges.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosscrag, Owner at Mosscrag B&B, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
I would first of all like to thank you for your recent review of Mosscrag Guest House regarding your recent stay with us.Comments from our guests are very useful to ensure future guests enjoy their time with us. I have got to say that I was a little disapointed in the way you voiced your opinion of us. If you were really that disatisfied then I would have thought that you might have had the decency or courage of your convictions to talk us directly so we could have maybe addressed some of the issues you obviosly had /have regarding your stay with us.We do not receive many if any negative comments as can be seen by other trip advisor comments but any criticism or comment we do take very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley,West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights as we had a wedding to go to at the Inn on the Lake...
Lovely B&B,with lovely views across the stream at the front!......Helpful,friendly hosts Mark & April are there if you need anything,
We stayed in the lovely Four poster room,very clean and all that we needed!
Would stay again if we visit the area in the future!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinyPixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.0 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,624 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,429 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosscrag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosscrag B&B

Property: Mosscrag B&B
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Hotel Class:3 star — Mosscrag B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mosscrag B&B Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing