We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Smithy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
linda m
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just had an amazing week at this special cottage out of 7 days only needed car once so much to do from the door plenty of places to walk and lots of places to eat very dog friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatw...
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm cosy comfortable clean, beautiful view”
Reviewed March 31, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Half way between Patterdale and Glenridding about 1\2 Mile each way, lots of nearby walks and the views are beautiful.
The cottage has clean comfortable beds (a double, twin and single), a well equipped kitchen, seperate dining area and a cosy living room both with views of the lake. The enclosed garden, with side access is perfect for wet dogs and people! A double parking space at the front of the cottage.
We were there with 2 labradors. We had a wonderful, restful, quiet week and would recommend a stay at the Old Smithy Grizedale
Even if it's just for the views and local walks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 28, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We have just been to the Old Smithy for the weekend with some friends and had a wonderful time the cottage is well situated and has marvellous views it was immaculate and had everything there that we could need especially the log burning stove perfect for a cosy night in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2018
So glad you enjoyed it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beresford...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy comfortable Cumbrian cottage.”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The Old Smithy is a wonderful well equipped, spacious ground floor cottage.
There are thoughtful touches such as 'doggy towels and blankets' that reflect the fact that the owner is local and understands the needs of fell walkers and their companions.
Lovely to have hot water without having to wait for it to heat up and a good Wifi connection.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2018
So glad you like the cottage. See you at new year! Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley P...
1 review
“Bliss, and what a view.”
Reviewed November 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Within walking distance of both Patterdale and Glenridding, you are within easy reach of the fabulous Ullswater and many walks of varying demands. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing comfortable stay. We arrived in the dark so were not aware of the breath taking view that greeted us in the morning, and what a view. Ideal for those with dogs who will have a ball in this lovely peaceful cottage. The only thing wrong with our stay was that it wasn't long enough, would love to go back. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your weekend so much. Hope to see you again some time. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecroods...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Glorious dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We felt instantly at home in this clean, spacious cottage with stunning views. The cottage was well equipped with everything you could need. Ideal for us with our two daughters and dog. The girls loved playing the piano - hopefully they didn't bother the neighbours! Easy walk into the village for shops and places to eat out. Would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2017
So glad you enjoyed the cottage. I look forward to seeing you again. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage, great location, amazing views”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed for 6 nights from 19/8. Me, my husband, my 3 girls aged 14, 12 and 7 and our dog. It was our first holiday with our dog and couldn't have been more delighted. The cottage was warm, cosy, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. The front room was relaxing and the added bonus of a wood Burner which was delightful (will need to visit in the winter!) the bedrooms were well furnished and the beds comfy. It was dog friendly to the extent of the owner providing gates at the kitchen, dog throws for the beds and furniture and even a dog feet washing bowl and towels. Brilliant! There was plenty to do from the doorstep and so enjoyed not having to use the car! (Another bonus!) thank you so much, we will definately be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Glad you enjoyed it so much! I look forward to welcoming you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing