We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairlight Guest House
Ranked #6 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Dreadful experience. Where shall I start? We arrived and had to find our way into the kitchen to receive any attention: we obtained very little, with the landlady giving us about 30 seconds of her time to show us our freezing cold bedroom and then disappearing without any chance to ask her any questions. We had to go down three times to underline that the heating was not on, the last one I was received very aggressively by the annoyed owner: totally unacceptable, people like that should not be in business. Room was clean but basic, with nothing more then a minuscule bar of soap in the bath (no shower gel or shampoo). Breakfast was very poor, with the cheapest possible jams, bacon and sausages that money can buy. Definitely not worth 96 pounds/night

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Enzo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    23
    13
    11
    16
See reviews for
26
45
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

having just spent 3 nights here we were a little disappointed with the overall experience.we were met by the lady of the house who said we were there for 2 days when we had booked for 3.after a look a the bookings she realised she had made a mistake.not agood start.the room we were given was comfy and very clean,breakfast was okay nothing special there was a poor choice of cereals and the sausages were horrible also the orange juice had been put out in advance on the taqble in the glasses? as the mael time was 8 til 9.30 if you came down late the juice was warm yuk.also it is advertised as being fully licensed but in the time we were there the bar,if you could call it that,was never open in the evening.the lights on the stairs never came on as you walked up them but in the passageway they did.also the bedside lamps flickered alot and one light remaind out throughout our stay.the last thing i have to say is that after discovering the milk was out off date, on the complimentry coffee and tea tray in the room,and telling them of this .i was then told that the milk was ok and that one must have broken open and went off .a simple ok we will replace them would have done but being lied to was not on.so all in all we enjoyed our walks and the surrounding pubs and resteraunts but will never go back to this poor guesthouse and overpriced

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gj1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenridding hotels

Rochdale
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Can't fault this accommodation at all. Just needed a one night stay after our trek and beer, and this was perfect, pretty much the only place that could actually accommodate us, especially after our constantly changing plans (Group of 7 of us)! A big thank you to Nemia for looking after us on that note!
Perfect location, easy hosts to talk too and look after you. One of the best breakfasts I've ever seen, a shame we were all a little too rough to fully appreciate it all! I would certainly recommend this place for anyone needing a bed / freshen up after a day out trekking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonybobdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Arrived 4-00pm .. place closed up and nobody turned up until 5-50 to let us in.... so if you are on the coast to coast and might /probably turn up cold and wet ... dont do it too early!
Room was small but very clean and nicely appointed
Breakfast was an egg and bacon fry up with toast ... but there was no fruit or yogat to complement a dull first round of cerial. Eggs could be scrambled but only if wife got up to help

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMikeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nemia, Owner at Fairlight Guest House, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review, which are very helpful if fair and accurate.
Please let me try to be fair and honest in my reply.
You called me to say you would be arriving at 6 oclock not 4. oclock and at no time did you inform me of your late arrival.We had an emergancy with my daughter and had to leave for a short period of time but arrived back for 5.30, we carry our phone every where we go which is linked to our land line, at no time did you call me to inform me of an earlier arrival.We arrived back at 5.20 appologised and you said it wasnt a problem so why now when its difficult to defend ourselves would you post it on a website
. We are a family run bed and breakfast not a 4 star hotel but once again I appologise
You say we are a two star at 4 star prices, please let me know of any 4 star hotels that do bed and breakfast for £45 per night. Our rooms are beautiful as we have just spent a considerable amount of money refurbihing them.We have never had a complaint about the size infact quite the opposite, room 2 is a very good size and extremley well appointed with new on suite power shower room, new beds carpets curtains and flat screen tv.
We have no complaints about our freshly cooked breakfast and cerial and yoghurts.sorry my husband didnt make you scrambled egg but I think this isnt just cause for such ascathing review
Once again its a shame you found it neccesary to post such an unfair review but I wish you well in the future.
Kind regards
Mrs Pollock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hmm. not much to pass comment on. place was very clean and comfortable. Tea making station (shelf) was a bit concerning. kettle lead was not long enough, so it had to be perched right on the edge. not safe. would not have even used if any children present. also there was a fire door just outside our room, which was wedged open the whole time i was there. get the feeling safety is not the number one priority here. breakfast was served in the fairlight cafe. coffee in mugs-which didn't even match- so lose a point there- or am i just picky??

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J700JAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were looking for accommodation in Glenridding and saw a vacancy sign. As we pulled up we were greated by Ken who showed us two lovely rooms. We decided on the one with the shower. The room was lovely and clean and bright and had amazing views to the hills across Ullswater lake. The bed was really comfy. Breakfast was very good especially the black pudding which was cooked to perfection. Ken, Nemia and daughter were lovely, making us feel very welcome. If ever we decided to revisit the Lakes, then this would be our choice of accommodation. They also suggested we used the bar at the Inn on the Lake, it was amazing, especially being able to amble about in the beautiful gardens. Thank you Ken and Nemia.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 4 were both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frogladybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2011

2 nights accommodation for a family going to a wedding at the lake hotel. Clean and comfortable, friendly and excellent service! Lovely breakfast. Come again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kooper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.0 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,641 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenridding House
Glenridding House
#2 of 6 in Glenridding
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlight Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlight Guest House

Property: Fairlight Guest House
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlight Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Fairlight Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlight Guest House Glenridding, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing