We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've lived in the Galle area 1 year and love this place”

The Beach Club Talpe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Talpe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Simple good food with fresh local ingredients. Lunch or Dinner with hang out on the beach or cool off in the beach-front pool. Stunning sunset with a drink. Open Tuesday - Sunday (Mondays closed - gone fishing)
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I've lived in the Galle area 1 year and love this place”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have now been living in the area for 1 year (I'm from Edinburgh in Scotland) and a few months ago I started coming to Talpe Beach Club. I really love it. When the sea is rough so swimming at our normal favorite places is not possible this is the perfect place to come with children (or without) to chill out. The staff are great and friendly and the food is very good. We now regularly come here to hang out. It's beautiful and the perfect place to spend time with our friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KnoydartEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    51
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“our favourite place on this stretch of coast”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Having spent 7 weeks on this stretch of coastline in February and March this year where we ended up trying pretty much every place and this is the one we consistently chose to come back to. Whilst the food maybe not as good as WB (Italian) a few yards down the beach the pool, atmosphere, friendliness of the staff (we had a 3 yr old in tow) and, to be clear, the very, very good food made this the standout place for us. With the new management having taken it over recently they really cared about getting the small details right and most importantly making sure you were having a good time. I won't list all the things that make this place but the delicious juices, fresh fish, service, helpful kids menu all made this a wonderful spot to spend a day...yes you are not kicked out after lunch but are free to lounge around to spend the day there - by the pool or on the beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice spot to enjoy a dip in the ocean”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

great food, great service.
Good & relaxed atmosphere to enjoy the beach at anytime.
And if you don't like sea (the ocean can be rough), there is a swimming pool for the smaller ones.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PicFam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One visit wasn't enough!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I came here with a large group on several occasions and not once did it disappoint. Connie and the staff were welcoming and friendly, the setting was beautiful but most importantly the food was delicious. Definitely the best seafood I had during my 4 week stay in Sri Lanka, especially the coral fish!

Definitely worth a trip to if you're staying in Galle or Koggala, not only for this great restaurant but also for the lovely beach, beautiful sunsets and fisherman watching!

Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy, stylish no fuss restaurant with tastey seafood.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed in Koggala and ate here twice because the food, setting and service was very good and we would highly recommend going evening or day time.
From the moment you enter you are welcomed by the owner and offered to sit where you prefer. The decor is stylish, the setting spacious and there is even a pool if you fancy a dip - although we suggest doing so before you eat.
The restaurant manager was extremely welcoming and engaging in conversation.
We ate seafood because it is fresh and local. The tuna and tiger prawns were well cooked and tastey.
Do go there if you are not far from Talpe or Koggala - a must try!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beezybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Club Talpe also viewed

 
Habaraduwa, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to The Beach Club Talpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing