We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star standard food, classy hotel and beautiful setting...with 2 star service!”
Review of Parador de Baiona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Baiona
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baiona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My husband has family in Baiona and we know the town very well, it is by far one of the most beautiful upmarket unspoilt towns in spain with some amazing restaurants. Not surprising, as it is famed for its excellent seafood!

As a special wedding anniversary treat, my husband booked us in to the Parador for 10 days. It is in the most incredible setting with far reaching sea views and well kept attractively landscaped grounds. It is also quiet, and relaxing, with impressive communal areas. All in all, a very classy hotel.

As for the food, we stayed on a half board basis and were extremely pleased with the standard. We both know Spanish cuisine (my mother in law is Spanish!) and are, therefore, well placed to comment! The breakfast buffet was extensive with a great selection of fresh fruits, cold meats, breads and croissants and cooked breakfast. The lunch buffet was even better, with a fab array of shellfish, cavier, salad, hot food and cold meats. In the evening, we had a choice of eating in the main restaurant (a la carte) or in the more informal tapas style restaurant in the Parador's grounds. Both were a good standard, but we prefered the latter, as the menu was a little more varied and it has the best sea views. We honestly couldn't fault the food, but the service was a different matter!

The Parador, in both restaurants and in the bar, seemed under staffed and as a result the staff are very very slow in serving. On average we waited 20 minutes for a drink and there was one waiter serving around 25 people. In addition, the reception staff were quite unattentive. I do not think the staff are unfriendly, as other reviewers have suggested, just very apathetic!

The bedroom was very clean and the bathroom very spacious and luxurious although, for the money, the bedroom was basic and could do with some updating.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay in lovely surroundings but generally the service throughout the hotel was diabolical. So if you are looking for a reasonable standard service, do not stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

Although we enjoy very much the paradors - we visit them already more than 30 years and are since many years 'amigo' - we must say that the spacious room, with beautifull seaview, was rather oldfashioned, with bad easy-chairs and poor bedside-lighting, hanging down and too dark. Furniture is oldfashioned, the bathroom however is excellent, like in most paradors. Check-in was real nice, but we have some complaints about:
- restaurant opens at 8.30pm, which is already late for most Europeans, still then the staff is so arrogant (they stroll around in the restaurant) to open 5 - 6 minutes later and keep everybody waiting outside ; this is a disease most paradors suffer of. They also treat you like 1 big group, not like individual clients.
- we had a bottle of wine on the terrace - wanted to play cards - and did not find any other convenient table inside, but the final bill added 15% extra service charge - although this was not indicated on the wine-card of the restaurant ( this wine was a special offer of paradors and not on the list of the bar) ; the waiter argued and became rather rude, saying it was the rule in every parador (what a lie!) we should have read the list of the bar, which we did not, as we knew that wine from the parador of Pontevedra, where we had the same bottle on the terrace WITHOUT this extra charge (2 days earlier). We discussed the matter at the reception and were told to come back later because there was no responsible. In the evening, we were told that we had to pay the extra anyway, trules of the house, etc... We still argued that we visited almost 80% of the paradors - never paid any supplement - no use, we as client were wrong . Why don't they indicate these things clearly, instead of hidden away?
We find this really against every commercial rule and were very upset with this attitude. It is very arrogant of this hotel; if you know it, you pay it, if not so, than any normal hotel will act in favor of the client. We are no liars but were treated that way.
I must say that I speak Spanish very fluently, so there was no excuse for not understanding. The more I tried to convince them that we did not know anything about this or never had this problem in other paradors, no use. We paid a lot of money, even with a 'promo amigos' but feel very unhappy and bad about this.
So DO NOT DRINK ON THE TERRACE JUST SIT THERE, THIS IS FOR FREE.

Room Tip: pay extra for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vondel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

If in Baiona and can afford it ... this hotel is stunning but expensive. Within the walls of a fort it overlooks the bays of Baiona and Nigrans. The only negative point is that the staff were a pretty miserable bunch.

Room Tip: You should visit the hotel ..if in Baiona
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfgps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Splendid ad amazing view from rooms. Perfect location, delicious foods. Very pleasant and smooth.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliusO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed in the parador in late June - it was just lovely, really quiet, stunning setting, lovely grounds for walking, short stroll down to the town, pleasant guests and staff. Fabalous weather also, we had the pool to oursleves most days, the rooms are fine, bathrooms very good with lots (too many really) of toiletries. Breakfast huge and varied, enough to keep everyone happy. However, the restuarant (same room in which we had breakfast) was not at all good and very expensive for very poor food and arrogant service. We were so put off by our expereince there that we didn't try any of the other dining options in the hotel, but the small 'tapas-type' restaurant on the gounds did look lovely. Just be wary if you plan to eat in, I'd advise agaisnt it, much nicer and cheaper options 'down town'

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed at the Baiona parador for one night, en route from Santiago to Portugal. The parador is spectacularly situated, on a promontory and surrounded on three sides by water.

We purchased our room for an offer price of EUR110, but were disappointed to be allocated a room without a sea view - one of the few, I imagine, in the hotel, although it was clearly less than full. The room itself, and the public spaces generally, were of high quality. The accommodation block consists of two floors of lengthy corridors which, despite the views and the regular seating spaces, still appeared somewhat soulless.

The walk around the hotel grounds was pleasant, despite the poor weather, but the removal of a corporate presentation was conducted with unnecessary noise and disturbed the location's tranquillity.

The more affordable of the parador's two restaurants, the 'La Pinta' wine bar, was closed as out of season. The main dining room was clearly aimed at expense accounts and, as we did not want to leave the hotel in our only evening there, we did without.

As anticipated, our experience was redeemed by the following morning's breakfast (included in the price) which was world-class.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This was a picturesque, beautiful place, with a fantastic, scenic view of the water. The staff were exceptionally friendly, although for non-Spanish speakers there might be a bit of a language barrier. I only had two quibbles -- first, the walls in my room were thin and noises from adjoining rooms and from the hall came through loudly, and second, the phone by the bed did not work and when I dialed room service from the other phone, it rang but nobody ever picked up. Other than that, a great place!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenVerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baiona
2.8 mi away
Talaso Atlantico
Talaso Atlantico
#1 of 1 in Oia
461 reviews
10.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
8 mi away
Pazo Los Escudos Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ababides
24.7 mi away
Talaso Hotel Louxo La Toja
Talaso Hotel Louxo La Toja
#1 of 2 in Isla de la Toja
740 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Bayona
Hotel Bahia Bayona
#23 of 25 in Pontevedra
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Baiona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Baiona

Address: Rua Arquitecto Jesus Valverde, 36300 Baiona, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Baiona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baiona
Price Range: $89 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Baiona 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the walled enclosure of Monte Real protected by the sea and flanked by a pine wood, this Parador rises up in a priviledge location. Regal drawing rooms with decorative features from other ages form a distinguished interior in which the spectacular stone staircase of the entrance hall stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Baiona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Baiona Hotel Baiona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing